In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

back to press releases

Morgan Announces Democratic Co-Chairs

Senate President Pro Tempore Mike Morgan has announced the Democratic co-chairs of Senate committees for the 51st Oklahoma Legislature, which will convene in February.

“As we approach Oklahoma’s Centennial, I firmly believe we have a dedicated group of senators who are passionately committed to making Oklahoma an even stronger state in our next 100 years,” said Morgan, D-Stillwater. “I am excited to begin the First Session of the 51st Oklahoma Legislature because I know we have a unique opportunity to lay aside partisan politics and move common sense measures through the legislative process. I have every ounce of confidence in the Senators who are guiding these committees to do their part to make Oklahoma the best place to live, work and raise a family.”

Senator Johnny Crutchfield, D-Ardmore, will serve as the Democratic Co-Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Crutchfield has been the Senate’s chief budget negotiator for the last two years.

Democratic co-chairs of the Appropriations sub-committees are:
Senator Susan Paddack, D-Ada, Education;
Senator Mary Easley, D-Tulsa, General Government and Transportation;
Senator Tom Adelson, D-Tulsa, Health and Social Services;
Senator Nancy Riley, D-Tulsa, Human Services;
Senator Randy Bass, D-Lawton, Natural Resources and Regulatory Services;
And Senator Kenneth Corn, D-Poteau, Public Safety and Judiciary.

Senator Tom Adelson will also serve as the Democratic Co-Vice Chairman of the Appropriations Committee.

Democratic co-chairs of Standing Committees are:
Senator Charles Wyrick, D-Fairland, Agriculture and Rural Development;
Senator Debbe Leftwich, D-Oklahoma City, Business and Labor;
Senator Constance N. Johnson, D-Oklahoma City, Criminal Jurisprudence;
Senator Judy Eason-McIntyre, D-Tulsa, Education;
Senator Jay Paul Gumm, D-Durant, Energy and Environment;
Senator Jim Wilson, D-Tahlequah, Finance;
Senator Joe Sweeden, D-Pawhuska, General Government;
Senator Andrew Rice, D-Oklahoma City, Health and Human Resources;
Senator Richard Lerblance, D-Hartshorne, Judiciary;
Senator Roger Ballenger, D-Okmulgee, Public Safety and Homeland Security;
Senator John Sparks, D-Norman, Retirement and Insurance;
Senator Sean Burrage, D-Claremore, Rules;
Senator Earl Garrison, D-Muskogee, Tourism and Wildlife;
Senator Jeff Rabon, D-Hugo, Transportation;
And Senator Tom Ivester, D-Sayre, Veterans and Military Affairs.

Morgan will name the Democratic committee members at a later date.

Contact info
Senator Morgan's Office: (405) 521-5605