The Senate unanimously approved legislation Tuesday to help get more teachers into Oklahoma classrooms. Sen. Adam Pugh, R-Edmond, is the author of Senate Bill 1125 directing the State Board of Education to issue a teaching certificate to anyone who holds a valid out-of-state teaching certificate, with no other requirements except a criminal history record check.
“We’ve got to be more innovative when recruiting teachers. One way we can help is by getting rid of the expensive and time-consuming roadblocks that are keeping out-of-state teachers who move to Oklahoma from applying,” Pugh said. “Currently, they have to get re-certified, take competency exams and meet other requirements. Under this bill, they’ll only have to get a criminal background check.”
SB 1125 is a follow up to Pugh’s 2019 SB 670 that was signed into law providing reciprocal licensing for military personnel and their spouses. SB 1125 addresses teacher licensing, which was not covered under SB 670 because it is under a different title of law.
“I want to thank my colleagues for their support as we work to get this important bill through the process,” Pugh said. “Senate Bill 1125 has an emergency clause so it will go into effect with the governor’s signature, so we need to get it to his desk as soon as possible. That way these teachers can start applying this summer, and schools can hire them before the fall semester starts. We’re excited to welcome these professionals to our education system.”
For more information, contact Sen. Adam Pugh at (405) 521-5622 or Adam.Pugh@oksenate.gov
MAKE IT COUNT OKLAHOMA! Census Day is April 1 and Oklahoma needs a full count. An undercount in the census of just 2 percent can cost the state $1.8 billion in lost federal money over the next 10 years. Fill out your census form, Oklahoma. Learn more at:www.2020census.gov.