In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

Week In Review

Showing: February, 2005

Monday, February 28

• The committee process for bills to be heard in the house of origin has expired in the Senate and members are now focused on floor action. The following bills were heard on the Senate floor Monday:

-SB 848 by Sen. Tom Adelson and Rep. Thad Balkman would create the Oklahoma Hospital Discount for Qualified Self-Pay Patients Act to require hospitals to establish a discount program for such patients who have household incomes of up to 400 percent of federal poverty guidelines. The bill was approved by a vote of 27-15.

read more.

Monday, February 21st

• The Senate convened briefly to consider the following bills:

-SB 4 by Sen. Kathleen Wilcoxson and Rep. Paul Wesselhoft would make the hourglass selenite crystal the official state gem. The bill was amended to change the word “gem” to “crystal.” The bill was adopted with a vote of 44 to 0.

-SB 18 by Sen. Daisy Lawler and Rep. Susan Winchester directs State Highway 37 between Mustang Road and Richland Road in Grady County to be designated as the “Jason White PASSway.” The bill was adopted by a vote of 44 to 0.

read more.

Monday, February 14th

• Members of the Senate were busy hearing legislation in their respective committees. Among the pieces of legislation approved were the following:

-SB 944 by Sen. Charlie Laster would create a statewide 9-1-1 Advisory Board to oversee the development of emergency 9-1-1 systems in the state.

read more.

Monday, February 7th

• The second session of the 50th Oklahoma Legislature formally convened, gathering in a joint Senate-House meeting to receive the annual State of the State address. However, before the Senate adjourned to the House of Representatives, the Senate passed the following two resolutions:

-SR 1 by Senator Debbe Leftwich commended Carlos Rogers of Auburn University for being selected as the 2004 Jim Thorpe Award Winner

read more.