In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

back to press releases

Sen. Thompson sworn in for second term

Family, friends and supporters looked on Wednesday as Sen. Roger Thompson was sworn in to serve another four years in the State Senate.  The ceremony was held in the Senate Chamber a week after Thompson was reelected to the District 8 seat. During Thompson’s second term he will hold one of the most powerful positions in the Capitol, serving as Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

“When I arrived here four years ago, our state had seen revenue failure after revenue failure.  Core functions of government had faced multiple budget cuts.  I began working immediately with my fellow members to reform and strengthen our budget process and generate the additional revenues needed for our schools and other vital services,” said Thompson, R-Okemah.  “We succeeded in passing the biggest teacher pay raise in the history of the state, reformed and strengthened the budget and worked to help modernize Oklahoma’s tax code.  It’s a solid foundation we can build on as we continue to create a better future for all our state.”

Senate President Pro Tempore Designate Greg Treat congratulated Thompson on his continued service in the Senate.

“Senator Thompson has done an excellent job representing his constituents at the Capitol.  I’m grateful for his public service and I know he will continue to be a strong voice on behalf of District 8.”

During the previous Legislature, Thompson served as Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee on Finance as well as serving as Vice-Chair of the Senate Republican Caucus.   

The Senate will hold a one day organizational meeting on January 8, and the 2019 session will formally get underway on February 4.

CUTLINE:  Sen. Roger Thompson introduces his wife, Pamela, on the floor of the Senate during Wednesday’s oath of office ceremony.  Thompson was sworn in for a second term and will chair the Senate Appropriations Committee.