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Overview 

 
The 1st Session of the 60th Legislature 
convened on January 7th to swear in the 
newly elected Senators Frix, Goodwin, 
Hines, Grellner, Guthrie, Kern, Mann, 
McIntosh, Nice, Reinhardt, Sacchieri, 
Standridge, and Wingard as well as to elect 
Senator Paxton as the President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate. Additionally, 
members voted on committee membership 

as well as the respective leaders for their 
caucuses.  
 
The session opened with a discussion of 
providing Oklahomans with relief in the 
form of a tax cut. The Governor advocated 
for a 0.5% decrease on income tax rates 
across all income brackets, with the eventual 
goal of lowering the rate to 0 in the future. 
The Senate considered various means to 
either reform or lower the income tax rate 
over the entire course of the session, 
eventually settling on a reduction of 0.25% 
to the rate. The Senate also reestablished the 
income tax cut trigger with various 
modifications to account for inflation and 
economic downturns.  
 
In addition to providing tax relief, the Senate 
also considered various issues relating to the 
establishment of a business court, tort 
reform, administrative rules, economic 
development, education outcomes, and 
energy generation. Regarding education 
outcomes, the Legislature considered and 
passed measures to modify education 
standards as well as require each school 
district to adopt a “bell to bell” policy 
restricting cell phone usage for students. As 
it relates to administrative rules, the 
Legislature passed measures to restrict the 
promulgation of new rules as well as require 
administrative officers to evaluate state laws 
and regulations independently of state 
agencies.  
 
Regarding economic development, the 
Legislature standardized regulations of 
various businesses throughout the state, 
provided various forms of tax credits to 
incentivize businesses and film/TV projects 
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to relocate to Oklahoma, and created new 
tax credits to incentivize investment and the 
training of engineers. On tort reform, the 
Legislature modified the Governmental Tort 
Claims Act. The Legislature finalized the 
structure of the business court at the end of 
the Legislative session following 
negotiations with the Governor and House 
of Representatives.  
 
The legislative session also ended with a 
record number of veto overrides enacted by 
the Legislature as well as a record number of 
measures becoming law without the 
Governor’s signature. The Legislature 
overrode 47 vetoes relating to coverage of 
certain medical procedures, prescriptions, 
criminal law, the establishment of a liaison 
office, regulations of various businesses, the 
establishment of state license plates, the 
inspection of public records, and other 
issues. The Legislature also removed the 
Governor’s appointee to the Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services due to ongoing concerns relating to 
the Department’s financial health. 

Appropriations Overview  

 
HB 2766 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) is the general 
appropriations (GA) measure for FY’26. 
Appropriations were made to the following 
areas: 
 
1) Education: $5,757,801,099.00, 
2) General Government and Transportation:  
     $1,211,633,792.00, 
3) Health: $2,321,870,194.00, 
4) Human Services: $975,442,964.00, 
5) Natural Resources: $280,175,272.00, and 
6) Public Safety and Justice:  
    $1,045,784,929.00. 
 
The Legislature provided a 1.58% increase 
to education as compared to last year, with 
Office of Education Quality and 
Accountability, the Oklahoma School of 
Science and Mathematics, and the State 

Department of Education receiving the 
largest increase in this area. $26 million of 
the increase is allocated to the funding 
formula. The Senate also allocated $4 
million to provide an increase to teacher 
maternity leave.  
 
Compared to the previous year, the GA bill 
allocated an additional 4.13% to health 
services across the state. The Senate 
allocated an additional $83,277,027.00 to 
the Oklahoma Health Care Authority to 
provide for program growth and an 
additional $20,292,829.00 to the Department 
of Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services to pay for program growth and the 
consent decree entered into by the state.  
 
The Legislature also allocated an additional 
$20 million to the ROADS Fund under the 
Department of Transportation. $12 million 
was allocated to the State Election Board to 
pay for upgrades to the voting system as 
well.  
 
The Legislature also provided an increase of 
$1.5 million to the Department of Public 
Safety to pay for increased intake at the 
Trooper Academy. $2 million was allocated 
by the Legislature to pay for the 
establishment of a business court.  
 
The Legislature also allocated $200 million 
to the University Hospitals Authority to fund 
an expansion of the Pediatric Heart Hospital 
as well as $250 million to the Oklahoma 
State University Medical Authority and 
Oklahoma State University Trust to pay for 
a new veterinary school of medicine. The 
Legislature appropriated $41.6 million to 
fund the deferred maintenance of military 
institutions. Finally, the Legislature also 
appropriated $312 million to purchase the 
Lawton Correctional Facility. 

Appropriations Measures 
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SB 1126 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) allocates 
funding to the State Department of 
Education from the General Appropriations 
bill in the following manner: 
1) $3,120,730,927.00 for the local- and 
state-supported financial support of public 
schools, as detailed below:  

a) $410,851,159.00 for the certified 
employee health benefit allowance,  
b) $247,723,418.00 for the support 
employee health benefit allowance,  
c) $35 million for the teachers’ 
retirement credit,  
d) $45,190,000.00 for the purchase 
of textbooks and instructional 
materials,  
e) $6.5 million for the Public School 
Paid Maternity Leave Revolving 
Fund,  
f) $2,650,000.00 for student teacher 
compensation,  
g) $14 million for alternative and 
high challenge education,  
h) $4.5 million for Education 
Leadership Oklahoma,  
i) $1,559,863.00 for Advanced 
Placement incentives,  
j) $17.5 million for the Strong 
Readers Act,  
k) $13,405,685.00 for required 
assessments,  
l) $200,000.00 for Street School,  
m) $38,000.00 for Ag in the 
Classroom,  
n) $1 million for Imagine Math,  
o) $1 million for Imagine Reading,  
p) $2 million for the Oklahoma 
Imagination Library Program,  
q) $320,000.00 for the Oklahoma 
Arts Institute,  
r) $16,725,341.00 for early 
intervention,  
s) $500,000.00 for Great 
Expectations,  
t) $14 million for the Early 
Childhood Initiative,  
u) $3,140,137.00 for school lunch 
matching,  

v) $250,000.00 for nationally 
recognized career readiness 
assessments, and  
w) $50,000.00 for Civil Rights 
curriculum,  

2) $18,145,366.00 for the administrative and 
support functions of the State Department of 
Education,  
3) $3,976,979,896.00 for state school aid 
and programs,  
4) $22,627,959.00 for payroll, salaries, or 
wages, including tax-sheltered deferment 
contracts and longevity payments authorized 
by state statutes,  
5) $33,645,498.00 for professional and 
personal services contracts, 
6) $3,927,205,809.00 for other operating 
funds, and  
7) $634,934,710.00 for the expenditure of 
federal funds. 
The measure also transfers $3,250,000.00 to 
the School Consolidation Assistance Fund 
and $3,250,000.00 to the Teachers’ 
Retirement System Dedicated Revenue 
Revolving Fund. The measure authorizes the 
Department to reduce in equal proportions 
funds allocated to certain programs to fully 
fund the employee contribution credits if 
needed. The measure directs that 
$250,000.00 of the allocated funding be 
transferred to the Oklahoma National Board 
Certification Revolving Fund and 
$4,250,000.00 transferred to the Oklahoma 
School Psychologist, Speech-Language 
Pathologist, and Audiologist National 
Certification Revolving Fund. 
 
 
SB 1136 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) directs that 
$100,031,677.00 of the monies appropriated 
to the Oklahoma Health Care Authority in 
the General Appropriations bill be spent on 
program growth and replacing funding no 
longer available due to the reduction of 
federal matching dollars.   
 
SB 1137 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) directs that 
certain funds from the General 
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Appropriations bill allocated to the 
Department of Human Services be 
distributed in a certain manner. Such 
funding shall be utilized in the following 
manner:  
1) $7,762,004.00 shall be used replace 
funding no longer available due to the 
reduction of federal matching dollars,  
2) The Department is directed to maintain 
the funding levels for senior nutrition 
programs from the fiscal year ending June 
30, 2025. Any nutritional site closure shall 
require approval from the Legislature,  
3) $2.5 million shall be used to make 
permanent the second meal per day for the 
ADvantage Waiver Program,  
4) The Department shall also be required to 
maintain the funding levels for provider 
rates and service authorizations for the 
Community, Homeward Bound, In-Home 
Supports Waiver for Adults, In-Home 
Supports Waiver for Children, and 
ADvantage Waivers from the fiscal year 
ending June 30, 2025,  
5) The Department may allocate funding to 
family and self-advocate onboarding 
meetings and services, professional 
development for case management, 
expansion of crisis services, and 
enhancements to intake processes for the 
purpose of ensuring a stronger, more 
responsive service delivery system for 
Oklahomans with developmental 
disabilities, and  
6) $5.6 million shall be transferred to the 
Child Abuse Multidisciplinary Account. 
 
SB 1140 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) allocates 
funding appropriated to the Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services in the General Appropriations bill 
in the following manner:  
1) $10,812,408.00 shall be used to replace 
funding no longer available due to the 
reduction of federal matching dollars,  
2) $9,480,421.00 shall be used to meet the 
obligations required in the consent decree,  

3) $18.5 million shall be used for the 
continuum of care for children in crisis, and  
4) $1.3 million shall be used to maintain 
services for veterans and their families. 
 
SB 1141 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) directs that 
funds appropriated to the State Department 
of Health from the General Appropriations 
bill be allocated in the following manner:  
1) $150,000.00 shall be used to maintain 
sickle cell outreach,  
2) $200,000.00 shall be used for the 
operations of the Oklahoma State Athletic 
Commission, and  
3) $3 million shall be disbursed to health 
centers. 
 
SB 1150 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
$15 million to the Oklahoma Department of 
Aerospace and Aeronautics from the 
Progressing Rural Economic Prosperity 
Fund to make upgrades to infrastructure on 
or near the grounds of a primary commercial 
airport, categorized as a small-hub or larger, 
centrally located in the state to maintain and 
enhance aerospace capabilities and increase 
future economic development. 
 
SB 1151 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
funding to the Oklahoma Water Resources 
Board from the Progressing Rural Economic 
Prosperity Fund in the following manner:  
1) $2 million to provide water infrastructure 
funding to a rural water sewer and solid 
waste management district in the central 
region of the state experiencing private 
water well contamination from an unknown 
source and needing to be connected with a 
public water supply,  
2) $2 million to construct water lines in a 
county with a population greater than 
150,000 and less than 200,000, and  
3) $200,000.00 to establish grant programs 
that facilitate the design, construction, and 
maintenance of water and wastewater 
infrastructure, and to improve the condition 
of publicly owned, deficient dams regulated 
by the Oklahoma Water Resources Board. 
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SB 1153 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
the following amounts to the Oklahoma 
Department of Agriculture, Food, and 
Forestry from the General Appropriations 
bill:  
1) $5.2 million to be used for the extension 
offices that are affiliated with the Oklahoma 
State University Cooperative Extension 
Service,  
2) $1.3 million to be used for research 
centers that are affiliated with Oklahoma 
State University Agriculture Experiment 
Stations, and  
3) $5.5 million to be used for cooperative 
extension and agriculture research programs 
that are affiliated with Langston University. 
 
