In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

back to press releases

Lawmakers Anticipate Growth in Oklahoma Film/Music Projects

Rep. Susan Winchester and Sen.  Debbe Leftwich watch as the Governor ceremoniously sign HB 1716. Rep. Susan Winchester and Sen. Debbe Leftwich watch as the Governor ceremoniously sign HB 1716.
Sen. Leftwich hopes bills can help stars like Carrie Underwood stay in Oklahoma to do their music and film production.

Sen. Debbe Leftwich, D-OKC, and Rep. Susan Winchester, R-Chickasha, said they were both looking forward to seeing new film and music production projects in the Sooner State after taking part in a ceremonial bill signing ceremony with Gov. Brad Henry on Thursday at the State Capitol. The ceremony centered on two pieces of legislation co-authored by the two lawmakers with the aim of boosting film and music production in Oklahoma.

“After seeing American Idol winner Carrie Underwood yesterday, I’m really excited about this legislation. Instead of exporting our talented Oklahomans to places like Nashville or Los Angeles, we could actually keep them here and attract even more with our own production facilities for music and film,” Leftwich said. “That’s the idea behind these bills.”

Senate Bill 877 amends the Tourism Development Act to extend tax benefits to music production as well as film production. House Bill 1716 will create an income tax credit equal to 25 percent of the profits for a film or music project when those profits are then re-invested into another Oklahoma-based production.

“These measures are great economic incentive programs for our state, but more than that, they’re a way to encourage and promote the incredible talent we have here in Oklahoma and further promote our state on a national and international level,” Winchester said. “I think the possibilities ahead are very exciting.”
HB 1716 has already become law. SB 877 officially takes effect on November 1, 2005.

Contact info
Senate Communications Office - (405) 521-5774