In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

back to press releases

Senate committee OKs Senator Kim David’s constitutional carry bill

Sen. Kim David Sen. Kim David
Sen. David explains constitutional carry bill.

The Senate Appropriations Committee on Wednesday overwhelmingly approved a bill by Majority Floor Leader Kim David that would permit Oklahomans to carry firearms without a permit.

The committee voted 18-4 for the so-called “constitutional carry” bill and sent the measure on to be considered by the entire Senate.

House Bill 2597 by David and Representative Jon Echols, R-Oklahoma City, would permit Oklahomans age 21 and older to carry a firearm without a permit. Veterans, active duty, and reserve military age 18 and over would be allowed to carry without a permit under the bill. The bill also prohibits felons and those with domestic violence convictions or who have been adjudicated as having a mental illness from carrying a firearm.

Current protections that allow private property owners to prohibit firearms from being carried are maintained under the bill. The measure also maintains the ability of higher education institutions to set their own policies regarding the carrying of firearms on campuses.

Fifteen other states allow constitutional carry, and the citizens of those states have enjoyed the ability to carry without a permit in Oklahoma for years. Bordering states include Kansas, Arkansas, and Missouri.

“This is a compromise approach to protect and enhance the Second Amendment rights of Oklahomans while also maintaining private property rights,” said David, R-Porter. “For years, we’ve granted the citizens of other states the right to carry without a permit. I’m proud to run legislation that grants the same rights to Oklahoma citizens. I appreciate the members of the Appropriations Committee who supported this measure and will keep working to see it through the process.”

Contact info
Sen. David: (405) 521-5590