SB 1155 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
the following amounts to the Oklahoma 
Department of Commerce from the General 
Appropriations bill:  
1) $500,000.00 to be used to support the 
Community Expansion of Nutrition 
Assistance Program,  
2) $100,000.00 to be used to provide support 
to an Oklahoma-based nonprofit in order to 
preserve sports heritage and pride in 
Oklahoma, and  
3) $198,660.00 to be used for community 
action agencies to support Head Start 
programs, and not to be used for 
administrative expenses. 
 
SB 1160 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
$238,077,462.00 to the Prison Acquisition 
Revolving Fund from the Revenue 
Stabilization Fund and $73,922,538.00 to 
the revolving fund from the General 
Revenue Fund.  
 
SB 1178 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
$7,929,596.45 from the Statewide Recovery 
Fund to the Department of Mental Health 
and Substance Abuse Services to expand the 
infrastructure of the Tulsa Center for 
Behavioral Health. Additionally, $66.5 
million of the $87 million appropriated to 

the Department in HB 1013 of the 2nd 
Extraordinary Session of the 58th Oklahoma 
Legislature is reappropriated to the 
Department to construct a replacement 
facility for Griffin Memorial Hospital. 
 
SB 1179 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
$800,000.00 to the J.D. McCarty Center for 
Children with Developmental Disabilities 
from the Statewide Recovery Fund to 
provide medical care for children with 
developmental disabilities who are 
disproportionately impacted by the 
pandemic. 
 
SB 1180 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
$248,000.00 to the Legislative Service 
Bureau from the ARPA Administrative 
Costs Fund to pay obligations that may arise 
out of contracts during Fiscal Year 2026 
related to the American Rescue Plan Act of 
2021. 
 
SB 1181 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) appropriates 
$2,418,180.00 to the Office of Management 
and Enterprise Services from the ARPA 
Administrative Costs Fund to pay for 
expenses arising from implementing 
programs and expenditures in accordance 
with actions taken by the Joint Committee 
on Pandemic Relief Funding. 
 
HB 2775 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) authorizes 
$41.6 million from the Legacy Capital 
Financing Fund to construct, refurbish, or 
expand military facilities for the Military 
Department of the State of Oklahoma. 
 
HB 2777 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) appropriates 
$21,253,658.00 from the Opioid Lawsuit 
Settlement Fund to the Oklahoma Opioid 
Abatement Revolving Fund. The measure 
provides that $1,253,658.00 of the 
appropriation shall be distributed to the non-
litigation subdivisions.   
 
HB 2779 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) directs the 
Department of Public Safety to use 
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$750,000.00 of its appropriated Fiscal Year 
2026 funds for the School Secure Program. 
 
HB 2788 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) 
reappropriates unused funds from projects 
that received funding from the Joint 
Committee on Pandemic Relief Funding. 
The following leftover funds will be 
transferred back to the Statewide Recovery 
Fund for reappropriation:   
1) $1,560,875.00 from the original $2.8 
million provided to the Department of 
Human Services for housing, food security, 
and transitional tools for domestic violence 
victims, 
2) $162,668.85.00 from the original 
$12,802,993.00 provided to the Department 
of Human Services for food insecurity grant 
programs, 
3) $1,490,675.08 from the original 
$4,537,500.00 provided to the Health Care 
Workforce Development Revolving Fund to 
create a grant program with Care Providers 
Oklahoma to help recruit, educate, and 
stabilize the state's health care workforce, 
4) $2,164,039.00 from the original $10 
million provided to the Oklahoma State 
University Medical Authority to fund 
outreach and training for a rural advanced 
care pilot program, 
5) $5 million from the original $25 million 
provided to State Department of Health to 
provide medical facilities for 
disproportionately impacted populations,   
6) $20.5 million from the original $87 
million provided to the Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services for a replacement facility for 
Griffin Memorial Hospital, and  
7) $3.3 million from the original $8 million 
provided to the Oklahoma Water Resources 
Board to address critical water and 
wastewater infrastructure needs in central 
Oklahoma.  
 
HB 2789 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) appropriates 
the following amounts from the Statewide 

Recovery Fund to the Oklahoma Water 
Resources Board (OWRB):  
1) $3.3 million to help with increased costs 
for water and wastewater infrastructure 
needs around the U.S. Air Force 
Sustainment Center, and  
2) $6,625,661.48 to fund water and 
wastewater projects in small cities and rural 
water districts.  
The measure also creates the Statewide 
Recovery Special Account for the OWRB 
for each of the aforementioned 
appropriations, provides that the OWRB 
cannot spend more than 4 percent of the 
funds on administrative costs, and requires 
the OWRB to submit a quarterly report to 
the Legislature on its expenditures and 
contracts. 
 
HB 2790 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) appropriates 
$10 million from the Statewide Recovery 
Fund to the Office of Juvenile Affairs (OJA) 
to provide academic, social, and emotional 
services for young Oklahomans. The 
measure also creates the Statewide Recovery 
Special Account for the OJA and authorizes 
the OJA to spend up to 2% of the funds on 
administrative costs. The measure requires 
the OJA to submit a quarterly report to the 
Legislature on its expenditures and 
contracts. 
 

HB 2791 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) appropriates 

the following amounts from the Statewide 
Recovery Fund to the Department of Human 
Services (DHS):  
1) $195,000.00 to help with increased 
construction costs for a facility that serves 
domestic violence, assault, and trafficking 
victims,  
2) $328,000.00 for a food program that 
focuses on food distribution, education, 
workforce development, and health 
assessments, and   
3) $5 million to help expand capacity for 
child care services.  
The measure also creates the Statewide 
Recovery Special Account for DHS and 
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provides that DHS may spend up to 2% of 
the funds on administrative costs. The 
measure requires DHS to submit a quarterly 
report to the Legislature on its expenditures 
and contracts. 
 
HB 2793 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) appropriates 
$8 million from the Progressing Rural 
Economic Prosperity Fund to the 
Emergency Medicine Revolving Fund.  
 
HB 2794 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) appropriates 
the following amounts from the Progressing 
Rural Economic Prosperity Fund to the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce:  
1) $5 million for a municipal park in 
Oklahoma County located north of I-344 
and west of I-35, 
2) $4 million to relocate a naval submarine 
located east of State Highway 165 and north 
of State Highway 62, and  
3) $1.8 million for infrastructure 
improvements at an industrial park located 
south of State Highway 62 and east of State 
Highway 283. 

Agriculture & Rural Affairs 

 
SB 448 (Hamilton/Grego) requires any 
nonresident receiving authorization to hunt 
on any state wildlife refuge or Wildlife 
Management Area to also schedule with the 
Department of Wildlife Conservation in 
order to receive written authorization to use 
such refuge or Wildlife Management Area. 
The measure directs the Oklahoma Wildlife 
Conservation Commission to create a lottery 
system to distribute such permits and creates 
a $100.00 fee for the permits. 
 
HB 1126 (Grego/Pederson) prohibits falsely 
advertising or misbranding any food or 
distributing, offering for sale, or selling any 
misbranded food. A food will be deemed to 
be falsely advertised or misbranded if it falls 
under the criteria listed in the measure. 
Additionally, a manufactured-protein food 
product will be falsely advertised or 

misbranded if it falls under the criteria listed 
in the measure. The Oklahoma Department 
of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry (ODAFF) 
will investigate all credible complaints that 
food products are falsely advertised or 
misbranded as meat products. Any person 
who violates this act will, upon conviction, 
be guilty of a misdemeanor. A manufacturer 
of food that violates this act will be subject 
to all ODAFF enforcement measures. 
ODAFF may adopt rules as necessary to 
implement this measure. 

Business & Commerce 

 
SB 641 (Paxton/Tedford) creates the 
Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Consumer 
Protection Act. The measure provides that 
the hourly rate for labor for administrative 
charges shall be determined in accordance 
with the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices 
Act. The measure authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to adjust the rate for labor to 
account for inflation annually beginning on 
January 1, 2027. Administrative charges 
may only be billed up to 4 hours. The 
measure provides that the maximum rate for 
storage provided by an auto body repair 
shop for a motor vehicle total shall be 
$39.00 per day for the first 10 days and 
$125.00 per day for vehicles with a lithium-
ion battery that have sustained damage to 
the battery pack or have exhibited fire, 
smoke, or popping or hissing sounds. Each 
shop shall be required to provide written 
invoices and respond to requests for invoices 
concerning the pickup, release, or delivery 
of a motor vehicle on its premises to the 
insurance company within 8 business hours. 
The maximum rate may be increased by the 
Oklahoma Insurance Department based on 
current market conditions and the Consumer 
Price Index.  
 
SB 911 (Coleman/Tedford) decreases the 
percentage rate of the state’s average annual 
wage used to determine the conditional 
factor rate for unemployment taxable wages. 
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The measure further codifies the Conditional 
Factor Rate table used in computing the 
contribution rate for each employer in a 
calendar year. The minimum balance 
required for the Oklahoma Employment 
Security Commission to be authorized to 
take certain action during certain conditions 
for the Unemployment Compensation Fund 
is increased from $25 million to $50 million.   
 
HB 1076 (Hildebrant/Gillespie) creates the 
Food Truck Freedom Act, which establishes 
a state license for mobile food vendors to 
standardize and streamline licensure of food 
trucks. Currently, each jurisdiction issues its 
own license, which requires food trucks to 
obtain new licenses each time they travel. 
This measure provides for license portability 
across the state while protecting the 
authority of local jurisdictions to enforce 
their regulations, such as those restricting 
authorized locations of mobile food vendors. 
 
HB 2110 (Osburn/Coleman) creates the 
Bringing Sitcoms Home from Hollywood 
Pilot Program Act and establishes an 
incentive rebate program for live audience 
episodic series that are filmed or produced 
in Oklahoma. The measure outlines the 
incentive structure, which includes a 
minimum budget of $200,000.00 per 
episode, at least six episodes per season, and 
a minimum of 50 live audience members in 
attendance for each episode. The minimum 
base rebate percentage is 25% and the 
maximum incentive percentage is 30% with 
the total program being limited to $10 
million in funding each fiscal year. The 
program will sunset July 1, 2032. 
 
HB 2369 (Hill/Paxton) defines “event 
venue” and creates a $50.00 event bartender 
license. Alcoholic beverages served on the 
premises of an event venue shall be required 
to be served by an ABLE-licensed caterer or 
event bartender licensee. The event 
bartender licensee will be required to 
successfully complete an in-person training 

program conducted by an ABLE-approved 
entity no later than 14 days after licensure. 
Proof of training completion shall be made 
available for inspection at the event venue 
location. The failure of an event bartender to 
comply with the provisions of this measure 
may subject the license holder to revocation. 

