In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view


Senate Interim Study

A study of current seatbelt laws

Subject First Meeting
Time 8:00am
Location Room 419-C , State Capitol Building
  1. 9:00 a.m. Welcome: Senator Wayne Shaw, Chairman

  2. 9:10 a.m. Study Introduction: Senator David Bullard

  3. Presentations:
    Corey Nooner, Fraternal Order of Police
    David Houser, Chief of Police, Durant
    Jonathan Brooks, Deputy Chief, Tulsa Police Department
    Carl Allen, Chief of Police, Ada
    Johnny Christian, Bryan County Sheriff
    Angie McLain, EMSA
    Bryan Jones, EMSA
    Lynette Long, St. Anthony’s Hospital
    Terri White, Commissioner, Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
    Charles Danley, CEO of Grand Lake Community Mental Health Center
    Nick Silva, Pawhuska Chief of Police
    Jessica Pfau, Executive Director, Lighthouse Behavioral Wellness Centers

  4. Questions and Answers

  5. 1:00 p.m. Study Introduction: Senator Carri Hicks

  6. Presentations:
    Leslie Gamble, AAA, Oklahoma Public and Government Affairs Manager
    Dr. Alisa Cross, OU Medical Center Trauma One
    Kim Gray, LCSW, Director Safe Kids Oklahoma led by the Children Center Rehabilitation Hospital
    Laura Gamino, RN, MPH, Adult and Pediatric Injury Prevention, OU Medical Center
    John Whetsel, Former Oklahoma County Sheriff

  7. Questions and Answers

  8. Other Business.

Public Safety Committee Members:

Senator Wayne Shaw, Chair
Senator Lonnie Paxton, Vice-Chair
Senator Micheal Bergstrom
Senator Stephanie Bice
Senator Larry Boggs
Senator Michael Brooks
Senator Nathan Dahm
Senator Darcy Jech
Senator Kevin Matthews
Senator Joe Newhouse
Senator Dave Rader
Senator Darrell Weaver

Studies Requested By

Senator David Bullard
Senator Carri Hicks

Senate Staff

Becky Gooch, Legislative Analyst
Parker Wise, Attorney
Linda Oden, Administrative Assistant