In order to provide equal access and equal opportunity to people with diverse abilities, this site has been designed with accessibility in mind. Click here to view

back to press releases

Hamilton files Second Amendment Sanctuary State Act

Sen. Warren Hamilton, R-McCurtain, has filed Senate Bill 631, which would preempt the state from enacting any legislation put forth by the federal government, agency or political subdivision of the state that would infringe upon citizens’ Second Amendment rights.

Under the Second Amendment Sanctuary State Act, the preemption would include the National Firearms Act of 1934, which required the registration of all firearms and imposed a tax on the making and transfer of firearms; and the Gun Control Act of 1968, which imposed stricter licensing and regulations on the firearms industry, created new categories of firearms offenses and prohibited the sale of firearms and ammunitions to felons.

“SB 631 states that the gun laws as they exist today are as restrictive as they’re ever going to be, and that they cannot be added to,” Hamilton said. “No governmental agency has the Constitutional authority to restrict magazines, ammunition, modern sporting rifles or AR pistols. This bill is simply a red line that clearly defines the limits of governmental authority regarding our unalienable, God-given, blood-bought, constitutionally guaranteed right to keep and bear arms.

“I’ve been a member of several Second Amendment advocacy groups over the years, including the National Rifle Association, Gun Owners of America, Oklahoma Second Amendment Association – a supporter of all Second Amendment Sanctuary State bills - and Jews for the Preservation of Firearms Ownership (JPFO).  JPFO, specifically Alan Korwin, provided invaluable assistance in producing this bill.”

SB 631 is supported by the following Oklahoma sheriffs: Damon Devereaux, Logan County; Michael Burgetski, Cimarron County; Jason Chennault, Cherokee County; Rodney Derryberry, LeFlore County; William Ingram, Tillman County; Joe Janz, Kiowa County; Roger LeVick, Jackson County; Wayne McKinney, Stephens County; Chris Morris, Pittsburg County; Tim Turner, Haskell County; Jeremie Wilson, Jefferson County; and Adam Woodruff, Latimer County.

If the measure is passed and signed into law, it would go into effect immediately.