Education 

 
SB 139 (Seifried/Chad Caldwell) requires 
school district boards of education to adopt a 
policy prohibiting students from using cell 
phones and personal electronic devices 
while on a public school district campus 
from bell to bell for the 2025-2026 school 
year. It directs the policy to include 
disciplinary procedures for violations. It 
allows the policy to include certain 
exceptions. For the 2026-2027 school year 
and each school year thereafter, the bill 
allows a school district board of education to 
adopt such a policy. 
 
SB 140 (Seifried/Hasenbeck) directs the 
State Board of Education to use $1 million 
in appropriations to implement the 
Oklahoma Math Achievement and 
Proficiency Act created in the bill. It directs 
all teachers of mathematics in public schools 
to incorporate into instruction the 
foundational elements of math instruction. It 
requires students enrolled in second, third, 
fourth, and fifth grade to be screened at the 
beginning, middle, and end of each school 
year for math skills. It directs the State 
Board of Education to approve a list of 
screening instruments for use at the 
beginning, middle, and end of the school 
year beginning in the 2026-2027 school 
year. It provides exemptions to the screening 
requirements. The bill directs students who 
are found to be exceeding grade-level targets 
to be provided advanced learning 
opportunities in mathematics. Students 
found not to be meeting grade-level targets 
are to be provided a program of math 
instruction. It directs students enrolled in 
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second, third, fourth, and fifth grade who 
exhibit a deficiency in math at any time to 
receive an individual math intervention plan 
within 30 days of identification of the 
deficiency. It directs the plan to be 
developed by a student math proficiency 
team. The bill allows funds to be allocated 
to districts with second-, third-, fourth-, and 
fifth-grade students who are found to be in 
need of remediation or intensive 
intervention services. It requires districts 
that receive more than $2,500 to spend at 
least 10 percent of the funds to provide 
professional development for teachers. It 
allows a teacher who attends and completes 
a professional development institute in 
elementary math to receive a stipend. The 
bill provides for summer academy programs 
to ensure students successfully complete an 
advanced math program or grade-level 
competencies in math to enhance next-grade 
readiness. It directs the Commission for 
Educational Quality and Accountability to 
ensure that the mathematics competencies 
for elementary teachers are included in the 
competencies for special education teachers. 
It directs the Commission, in collaboration 
with the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 
Education, to ensure all teachers of early 
childhood, elementary, and special 
education are trained in intervention, 
instruction, and remediation strategies in 
math. It requires candidates applying for an 
alternative placement or emergency teaching 
certificate in elementary education to 
complete instruction in a scientifically 
research-based math program. It also creates 
the Statewide Mathematics Revolving Fund. 
The bill directs any student enrolled in 
second, third, fourth, and fifth grade who is 
not meeting grade-level targets in math after 
the beginning-of-the-year screening 
instrument to be screened for dyscalculia. It 
directs the State Board of Education to adopt 
a list of approved screening tools. It 
establishes school district reporting 
requirements. 
 

SB 235 (Pugh/Kerbs) creates the Grow Your 
Own Educator Program to provide matching 
funds to eligible public school districts and 
public school district foundations that have 
established a program to provide tuition or 
loan repayment assistance to school district 
employees who pursue an undergraduate 
degree from an accredited teacher 
preparation program leading to a standard 
teaching certificate. It directs matching fund 
grants to be provided on a first-come, first-
served basis. It directs the State Department 
of Education to administer the program and 
submit a report on the program. The bill also 
creates the Grow Your Own Educator 
Revolving Fund. 
 
SB 553 (Pugh/Sterling) amends the powers 
and duties of the State Board of Education to 
allow revocation of the teaching certificate 
of any person who has been convicted, 
whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere, or received a suspended 
sentence or any probationary term for 
knowingly and willfully failing to report 
suspected abuse or neglect of a child. It 
prohibits a teaching certificate from being 
issued to a person who knowingly and 
willfully failed to report suspected abuse or 
neglect of a child. It requires a full-time 
teacher previously employed by a school 
district who had a criminal history record 
check completed in the preceding five years 
to submit a letter to a potential employing 
school district with information regarding 
whether the teacher was the subject of any 
allegation of inappropriate behavior with a 
student. It requires a full-time teacher 
previously employed by a school district 
who had a criminal history record check 
completed in the preceding five years and 
who is seeking employment as a substitute 
teacher to submit the same letter. The bill 
adds knowing and willful failure to report 
suspected child abuse or neglect to the list of 
reasons for which a career teacher may be 
dismissed or not reemployed. It requires 
professional development on proper 
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reporting of suspected abuse to include 
statutory reporting requirements for 
reporting suspected child abuse or neglect. 
The measure also requires every school 
employee to annually sign an attestation 
acknowledging his or her responsibility to 
report suspected child abuse or neglect as 
required by law. 
 
SB 701 (Haste/Hasenbeck) states legislative 
intent regarding the Oklahoma State Regents 
for Higher Education’s approval of 
functional exceptions. The bill removes 
language granting Northern Oklahoma 
College the exclusive authority to offer all 
lower division courses and programs at the 
University Center at Ponca City. It removes 
language limiting the Connors State College 
branch in Muskogee to lower division 
courses and programs. It removes language 
limiting the Northeastern State University 
branch in Muskogee to upper division 
classes and programs and master’s level 
graduate classes and instead directs classes 
and programs to be provided as the Sate 
Regents determine are appropriate. It 
removes language limiting Oklahoma State 
University-Tulsa to upper division 
undergraduate courses and baccalaureate 
degree programs and instead allows courses 
and baccalaureate degree programs to be 
provided as the State Regents determine are 
appropriate. The bill also removes language 
limiting Langston University-Tulsa to upper 
division undergraduate and graduate 
courses. It also removes language 
prohibiting undergraduate degree programs 
offered at Oklahoma State University-Tulsa 
from duplicating such programs offered by 
Langston University-Tulsa. The measure 
removes language limiting the Northeastern 
State University branch in Broken Arrow to 
upper division undergraduate and graduate 
course offerings. It also removes language 
prohibiting undergraduate degree programs 
offered at Oklahoma State University-Tulsa 
from duplicating such programs offered by 
Northeastern State University-Tulsa. It 

repeals a section of law that prohibits 
undergraduate courses offered through 
Oklahoma State University-Tulsa from 
duplicating those offered by Tulsa 
Community College. 
 
SB 711 (Pugh/Johns) modifies language 
regarding the calculation of the four-year 
adjusted cohort graduation rate. It directs 
students who transfer out of the school, 
students who emigrate to another country, 
and deceased students to not be included in 
the rate calculation, rather than directing that 
the rate be adjusted for such students. It also 
amends the A-F grading system for schools 
by prohibiting chronic absenteeism from 
being included in any statewide measure of 
school quality or student success. It removes 
language directing certain indicators be 
given certain percentage weight in a 
school’s overview grade. The bill provides 
for the awarding of specific point levels 
based on a measure of performance in 
certain subject areas, academic growth in 
certain subject areas, progress in English 
language proficiency, a high school’s 
graduation rate, and high school students’ 
participation in certain postsecondary 
opportunities. It adds scoring the silver level 
or above on the ACT WorkKeys, acceptance 
for enlistment into any branch of the 
military within the first year after high 
school graduation, or earning a military 
readiness score on the Armed Services 
Vocational Aptitude Battery to the list of 
postsecondary opportunities that may be 
considered in calculating a school’s grade. 
The bill allows bonus points to be awarded 
based on a school site providing in-person 
classroom instruction in excess of certain 
statutory requirements and based on a school 
site improving its chronic absenteeism rate. 
The measure directs the State Board of 
Education to amends its state plan under the 
Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) to 
replace chronic absenteeism. It requires the 
Board to submit a proposed amendment to 
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the U.S. Department of Education by August 
1, 2025. 
 
SB 758 (Thompson/Moore) prohibits a 
school district or charter school from 
counting days or portions of days when 
school is closed and virtual instruction is 
provided toward the 180-day or 1,080-hour 
requirement for the school year except as 
provided for in the measure. Beginning with 
the 2026-2027 school year and each school 
year thereafter, the measure allows a school 
district or charter school to close and 
provide virtual instruction for up to two days 
or twelve hours which may count toward the 
classroom instructional time requirement 
only if the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction approves a virtual instruction 
plan submitted by the school district board 
of education or charter school governing 
board, the Governor issues a state of 
emergency or a proclamation for a specific 
reason relating to the school’s operations, 
and the school district board of education or 
charter school governing board approves the 
use of virtual instruction. The measure also 
requires the State Department of Education 
by June 30, 2027, and each subsequent June 
30 to publish on its website and 
electronically submit to the Governor and 
legislative leaders a report with information 
regarding the use of virtual instruction. 

Elections 

 
SB 652 (Paxton/Osburn) modifies 
authorized election dates conducted by 
county election boards. The measure 
provides that the board may hold an election 
on the third Tuesday of June, the fourth 
Tuesday of August, and the first Tuesday 
after the first Monday of November. 
Additionally, the measure allows for 
elections to be held on the second Tuesday 
of December beginning in December of 
2025. and every 4 years thereafter. Special 
elections called by the Governor shall be 
limited to the second Tuesday of January in 

any year, the first Tuesday of March in any 
year, the first Tuesday of May in an odd-
numbered year, the second Tuesday of July 
in an odd-numbered year, the second 
Tuesday of September in an odd-numbered 
year, the first Tuesday of October in an odd-
numbered year, and the second Tuesday of 
December in any year. The provisions of 
this measure shall take effect on elections 
held after January 1, 2026.    
 
SB 1027 (Bullard/Hilbert) requires each 
initiative petition gist to explain in basic 
words the effects of the proposition. No gist 
shall contain any words which have a 
special meaning for a particular profession 
or trade, or any euphemisms, words, or 
phrases regarded in popular parlance as code 
words. Each gist shall be neutral in its 
description and shall not contain any 
argument for or against the measure. The 
gist shall also indicate whether a proposed 
measure will have a fiscal impact on the 
state. Each gist shall be accompanied by a 
statement that provides notice that the copy 
of the petition is a public record subject to 
the Oklahoma Open Records Act. The 
measure directs the Secretary of State to 
affirm that any gist conforms with these 
requirements. The Secretary is authorized to 
remove any gist that violates the 
requirements and to direct the proponents of 
the petition to submit a new gist. The 
measure requires any person circulating a 
petition to be a registered voter in the state 
and to display whether he or she is being 
paid to circulate the petition. Any person 
receiving payment shall submit a report to 
the Secretary of State that details such 
expenditures and that attests that all donated 
funds were received from sources in this 
state. The total number of signatures 
collected from a single county as it pertains 
to amending statutes shall not exceed 11.5% 
of the number of votes cast in that county 
during the most recent statewide general 
election for Governor. The total number of 
signatures collected from a single county as 
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it pertains to amending the Oklahoma 
Constitution shall not exceed 20.8% of the 
number of votes cast in that county during 
the most recent statewide general election 
for Governor. 

