In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

back to press releases

Senate Democratic Leader Floyd announces caucus election of Sen. Kirt as next leader; Sen. Brooks elected as caucus chair

OKLAHOMA CITY – Senate Democratic Leader Kay Floyd announced Wednesday her caucus has elected Sen. Julia Kirt to follow Floyd into that leadership role for the 60th Oklahoma Legislature. Sen. Michael Brooks was chosen to succeed Sen. Kevin Matthews as Democratic caucus chair. Due to term limits, the 59th Oklahoma Legislature will be the last for both Floyd and Matthews, who will continue to serve in their Senate leadership roles until they leave office in November of 2024.

“As I approach my last year in the Senate, I am extremely grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to serve as Democratic leader since November 2018. I’m confident in the talent, dedication, and abilities of Senator Kirt, Senator Brooks, and our entire caucus,” said Floyd, D-Oklahoma City. “I know they will do an outstanding job championing policy and legislation that moves all of Oklahoma forward.”

Kirt has a bachelor’s degree from Macalester College in Minnesota and a master’s degree from the University of Oklahoma. She led statewide arts and culture nonprofit organizations for almost 20 years. Kirt holds seats on the Select Committee on Business Retention and Economic Development; Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget; Appropriations; Oversight Committee for the Legislative Office of Fiscal Transparency (LOFT); Joint Committee on Pandemic Relief Funding and the Health and Human Services Working Group; Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services; Appropriations Subcommittee on OMES/ARPA oversight; Finance; Rules; and Veterans and Military Affairs.

“Oklahomans deserve leaders who push for policies that ensure better outcomes for all Oklahomans. That’s the kind of culture Senator Floyd created in the Senate Democratic Caucus, which I will continue when I step into this new role,” said Kirt, D-Oklahoma City. “I’m honored to have been chosen by my colleagues to lead such important work for the incredible people who call Oklahoma home.”

Brooks, an Oklahoma City attorney, is the first Latino member elected to a leadership position in the Senate. He has a bachelor’s degree from Oklahoma State University, and a juris doctorate from the University of Oklahoma. First elected to the Senate in 2017, Brooks currently serves on the Senate Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget; Appropriations; Business and Commerce; Judiciary; Public Safety; Retirement and Insurance; Administrative Rules; and the Oversight Committee for the Legislative Office of Fiscal Transparency (LOFT).

“I’m deeply honored to serve as the next Democratic caucus chair,” said Brooks, D-Oklahoma City. “I appreciate the opportunity to continue to work closely with Senator Matthews in the coming session in preparation for this role, and with our entire caucus as we work to create a brighter future for all our citizens.”