Energy  

 
SB 130 (Burns/Boles) directs the 
Corporation Commission to submit a 
requisition to contract with an outside firm 
to conduct a technical and legal feasibility 
study on nuclear energy generation within 
90 days of the effective date. This process 
shall be exempt from state procurement 
process requirements and shall follow the 
Corporation Commission process to retain 
expert witnesses. The Commission shall 
coordinate with retail electric suppliers and 
municipally owned electric utilities to 
provide relevant information to the study. 
The study’s findings shall be submitted to 
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, 
Speaker of the House, and Governor no 
more than 9 months after the effective date.  
 
SB 269 (Rader/Luttrell) adds Class VI CO2 
injection wells as well as any CO2 storage 
unit associated with a CO2 sequestration 
facility to the list of facilities under the 
exclusive jurisdiction of the Corporation 
Commission. The measure provides that the 
Corporation Commission shall regulate 
carbon capture efforts in the state and 
authorizes the Commission to enter into 
memorandums of understanding with any 
governmental entity deemed necessary to 
address areas of implementation of the 
Oklahoma Carbon Capture and Geologic 
Sequestration Act. Applicants to build 
injection wells must give notice by 2 
publications. At least 1 of the publications 
must be 30 days prior to the Commission 
hearing. Applications may be filed if the 
applicant owns 63% of the tracts of land to 
be included in the CO2 storage unit. A map 
of the affected areas shall be included in the 
application. Notice shall be provided to 

owners of affected wells, owners of mineral 
rights, and surface owners. No person or 
entity shall inject CO2 without the 
authorization of the Commission. A 
certificate of completion shall be issued to 
the owner of a site within 50 years after the 
cessation of all injections if the owner 
maintained mechanical integrity of the site 
and complied with applicable regulations.  
The measure also creates the Class VI 
Carbon Sequestration Storage Facility 
Revolving Fund. The measure provides that 
if a facility or storage unit deposits $5 
million or more into the fund, the fee 
assessments to that facility or unit shall 
cease until such time as funds begin to be 
expended for that facility or unit until the 
fund has fallen below $4 million of funds 
collected from that facility. The measure 
directs the Corporation Commission to 
furnish an electronic report to the President 
Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker 
of the House assessing the effectiveness of 
the fund. 
 
SB 480 (Green/Boles) provides that entities 
or individuals generating electricity solely 
for their premises for their own consumption 
or indirectly by contracting with a public 
utility, rural electric cooperative, or 
municipality to furnish electric service to a 
specific customer shall not be classified as a 
public utility. Exempt wholesale generators 
shall not be classified as public utilities. The 
measure specifies that there shall not be an 
obligation for a public utility to serve any 
customer receiving service from an 
exempted entity described above. The 
measure requires any project related to such 
generation to include a natural gas 
component. The measure also eliminates the 
authorization for entities or individuals 
manufacturing goods in Washington County 
to contract with the Corporation 
Commission for the sale of surplus electrical 
energy.    
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SB 998 (Green/Trey Caldwell) directs the 
Corporation Commission to process the 
application of an electric generation facility 
that uses natural gas as its primary fuel 
source within 180 days of the filing. The 
measure also provides that bids received by 
an electric utility through a competitive 
bidding process within the last 12 months 
following the final bid shall be considered 
substantial evidence to satisfy the 
consideration of reasonable alternatives. The 
measure directs the Commission to permit a 
separate rate adjustment mechanism to 
recover the costs associated with the 
construction of natural-gas-fired electric 
generation facilities. The eligible projects 
for the rate adjustment shall include new 
natural-gas-fired capacity additions at an 
existing electric generation facility. The 
measure requires the utility to refund 
customers if it fails to construct or expand 
the facility over a maximum period of 90 
days. Utilities shall be required to secure a 
firm contract to transport natural gas to the 
generating facility. Public utilities shall be 
required to defer to a regulatory asset 90% 
of all depreciation expenses and return 
associated with all qualifying electric plants 
placed in service. The measure directs the 
Commission to conduct a prudence review 
of the associated qualifying electric plant 
resulting in the regulatory asset balances 
prior to moving such balances into the 
public utility’s rate base. Each general rate 
proceeding concluded on or after July 1, 
2025, shall include the balance of the 
regulatory asset as of the end of the test year 
with the rate base without any offset. 
Regulatory asset balances created in this 
manner shall accrue carrying costs at the 
public utility’s weighted average cost of 
capital plus applicable federal, state, and 
local income or excise taxes. Deferred 
depreciation expenses shall account for any 
qualifying electric plant placed into service.  
 
HB 1422 (Josh West/Woods) increases the 
Grand River Dam Authority’s bonding 

capacity to $3.6 billion dollars for increases 
in electric generation capacity.  

State and Local Government 

 
SB 68 (Green/Bashore) authorizes each state 
agency to employ information technology 
personnel to develop and implement the 
agency’s technology strategy. The 
employing agency is required by the 
measure to enter into a memorandum of 
understanding with the Chief Information 
Officer (CIO). The measure authorizes the 
CIO to audit the state agency’s compliance. 
The measure also adds the Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Investigation, the District 
Attorneys Council, the Office of the 
Attorney General, and the Office of the State 
Auditor and Inspector to the list of state 
agencies exempt from the provisions of the 
Information Technology Consolidation and 
Coordination Act. 
 
SB 403 (Stewart/Cantrell) modifies duties of 
county purchasing agents as it relates to 
bidders. The measure provides that the 
purchasing agent shall select the next lowest 
and best bidder from a list of qualified 
bidders. The measure provides that all 
bidders shall be considered at or below the 
amount they bid. The measure removes a 
requirement mandating counties purchasing 
information technology and 
telecommunication goods to utilize 
competitive bidding procedures. The 
measure removes authorization for 
purchasers to purchase goods and services 
without using competitive bidding 
procedures if the selected vendor will not or 
cannot sell such items and if the purchase is 
under $25,000.00. Instead, the purchaser 
shall purchase from a vendor who submitted 
a bid.    
 
SB 987 (Thompson/Osburn) provides that 
the Chief Executive Officer of the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce shall 
be appointed by the newly created 
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Oklahoma Department of Commerce Board 
instead of the Governor. The Board shall be 
comprised of 9 members, including the 
Secretary of Commerce, with 2 of the 
members respectively appointed by the 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate and 
Speaker of the House of Representatives, 
and 4 of the members appointed by the 
Governor. Members of the Board shall not 
receive compensation, but may receive 
travel reimbursements. The meetings of the 
Board shall be subject to the Oklahoma 
Open Meeting Act and the Oklahoma Open 
Records Act, though the measure authorizes 
the Board to keep certain records 
confidential.   
 
SB 995 (Bergstrom/Kendrix) provides that 
any rules not acted upon by the adoption of 
a joint resolution shall be deemed 
disapproved. The measure also repeals a 
provision of law providing for the 
disapproval of proposed rules and for the 
Governor to act on rules not approved or 
disapproved by the Legislature.  
 
SB 1024 (Bergstrom/Kendrix) prohibits the 
adoption of a proposed rule by an agency 
unless the agency receives approval from the 
Governor or appropriate cabinet secretary. 
The measure requires the rule impact 
statement to include an analysis of 
alternatives to adopting the proposed rule, 
estimates on the amount of time that would 
be spent by state employees to develop the 
rule, the amount of other resources that 
would be utilized to develop the rule, and a 
summary as well as a preliminary 
comparison of any existing or proposed 
federal regulations that are intended to 
address the activities to be regulated by the 
proposed rule. 
 
SB 1028 (Alvord/Miller) requires applicants 
for the office of notary public to submit to a 
national criminal history record check. The 
check shall also be conducted for renewal 
applications. The measure authorizes the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation to 
levy a maximum fee of $50.00 to conduct 
the check. The measure also increases the 
bond from $1,000.00 to $10,000.00.  
 
SB 1091 (Weaver/Blair) provides that 
campus police officers elected to the 
governing board of a town or municipality 
that is outside of the town or municipality 
where the person serves as a campus police 
officer may simultaneously hold both 
offices.   
 
HB 1052 (Kelley/Green) standardizes the 
reporting system for municipal fire 
departments and fire protection districts, 
directing them to utilize the National 
Emergency Response Information System. 
Additionally, the measure requires reports of 
fire-related burn injuries and death to be 
completed within 48 hours of the incident.  
 
HB 1166 (Kelley/Howard) establishes that 
no municipality can annex more than the 
greater of 10% of its current land area or 8 
square miles in one area at any one time 
unless the municipality obtains the written 
consent of the owners of at least 65% of the 
acres to be annexed and 25% of the 
population to be annexed.  The measure 
requires a municipal service extension plan 
be included in the public notice published in 
a newspaper and mailed to all property 
owners within the proposed territory to be 
annexed. If the extension of municipal 
services is not substantially complete within 
the allotted time, the affected owners can 
either petition a court of competent 
jurisdiction for enforcement of the 
completion of the extended municipal 
services or bring a process for detachment. 
If the governing body fails to detach, the 
majority of the annexed territory's registered 
voters can file a petition with the municipal 
clerk. If the governing body does not detach 
the annexed territory within 90 days of 
receipt of the filed petition, any of the 
petitioners can bring the petition to the 
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district court. No owners of land detached 
from a municipality can petition for 
annexation to the municipality from which 
the land was detached for 10 years after 
detachment. Additionally, the measure 
establishes that a municipality can annex 
territory without reaching the threshold of 
consenting owners in certain conditions. 
Municipalities cannot annex territory in this 
manner more than once per year. 
Municipalities must provide a municipal 
service extension plan. Owners can refute 
the annexation if they can show it better 
benefits them to stay detached from the 
municipality. Lastly, a municipality cannot 
attach ad valorem taxes to an annexed area 
for a sinking fund to satisfy any judgment as 
provided by law if the annexed area was not 
part of the municipality at the time of 
judgment.  
 
HB 2728 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) creates the 
Regulations from the Executive In Need of 
Scrutiny (REINS) Act of 2025. The 
Legislative Office of Fiscal Transparency 
(LOFT) will independently review and 
assess the economic impact of major rules 
proposed by state agencies, examining any 
rule expected to create implementation and 
compliance costs of more than $1 million 
over a five-year period. The measure 
increases the amount of information needed 
to be reported in the rule impact statement 
submitted with the proposed rules, and 
creates a deeper level of legislative scrutiny 
for the rules.  
 

Health & Human Services 

 
SB 56 (Gollihare/Stinson) directs the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority to 
establish a program under which a family 
member of a Medicaid member may be 
recognized as a family caregiver and may, 
under the direction and supervision of a 
Registered Nurse, provide services to such 
family member and receive reimbursement 

through a licensed home care agency. The 
program shall be established no later than 1 
year after the effective date of the measure. 
The family member, the Medicaid member, 
and the home care agency must meet certain 
requirements. The Authority is directed to 
establish reimbursement rates for family 
caregivers and prescribe certain standards. 
 
SB 658 (Daniels/Crosswhite Hader) 
prohibits the Department of Human Services 
from requiring any current or prospective 
adoptive or foster parent to support any 
government policy regarding sexual 
orientation or gender identity that conflicts 
with the parent’s sincerely held religious or 
moral beliefs as a condition for eligibility to 
adopt or foster. The Department shall not 
deny authorization to an adoptive or foster 
parent to adopt a child based on their belief 
relating to sexual orientation or gender 
identity. The Department may consider the 
beliefs of the child as well as his or her 
family of origin as it relates to candidate 
families.   
 
SB 789 (Gollihare/Stinson) requires any 
entity conducting an audit of a pharmacy to 
permit a pharmacy to use drug purchase 
records without limitation of date or source 
to validate the dispensing of a prescription 
drug or a controlled dangerous substance. 
The measure requires any pharmacy benefits 
manager (PBM) that leases, rents, or 
otherwise makes its provider network or 
contracts available to another pharmacy 
benefits manager to provide notice to all 
contracted providers of the lease 
arrangement, provide contact information in 
each paid or rejected claim response, and 
transmit the network reimbursement 
identification information. Such PBMs are 
prohibited from combining any Employee 
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 
(ERISA) or government plans with any non-
ERISA or nongovernment plans. The 
measure prohibits effective rate contracting 
between pharmacies or contracting agents 
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acting on behalf of a pharmacy and a PBM 
or third-party payors. Any PBM or third-
party payor violating this prohibition shall 
be subject to fines and revocation of 
licensure.  
 
SB 806 (Pugh/Moore) creates the Food is 
Medicine Act. The measure directs the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority to seek 
any necessary federal approval to provide 
coverage for nutrition supports using the 
state Medicaid program. Nutrition services 
shall include case management, nutrition 
counseling, meals or pantry stocking, 
nutrition prescriptions, and groceries. The 
measure also directs the State Department of 
Education to provide technical assistance 
with applying for grants and administering 
programs that expand student access to 
fresh, healthy food. 
 
SB 889 (Murdock/Lepak) requires each 
hospital to make public a digital file in a 
machine-readable format that contains a list 
of all standard charges for all facility items 
or services as well as a consumer friendly 
list of standard charges for a limited set of 
shoppable services. The list shall be 
published on the facility’s website and shall 
be available free of charge without the need 
to establish a user account or password. The 
list shall also be made available to the State 
Department of Health using a template 
designated by the Department. Each facility 
shall maintain a list of standard charges for 
services and items and ensure that each list 
is applicable to the specific facility it 
purports to represent. The measure requires 
certain charges to be included on the list as 
well as any code used by the facility for 
purposes of accounting or billing for the 
facility item or service. The measure 
requires each facility to publish a list of at 
least 300, if it offers that much or more, of 
its services provided. Facilities shall 
prioritize services frequently used and 
consider their billing rate for each service. 
The list of services shall include an easy-to-

read description of the service, the payor-
specific negotiated charge that applies to 
each shoppable service included on the list 
and any ancillary service, the discounted 
cash price that applies to each shoppable 
service or the gross charge for the shoppable 
service or ancillary service, the de-identified 
minimum negotiated charge that applies to 
each shoppable service, the de-identified 
maximum negotiated charge that applies to 
each shoppable service, and any code used 
by the facility for purposes of accounting or 
billing for each shoppable service. Each 
update to the list shall be submitted to the 
Department. The Department may monitor 
compliance with the provisions of this 
measure. Any hospital found to be in 
violation shall be required to submit a 
corrective action plan after receiving 
notification from the Department. The 
measure requires any hospital found to have 
violated the provisions of this measure by a 
judge or jury to refund the payor any amount 
of the debt the payor has paid and to pay a 
penalty to the patient. The measure also 
expands the definition of “health care 
facility” as it relates to the Transparency in 
Health Care Prices Act to include hospitals.  
 
SB 906 (Rosino/Stinson) requires retail 
pharmacies to maintain a ratio of up to 5 
pharmacy technicians for every pharmacist.  
 
SB 993 (Gollihare/Stinson) prohibits 
pharmacy benefits managers (PBMs) from 
exceeding an annual limit of 50 prescription 
claims with a specific prescription number 
and date of fill per calendar year. PBM 
auditors shall be required to ensure each 
preliminary findings report contains specific 
prescription numbers, fill dates, drug names, 
and National Drug Code numbers as well as 
the date of receipt of documents. The 
measure requires the plan sponsor of the 
report to receive a copy of the final report 
within 30 days of the final disposition.    The 
measure requires auditors conducting an 
audit based on the suspicion of fraud to 
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provide a copy of the clear and conspicuous 
declaration required by law to the 
pharmacy’s contracting agent by certified 
mail within 5 business days. The measure 
also requires the auditing entity to deliver a 
preliminary findings report within 90 days, 
allow the pharmacy to produce 
documentation to address any discrepancy 
found during the audit within 90 days of 
receiving the preliminary report, and deliver 
a final report within 30 days of receiving the 
documentation from the pharmacy. The 
pharmacy shall have 30 days to reverse and 
resubmit claims after receiving the final 
report. The auditor shall not accrue interest 
during the audit and appeal period. The 
measure requires auditors to notify the 
Attorney General if findings of fraud, willful 
misrepresentation, or abuse are forwarded to 
the district attorney. The measure extends 
the deadline for auditors to provide the 
preliminary report to the Attorney General 
from 30 days to 90 days and provides for an 
extension of an additional 90 days if the 
Attorney General grants the request from the 
auditor. The measure authorizes the auditor 
to request a 10-day extension for the final 
report. The measure provides that the ability 
of a PBM to initiate or conclude an audit of 
a pharmacy shall be tolled for the duration 
of a declared disaster and for an additional 
period of 30 calendar days following the 
termination of a declared disaster.     
 
HB 2013 (Pae/Stanley) creates Dylan’s 
Law, which is designed to improve 
outcomes related to sudden unexpected 
death in epilepsy (SUDEP). The bill directs 
Service Oklahoma to permit state ID holders 
to voluntarily add a special symbol to the ID 
indicating that the person has been 
diagnosed with epilepsy for the purpose of 
law enforcement identification and effective 
communication. The bill also directs the 
State Commissioner of Health to provide 
guidance to medical practitioners on 
recognition of SUDEP. Finally, the measure 
requires the Chief Medical Examiner to 

investigate deaths for SUDEP if the 
decedent had a history of epilepsy or 
seizures and to note such findings on the 
death certificate and report them to the 
North American SUDEP Registry (NASR). 
 
HB 2050 (Stinson/Rosino) creates a limited 
physician license for international medical 
school graduates. To qualify, graduates must 
have an offer of employment and must have 
either completed a 3-year residency or 
practiced as a physician for 3 of the last 5 
years. Graduates will complete postgraduate 
medical training while practicing under 
limited licensure and may qualify for full 
unrestricted licensure after fulfilling all 
applicable requirements. The measure is 
intended to expand licensure for foreign 
medical graduates to ease the physician 
shortage in Oklahoma. 

Judiciary 

 
SB 453 (Howard/Harris) creates the 
Oklahoma Expedited Actions Act. The 
measure specifies that the expedited process 
provided for in the measure shall apply to a 
suit in which all claimants affirmatively 
plead they seek only monetary relief 
aggregating $250,000.00 or less, excluding 
interest or other punitive damages. The 
measure directs the court to remove a suit 
from the expedited actions process on a 
motion and a showing of good cause by any 
party or upon the filing of a pleading or an 
amended or supplemental pleading that 
seeks any relief other than the monetary 
relief. The measure specifies that discovery 
shall not exceed 180 days for expedited 
processes and specifies that parties shall 
have up to 20 hours total to examine and 
cross-examine witnesses. The measure 
limits requests for interrogatories, 
productions, and admissions to 15 written 
requests respectively. Upon request, the 
court shall set the case for a trial date that is 
within 90 days after the discovery period 
ends. The court may only continue the case 
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twice, not to exceed 60 days. The measure 
establishes a limit of 8 hours per side to 
complete jury selection, opening statements, 
presentation of evidence, examination and 
cross-examination of witnesses, and closing 
arguments. The limit may be extended by 12 
hours with a motion and a showing of good 
cause by either party. The court can refer an 
expedited case to an alternative dispute 
resolution process once. The measure 
increases the award cap for noneconomic 
losses for bodily injury claims from 
$350,000.00 to $500,000.00. A $1 million 
cap is established for a permanent mental 
injury that prevents the plaintiff from being 
employed or enjoying a reasonable standard 
of living. The measure specifies that 
permanent and severe personal bodily 
injuries shall not have a cap.  
 
SB 490 (Gollihare/Lawson) modifies 
provisions of the Student Athlete Name, 
Image and Likeness Rights Act. The 
measure specifies that a student athlete shall 
not qualify as an employee of the collegiate 
athletic association based on the student 
athlete’s receipt of any payment or benefit 
for his or her name, image, or likeness. The 
measure also provides that such a student 
shall not qualify as an employee of the 
association for participation in 
intercollegiate athletic competition, 
membership on any intercollegiate athletic 
team, or the imposition of restrictions on 
student athletes by postsecondary 
institutions. Postsecondary institutions are 
authorized to revoke or rescind any 
agreement or commitment to provide 
payment if the athlete receives or agrees to 
receive payment not permitted by the Act.   
 
SB 632 (Paxton/Hilbert) creates a business 
court division within the district court of any 
judicial district containing a population in 
excess of 500,000. The measure categorizes 
each division numerically and locates 
Business Court Division I within Oklahoma 
County. Business Court Division II shall be 

located within Tulsa County. Both courts 
shall be quartered in a location as 
determined by the Chief Justice of the 
Supreme Court. The measure establishes a 
business court judge’s salary at the same 
level as an associate justice of the Supreme 
Court. Each court shall consist of 1 judge 
appointed by the Governor. A business 
judge shall serve a term of 8 years. Each 
business court judge may appoint a law 
clerk. The measure assigns arbitration and 
certain cases outlined in the measure to the 
business court. The business court is also 
authorized to hear “complex cases” as 
defined in the measure. The business court 
may hear any case involving a controversy 
equal to or exceeding $500,000.00. A jury 
trial may be reserved by a party if claimed 
within a time period established by court 
rules. Any party may transfer an action to 
the business court division of proper venue 
if the district court judge determines the 
business court has subject matter jurisdiction 
over the action. The measure requires 
nonjury trials filed within the court to be 
resolved within 12 months of the filing of 
the action unless both parties agree to an 
extension. Each business court judge shall 
be appointed by the Governor with the 
advice and consent of the Senate. The 
Governor shall choose a nominee for any 
vacancy from a list of 3 candidates provided 
by the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives. If the Governor rejects all 3 
candidates, the Governor may request a 
subsequent list of candidates from the 
Speaker. The measure provides for the 
electronic filing of documents in the 
business courts and establishes a $1,500.00 
fee for the filing of any action. 
 
SB 925 (Hamilton/Osburn) authorizes 
victims of identity theft to file of record a 
notice of fraudulent conveyance setting forth 
the nature of the fraudulent conveyance. The 
notice may be filed by persons acting on 
behalf of the victim. Such notice shall serve 
as constructive notice that the conveyance is 
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alleged to be fraudulent. The notice must 
contain an accurate and full description of 
the real property affected by the recorded 
fraudulent conveyance. The notice shall be 
filed in the county clerk’s office of the 
county or counties where the real property is 
situated. County clerks may charge fees for 
the recording of the notice. The clerk may 
refuse to file a notice of fraudulent 
conveyance if the clerk has a reasonable 
belief that the notice constitutes sham legal 
process or if the filing constitutes a slander 
of title. The measure defines “title theft” and 
provides that a person convicted of filing 
documents pertaining to an interest in real 
property with intent to deceive another 
person as to the veracity of the document 
recorded shall be guilty of a felony. Such 
persons shall be subject to a maximum fine 
of $5,000.00 and/or a term of imprisonment 
in the custody of the Department of 
Corrections not to exceed 3 years. Persons 
committing title theft with the intent to 
defraud the owner of the real property or the 
owner of an interest in the real property shall 
be guilty of a felony and subject to a 
maximum fine of $5,000.00 and/or a term of 
imprisonment in the custody of the 
Department of Corrections not to exceed 10 
years. The measure requires county clerks to 
prominently display a sign that is clearly 
visible to the general public in or near the 
county clerk’s office stating that it is a crime 
to knowingly file a fraudulent document 
pertaining to real property with the county 
clerk.  
 
SB 988 (Reinhardt/Pfeiffer) provides that 
the Oklahoma County Clerk instead of the 
Secretary of State may promulgate rules and 
practices governing the central filing system 
relating to farm products. The Clerk shall 
consult with filing offices in other 
jurisdictions and the International 
Association of Commercial Administrators. 
The measure directs the Clerk to also 
consider the rules and practices of, and the 
technology used by, other offices. The 

measure provides that there shall be no 
priority among filings. Current active filings 
shall be filed with the Oklahoma County 
Clerk. The measure provides that the 
Oklahoma County Clerk shall collect a 
$10.00 fee for filing an effective financing 
statement, a continuation statement, partial 
release, assignment of or amendment to an 
effective financing statement, or a 
termination statement for an effective 
financing statement. The measure 
establishes a $50.00 fee for registering a 
buyer of farm products, commission 
merchant, selling agent, or other interested 
party. The measure applies certain fees for 
providing copies.   
 
SB 991 (Thompson/Gise) adopts the non-
legally binding Working Definition of Anti-
Semitism promulgated by the International 
Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) 
on May 26, 2016.  
 
SB 1168 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) expands 
“public employee” as it relates to the 
Governmental Tort Claims Act to include a 
public trust and any sole member not-for-
profit corporation of the public trust and any 
sole member not-for-profit subsidiary of 
such corporation. The measure also defines 
“occurrence” to mean a loss arising out of an 
accident or event or a continuous or repeated 
exposure to substantially the same general 
harmful conditions. Political subdivision is 
expanded to include public libraries. The 
measure increases the maximum liability the 
state or its political subdivisions shall be 
subject to from $25,000.00 to $75,000.00 as 
it relates to any claim or to any claimant 
who has more than one claim for loss of 
property arising out of a single act, accident, 
or occurrence. For any number of claims 
arising from loss of property or discomfort 
in nuisance claims arising out of a single act, 
accident, or occurrence, the amount is 
capped at $225,000.00 in counties with a 
population less than 150,000 and 
$275,000.00 in counties with a population 
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greater than 150,000. The maximum amount 
awarded to any claimant for a claim for any 
other loss arising out of a single act, 
accident, or occurrence is increased from 
$125,000.00 to $250,000.00 in counties with 
a population less than 150,000 instead of 
300,000. The amount for awards made to 
individuals in counties with a population 
greater than 150,000 is increased from 
$175,000.00 to $375,000.00. The limits for 
awards relating to state mental health 
hospitals is increased from $200,000.00 to 
$300,000.00. The measure caps aggregate 
awards arising from a single occurrence, act, 
or accident at $2 million. The total liability 
of a public trust hospital and physician for 
the acts of a physician who provides medical 
services on the premises of a public trust 
hospital located in a county with a 
population smaller than 75,000 shall not 
exceed $1 million. The measure provides for 
such limits to liability to be adjusted every 5 
years to reflect the lesser of the percentage 
change in the Consumer Price Index 
published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics 
of the United States Department of Labor 
for such period or 4% in any 5-year period.   
 
HB 1850 (Schreiber/Howard) establishes the 
Oklahoma Uniform Trust Code and is a 
uniform law developed by the Uniform Law 
Commission. The measure is a 
comprehensive codification of the common 
law on trusts and is organized into 11 
sections that address the following subjects: 
judicial proceedings; representation, 
creation, validity, modification and 
termination of a trust; creditor's claims; 
revocable trusts; and trustees and their 
powers, duties and liability.  
 
HB 2081 (Blair/Weaver) creates the 
Uniform Child Abduction Prevention Act. 
The measure allows a court to order 
abduction prevention measures in a child 
custody proceeding on its own motion if the 
court finds evidence that establishes 
abduction as a credible risk. A listed party 

may file a petition seeking abduction 
prevention measures. A district attorney may 
also seek a warrant to take physical custody 
of the child or other appropriate prevention 
measures. A petition may only be filed in a 
court with the jurisdiction to make a child 
custody determination. A petition under this 
act must be verified and include a copy of 
any existing child custody determination. 
The petition should include the elements 
listed in the measure. The measure also 
outlines considerations the court should 
make in determining whether there is a 
credible risk for abduction. If a petition is 
filed under this act, the court may enter an 
order that must include the information 
listed in the measure. If the court finds a 
credible risk of abduction, it must enter an 
abduction prevention order. An abduction 
prevention order is allowed to include one or 
more of the provisions listed in the measure 
and the court may impose conditions on the 
exercise of custody or visitation. In order to 
prevent imminent abduction of a child, a 
court may issue a warrant to take physical 
custody of the child, direct the use of law 
enforcement to take reasonably necessary 
measures, or grant any other relief allowed 
under state law. The measure also allows the 
court to issue an ex parte warrant to take 
physical custody of the child if the petition 
contains allegations and the court finds that 
there is a credible risk that the child is 
imminently likely to be wrongfully 
removed.  
 
HB 2619 (Harris/Howard) creates the 
Foreign Litigation Funding Prevention Act. 
The measure subjects commercial litigation 
funding agreements to discovery upon 
request and provides that information related 
to the funding agreement is not admissible 
as evidence at trial. The disclosure must 
include a certification, by sworn affidavit by 
the producing party, as to whether a foreign 
state or instrumentality of a foreign state is, 
has been, or will be a source of funding for 
the agreement. Consumer litigation funding 
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agreements are exempt from the disclosure 
requirement.  
 
HB 2762 (Trey Caldwell/Woods) creates the 
International Corporation Agent Political 
Activity Oversight Act of 2025. The 
measure prohibits individuals from 
advocating to influence state laws that 
would relate to an international corporation 
they represent or from advocating for 
funding from the state that would benefit the 
international corporation they represent 
unless they have filed with the Office of the 
Secretary of State stating they are an 
international corporation agent and paid the 
$25.00 filing fee. Persons covered under the 
provisions of a national security agreement 
with the Committee on Foreign Investment 
in the United States are exempt from the 
provisions of this measure.  

Public Safety 

 
SB 216 (Bergstrom/Miller) provides that 
any person who has been convicted of an 
offense whose license has expired while in 
the custody of the Department of 
Corrections within the last 3 years shall have 
the expiration date of his or her license 
extended for a period of 6 months after he or 
she is released from custody. Upon release 
from custody, Service Oklahoma shall mail 
a replacement driver license to an address 
provided by the person. The provisions of 
this measure related to provisional licenses 
shall not apply to any person convicted of an 
offense that requires the mandatory 
revocation of his or her driver license. The 
measure also provides that any reinstated 
license that has expired during the period of 
suspension or revocation shall be valid for a 
90-day period after the reinstatement date. 
The Department of Corrections shall provide 
inmates with relevant documentation to 
obtain a provisional license before release 
from custody. 
 

SB 418 (Daniels/Hasenbeck) requires any 
institution run by the Department of 
Corrections or contracted with the 
Department to designate each multi-
occupancy restroom, changing room, and 
sleeping quarters for the exclusive use of 
either females or males. No member of the 
opposite sex shall be allowed into such 
areas. Such institutions may make 
reasonable accommodations for the use of 
such areas by elderly persons in need of aid 
or assistance or disabled persons, establish 
single-occupancy areas, and redesignate 
such rooms to members of the opposite sex. 
Any person who uses such a restroom who 
encounters a member of the opposite sex or 
is forced to share quarters with a member of 
the opposite sex shall have private cause of 
action for declaratory and injunctive relief 
against the Department or contracted entity. 
Such action must be initiated within 2 years 
of the alleged violation.   
 
SB 595 (Weaver/Hardin) creates the 
Oklahoma Jail Standards Act. The measure 
requires all detention facilities and lockup 
facilities to operate in compliance with the 
provisions of the measure. The measure 
directs the State Department of Health to 
inspect all detention facilities instead of city 
and county jails. The measure requires staff 
to be available to perform sensitive 
functions and procedures as necessary to 
accommodate inmate gender as required by 
law. The measure authorizes a facility to 
request a waiver from the provisions of the 
measure if the enforcement would impose 
undue hardship upon the county, 
municipality, or public trust, or upon the 
inmates held at such facility. The measure 
requires each facility to develop policies for 
the uniform admission and release of 
inmates, sensible security measures, 
maintenance of sanitary conditions, 
provision of wholesome and adequate diets, 
and the provision of adequate bedding and 
clothing. Counties are authorized to build 
barrack-style or temporary tent jails. All 



22 
 

employees who work in direct contact with 
inmates shall receive after the first year of 
employment at least 4 hours of review of 
material as required by the State Department 
of Health and at maximum 8 hours of 
detention officer training per year. The 
measure prohibits confining any person 
without 24-hour supervision. The measure 
requires all cells to have at least 40 square 
feet of floor space for the initial inmate and 
at least 20 additional feet of floor space for 
each additional inmate occupying the same 
cell. The measure requires each facility to 
have at least 1 special-purpose cell to 
provide for the temporary detention of 
inmates under the influence of alcohol or 
dangerous substances. The measure 
establishes lighting standards for each cell 
and requires showers to have non-skid 
floors. A county may provide a dormitory-
style detention facility to accommodate up 
to medium-security level inmates. The 
measure requires administrators to develop 
policies and procedures for verifying 
commitment papers, searching inmates, 
inventorying property of inmates, receiving 
medical information, providing first aid at 
certain locations, allowing inmates 2 calls at 
the time of booking, providing clean 
bedding, keeping inmate counts, providing 
separate housing for female and male 
inmates, and providing at least 3 meals per 
day. Administrators must also ensure 
adequate fire safety precautions are taken. 
The measure prohibits detaining a juvenile 
in any holding facility or lockup facility. 
Juvenile inmates must be able to 
communicate with staff members at all 
times. No staff member shall be permitted to 
enter a juvenile inmate living area without 
backup assistance being available from 
another staff member. The State Department 
of Health shall coordinate with the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs to certify detention 
facilities. 
 
SB 599 (Hamilton/Turner) removes the 
requirement that a person must have been 

convicted for a previous offense of forcible 
anal or oral sodomy, rape, or rape by 
instrumentation of a child under 14 to be 
eligible for the death penalty. The measure 
also provides that a person convicted of 
lewd molestation of a child under 12 years 
of age is to be punished by death, a term of 
imprisonment not less than 10 years, life, or 
life without parole.   
 
HB 1003 (Olsen/Hamilton) increases the 
age of consent to 18 years of age. The 
measure provides that no person can be 
convicted of rape or rape by instrumentation 
on account of an act of sexual intercourse 
with anyone 16 years of age or older unless 
such person was more than 4 years older 
than the other person at the time of such act. 
 
HB 1095 (Hildebrant/Gillespie) creates the 
Municipal Carry Act. The measure allows 
the governing body of a municipality or 
town to authorize the concealed carry of 
handguns into any building or office space 
that is owned or leased by a city or town. 
Such authorization shall not extend to any 
courthouse, courtroom, prison, jail, 
detention facility, or any facility used to 
process, hold, or house arrested persons. The 
measure also authorizes municipal judges 
who possess a valid handgun license to carry 
a firearm when acting in the scope of their 
duties. Elected officials of a municipality are 
also authorized to carry firearms into 
buildings or offices owned or leased by the 
municipality.  
 
HB 1364 (Hasenbeck/Alvord) provides 
definitions of "artificial intelligence", 
"artificially generated sexual depiction", 
"generative artificial intelligence", and 
"visual depiction" as used in the Oklahoma 
Law on Obscenity and Child Sexual Abuse 
Material. The measure provides that the use 
of artificially generated sexual depictions of 
another is considered nonconsensual 
dissemination of private sexual images. 
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HB 1886 (May/Gillespie) modifies the 
minimum punishment for human trafficking 
to be not less than 10 years and increases the 
maximum to life without parole. The bill 
requires persons convicted of human 
trafficking to be ordered by the court to pay 
for a psychological evaluation and any 
psychological counseling deemed necessary 
to rehabilitate the victim. The measure 
creates the Human Trafficking Awareness 
and Education Program within the Office of 
the Attorney General as a tool to promote 
and coordinate a public awareness program 
to be used by law enforcement agencies, 
communities, and schools. The measure 
requires human trafficking victims to be 
treated with fairness and respect for the 
safety, dignity, and privacy of the victim; be 
informed of financial assistance and other 
social services; and be informed in writing 
of all constitutional and statutory rights.  
 
HB 2289 (Hilbert/Paxton) creates the 
Oklahoma Elected Official and Judicial 
Security and Privacy Act of 2025. The 
measure adds current elected federal 
officials of this state and any state official 
elected statewide to the list of entities that 
may request state agencies to redact certain 
information from public documents.   
 
HB 2364 (Hill/Daniels) requires the 
Department of Corrections to assist inmates 
in obtaining a REAL ID Noncompliant 
Driver License. If efforts to assist the inmate 
in obtaining a REAL ID Noncompliant 
Driver License fail, the Department of 
Corrections is required to assist the inmate 
in obtaining a REAL ID Noncompliant 
Identification Card.  

Retirement & Insurance 

 
SB 109 (Stanley/Miller) requires any health 
benefit plan including the Oklahoma 
Employees Insurance Plan to provide 
evidence-based cancer imaging for 
individuals with increased cancer risk and 

clinical genetic testing for certain markers 
relating to cancer and. Such coverage shall 
not be subject to annual deductibles, 
copayments, or coinsurance limits. The 
measure provides that if application of these 
requirements would result in health savings 
account ineligibility, the provisions of this 
measure shall only apply to health savings 
accounts with qualified high deductible 
health plans.  
 
SB 176 (Dossett/Roe) requires any health 
benefit plan providing coverage for 
contraceptives to offer enrollees coverage 
for a 3-month supply of a contraceptive drug 
at once the first time the enrollee obtains the 
drug and a 12-month supply of the 
contraceptive drug at once each subsequent 
time that the enrollee obtains the same drug.   
 
SB 438 (Coleman/Sneed) requires each 
health insurance plan, health insurer or its 
contracted vendor, or health maintenance 
organization to notify any health care 
provider of any fees associated with a 
particular payment method and advise the 
provider of available methods of payment if 
the provider initiates or changes payment to 
such entities with a credit card. 
 
SB 1019 (Thompson/Stinson) prohibits any 
insurer from enforcing any policy that 
imposes a time limit on the amount of 
covered anesthesia services or excludes 
coverage or payment of anesthesia time. 
 
SB 1067 (Rosino/Stinson) provides that an 
ambulance service provider operating on 
behalf of a local government entity or the 
entity may annually submit to the Insurance 
Department the ambulance service rates set 
or approved by the entity. The measure 
provides that the minimum rates shall be the 
least of the rate submitted to the Department 
or 325% of the current published rate for 
ambulance services as established by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. The measure requires the 
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Insurance Department to establish and 
maintain a public database listing all 
submitted rates by January 1, 2026. The 
measure also provides that the Department 
will review the data from the database and 
submit a report by January 1, 2027.   

Finance 

 
HB 1183 (Grego/Frix) removes the 
requirement that the taxable value of a 
vehicle, for purposes of levying the motor 
vehicle excise tax, be within 20% of the 
market value of the vehicle. The taxable 
value shall now be based on the actual sales 
price of the vehicle. 
 

HB 2011 (Pae/Frix) creates the Fighting 
Chance for Firefighters Act. The measure 
creates an income tax credit equal to the 
unreimbursed cost incurred by a firefighter 
for the cost of medical procedures to detect 
any form of cancer beginning in tax year 
2026. The individual credit is capped at 
$250.00 and shall not be refundable. The 
credit may be carried forward up to 5 years. 
The measure caps the statewide awards for 
the credit at $1.5 million beginning in tax 
year 2028.  
 
HB 2764 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) provides a 
0.25% cut to the top marginal personal 
income tax rate and restructures the income 
tax brackets. Beginning tax year 2026, the 
top rate will be lowered from 4.75% to 
4.50% and the number of tax brackets will 
be reduced from 6 to 4. The measure also 
establishes a rate reduction trigger 
mechanism to phase out the personal income 
tax by 0.25% increments when revenue 
conditions are met and certified by the State 
Board of Equalization (BOE). To trigger a 
rate reduction, the comparison year total 
collections amount must exceed the base 
year total collections amount plus the 
income tax reduction cost threshold. The 
income tax rate reduction threshold is the 
single tax year fiscal impact of a quarter-

percent tax cut multiplied by 1.25. The 
measure also tasks the BOE with certifying 
the base year total collections, comparison 
year total collections, and the income tax 
reduction cost threshold in order to make a 
yearly determination about the possibility of 
a rate reduction at its annual December 
meeting. When a trigger is met, the rate 
reduction will take effect in 2 tax years. 
Lastly, the measure includes a safeguard 
provision to automatically nullify a rate 
reduction trigger if a revenue failure is 
declared.   
 
HB 2610 (Harris/Rader) increases the tax 
credit for adoption expenses to 15% of 
qualified expenses (attorney fees, court 
costs, medical and other legal expenses, 
adoption study, etc.), up from 10%, and 
increases the individual limit for credit 
allowed to $3,000.00, up from $2,000.00, 
for individual filers and $6,000.00, up from 
$4,000.00, for joint filers. 
 
HB 2781 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) creates the 
Reindustrialize Oklahoma Act of 2025 
(ROA-25) investment rebate program. The 
program will be administered by the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce 
(ODOC), run through July 1, 2045, and 
provide rebate payments to a manufacturing 
establishment that makes a capital 
expenditures investment of at least $2 billion 
in the state and creates 700 or more new 
direct jobs by year one of the rebate period. 
The threshold is increased to 1,000 in the 
2nd year. The qualified establishment must 
also meet the program requirements under 
the Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program, but 
will be barred from receiving Quality Jobs 
rebate payments for any project or 
development that also receives ROA-25 
rebate payments. The State Treasurer is 
directed to purchase a 15-year annuity from 
funds appropriated to the ROA-25 
Revolving Fund upon receiving 
communication from ODOC that a 
satisfactory feasibility study for the project 
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has been completed. The annuity 
distributions would then be transferred to the 
ROA-25 Beneficiary Fund each year to 
provide the ODOC with the money to issue 
rebate payments to the qualifying 
establishment.  

Aeronautics & Transportation 

 
SB 20 (Sacchieri/Wilk) creates the 
Oklahoma Secure Roads and Safe Trucking 
Act of 2025. The measure requires any 
person holding a non-domiciled commercial 
driver license or non-domiciled commercial 
learner's permit to also possess a valid work 
visa and provide proof of citizenship to 
validate his or her identity while operating a 
motor vehicle. Such a person shall present 
his or her birth certificate, naturalization 
certificate, or passport. The measure 
establishes a $3,000.00 fine for failing to 
comply with this requirement. Operators 
who fail to comply with this requirement 
shall also be prohibited from operating a 
commercial motor vehicle within this state 
until such a time that the driver is able to 
meet the identification requirements. Any 
driver who operates a vehicle while subject 
to this prohibition shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and subject to a maximum 
$1,000.00 fine and/or a maximum term of 
imprisonment of 90 days. Any fines 
collected in this manner shall be deposited 
in the Trauma Care Assistance Revolving 
Fund. Commercial motor carriers shall be 
notified of the location of any commercial 
motor vehicle involved in a violation and 
shall take possession of the vehicle. The 
owner of the cargo shall be notified if the 
carrier is unable or unwilling to pay the fine. 
The measure also requires such drivers to be 
proficient in the English language and 
subjects such drivers who fail to meet this 
requirement to a fine of $3,000.00 per 
violation.  
 
SB 912 (Rosino/Archer) adds 2 members to 
the Oklahoma Aerospace and Aeronautics 

Commission, one of whom shall be 
appointed by the President Pro Tempore of 
the Senate and one of whom shall be 
appointed by the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives. The measure also 
redesignates the Commission as the Board 
of Directors of the Oklahoma Space Industry 
Development Authority. All powers and 
responsibilities of the Oklahoma Department 
of Aerospace and Aeronautics shall be 
transferred to the Authority. 
 
HB 2758 (Trey Caldwell/Haste) creates the 
Preserving and Advancing County 
Transportation Fund (PACT Fund) in the 
State Treasury. The measure provides that 
$75 million shall annually be apportioned to 
the fund from the gross production tax 
levied on natural gas or casinghead gas. The 
measure provides that 66% of the 
apportioned funds shall be allocated to the 
various counties to increase their per county 
mile highway construction and maintenance 
ratio to the target of $4,000.00 per county 
road mile, starting with counties with the 
lowest such ratio. If any amount remains of 
such funding after all counties have 
achieved that ratio, half of the remainder 
shall be divided based on the proportion of 
county road miles in the state the county 
bears, and the other half shall be divided 
based on the number of county bridges 
within the county. The measure provides 
that 33% of the money shall be kept in the 
fund, and counties may make application to 
access those funds for specific projects 
involving deficient county bridges. Such 
application must be evaluated by the 
Department of Transportation before any 
money is allocated. 

 

Veterans & Military Affairs 

 
SB 930 (Stanley/Miller) provides that the 
State of Oklahoma shall have concurrent 
jurisdiction with the United States over the 
United States military installation property 
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outlined in this measure as it relates to 
enforcement of juvenile matters. Such 
concurrent jurisdiction shall be in effect 
upon the Governor’s written acceptance of a 
request filed by the principal officer or an 
authorized representative of the United 
States who has supervision or control over 
the property. The measure directs the 
Governor to file certain documents with the 
Secretary of State.  
 
HB 2516 (Hilbert/Gollihare) creates the 
Base Infrastructure Needs and Development 
- Schools Revolving Fund for the Military 
Department of the State of Oklahoma. The 
measure also establishes the Base 
Infrastructure Needs and Development - 
Schools Program to make infrastructure 
improvements to common education 
facilities located on military bases in the 
state.  
 
HB 2518 (Hilbert/Gollihare) creates the 
Base Infrastructure Needs and Development 
-Technology Revolving Fund for the 
Military Department of the State of 
Oklahoma. The measure also establishes the 
Base Infrastructure Needs and Development 
-Technology Program within the 
Department. The program shall make 
infrastructure investments, including the 
purchase of licenses and software associated 
with military simulation training that will 
either decrease the likelihood of military 
infrastructure closure or increase the 
likelihood of expansion.  
 
 

Veto Overrides 

 
SB 54 (Weaver/George) modifies sentencing 
provisions relating to persons convicted of 
driving under the influence of alcohol or 
other intoxicating substances twice within 
10 years. The measure directs the court to 
require such a person to use an ignition 
interlock device for a minimum of 30 days. 

The measure also increases the minimum 
days of use of such a device for persons 
convicted of third and subsequent offences 
from 30 days to 90 days. The measure 
modifies the scope of violations considered 
to be aggravated driving under the influence 
and modifies the sentencing provisions for 
conviction of such offense. 
 
SB 324 (Thompson/Hill) creates the 
Oklahoma Research and Development 
Rebate Fund for the Oklahoma Department 
of Commerce. The Department shall use the 
fund to reimburse qualifying establishments 
for qualified research expenditures. 
Applicants for reimbursement shall provide 
documentation as required by the 
Department to determine that the research 
and development expenditures occurred 
within the state and file all applicable tax 
returns. Claims shall be equal to 5% of 
qualified research expenditures of the 
establishment and shall be paid in the order 
they were received by the Department. Total 
claims shall not exceed $20 million in any 
fiscal year. If the amount is exceeded, 
claims shall be modified on a prorated basis.   
 
SB 424 (Gillespie/Hefner) creates the 
Oklahoma Community Health Worker Act. 
The measure directs the State Department of 
Health to establish a voluntary certificate 
program for community health workers. 
Such workers may serve as a liaison 
between health and social services and the 
community, assist individuals in obtaining 
employment and education, assist in 
identifying gaps in current community and 
health care resources, and build capacity by 
increasing health knowledge and self-
sufficiency. The measure directs such 
workers to emphasize available resources of 
private, nonprofit, or faith-based 
organizations. The State Commissioner of 
Health shall promulgate rules establishing 
standards, criteria, and testing relating to 
such certification. The measure requires any 
person applying for certification to be at 
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least 18 years of age, a United States 
Citizen, a resident of the state, and meet the 
minimum qualifications promulgated by the 
Commissioner. The Commissioner shall also 
implement oversight procedures.   
 
SB 443 (Stanley/Miller) authorizes the State 
Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision 
to hire a secretary and a medical advisor to 
the Board as separate positions; both must 
be licensed physicians. The measure also 
removes a requirement for the Board to 
annually submit an official copy of the 
register. The measure also specifies the 
entities the Board may accept evidence from 
as it relates to accreditation. The measure 
authorizes the Board to obtain a national 
criminal history background check on 
physician applicants for purposes of 
registration for expedited licensure through 
the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact 
and authorizes background checks on 
physician assistant applicants. The measure 
requires an application to pass medical 
licensing examinations consistent with the 
United States Medical Licensing 
Examination policies and procedures 
regarding the number of exam attempts 
unless an exemption is granted. 
 
SB 574 (Haste/Roe) expands the definition 
of “political subdivision” as it relates to 
opioid settlements to include the board of 
regents or board of trustees of a state 
educational institution which is a member of 
The Oklahoma State System of Higher 
Education. The measure caps the amount of 
settlement funds the Attorney General may 
use for statewide opioid abatement projects 
at 10% of the funds appropriated to the 
Oklahoma Opioid Abatement Revolving 
Fund. 
 
SB 631 (Paxton/George) adds the crime of 
discharging a firearm at or into a dwelling or 
building used for public or business 
purposes to the list of 85% crimes.  
 

SB 687 (Hall/Trey Caldwell) provides that 
the Oklahoma Broadband Office (OBO) 
shall approve or disapprove all claims for 
sales tax rebates relating to broadband 
purchases. After approving a rebate, the 
OBO shall notify the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission. The measure caps the total 
amount of rebates that may be claimed at 
$14,071,691.00. The measure also creates 
the Oklahoma Broadband Rebate Revolving 
Fund.  
 
SB 694 (Alvord/Cantrell) provides that 
territory detached from a municipality under 
certain circumstances shall not be detached 
if the territory includes an intervening strip 
less than 4 rods wide, the territory is only 
separated from the municipality by a railway 
right-of-way, the territory is a highway 
right-of-way adjacent to or contiguous with 
a municipality, or the territory includes 
properties that will be split in two. The state, 
county, or any other political subdivision or 
governmental entity which will assume 
responsibility over the proposed detached 
territory may give written consent to the 
detachment. 
 
SB 713 (Jech/Newton) requires the owner or 
operator of a new wind energy facility to 
apply to the Federal Aviation 
Administration (FAA) for installation of a 
light-mitigating technology system that 
complies with FAA regulations. Such 
operators must also apply to Federal 
Communications Commission (FCC) as it 
relates to frequency licensing and antenna 
structure registration. If approved, the owner 
shall install the system within 24 months of 
receipt of approval. Owners of existing 
facilities shall apply to the FAA upon the 
repowering of the wind energy facility or 
entrance into or renewal of a new power 
offtake agreement. The measure authorizes 
counties to issue a bond to pay for all or part 
of the costs. Any costs associated with 
installation, implementation, operation, and 
maintenance shall remain with the operator. 
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SB 770 (Hines/Eaves) increases the 
membership of the Commission for 
Rehabilitation Services from 3 to 7 
members. The measure establishes a 3-year 
term for each member. The measure 
provides that the President Pro Tempore of 
the Senate and the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives shall respectively appoint 1 
of the new members to the Commission and 
the Governor shall appoint 2 of the new 
members.  
 
SB 804 (Pugh/Stinson) directs the State 
Commissioner of Health to promulgate rules 
governing the minimum standards for 
resident care as it relates to the provisions of 
the Continuum of Care and Assisted Living 
Act. Such standards shall address 
medication and administration records, 
medication storage and disposal, and 
medication administration orders. 
Additionally, the Commissioner shall 
promulgate rules providing for execution of 
a plan of care and a resident service contract 
with the resident or resident’s representative. 
The measure requires each center to 
establish an internal quality assurance 
committee that meets at least quarterly. The 
measure specifies that resident rights include 
the freedom of choice regarding personal 
attending and other medical providers 
provided that the minimum standards are 
met by the provider.   
 
SB 837 (Jech/Johns) authorizes Service 
Oklahoma to enter into a licensing 
agreement with the Oklahoma Zoological 
Society for the Oklahoma City Zoo License 
Plate. The licensing agreement shall provide 
for payment to the Oklahoma Zoological 
Society of not more than $20.00 for each 
license plate issued. Further, the measure 
provides that the Greenwood Historical 
District License Plate may be issued as a 
motorcycle license plate. The fee for the 
plate is increased from $25.00 to $27.00 and 
eliminates the $2.00 apportionment to the 

Public School Classroom Support Revolving 
Fund. The measure also repeals language 
providing for the Oklahoma Zoological 
Society Revolving Fund and the 
apportionment of vehicle and registration 
fees to the fund.  
 
SB 870 (Rader/Williams) creates the 
Accountability, Transparency, and 
Protection for Exploited Youth Act. The 
measure requires employees and contractors 
of a state-run juvenile facility, private 
contractor, or group home under the 
supervision of the Office of Juvenile Affairs 
(OJA) to report any form of sexual 
misconduct or exploitation between 
juveniles and staff, volunteers, or 
contractors. The reports shall be filed with 
the facility supervisor and the Office of 
Juvenile Affairs’ for Independent 
Investigation. Individuals who fail to report 
such incidents shall be guilty of a felony and 
subject to a term of imprisonment not to 
exceed 2 years and/or a maximum fine of 
$5,000.00. Such persons, as well as the OJA 
and the contracted entity, shall also be held 
civilly liable. Failure to properly train 
employees shall also subject the OJA and 
the contracted entity to liability. 
Investigation reports shall be forwarded to 
the district attorney in the district where the 
abuse took place. The measure grants certain 
parties access to files and records of cases 
relating to allegations or findings of physical 
or sexual violence against a minor in 
custody. Such access shall be limited to files 
and records directly related to the incident of 
sexual violence. All parties with such access 
shall be bound by confidentiality 
requirements and shall not further disclose 
the records except as necessary for legal 
proceedings or investigations. 
 
SB 951 (Murdock/Archer) directs an 
appraiser selected by the Commissioners of 
the Land Office (CLO) to appraise any 
improvements approved by the CLO for 
leased agricultural property when the 
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improvements cannot be removed without 
injury to the property. The measure states 
that when the CLO enters into a new lease 
for the property, the lease must require the 
new lessee to reimburse the previous lessee 
for the appraised value of improvements. If 
payment is not made, it shall be considered a 
default of the lease. 
 
SB 1014 (Stewart/Kevin West) requires 
political subdivisions awarding construction 
contracts exceeding $100,000.00 or 
construction management trade contracts or 
subcontracts exceeding $50,000.00 to give 
preferences to local bids instead of 
authorizing such preferences.   
 
SB 1050 (Seifried/Newton) modifies the 
time frame in which an insurer or health care 
provider must provide a refund under the 
provisions of the Unfair Claims Settlement 
Practices Act. The period is reduced from 12 
months to 6 months for insurers and from 18 
months to 12 months for providers.  
 
SB 1083 (Weaver/Lepak) prohibits any 
digital asset kiosk operator from engaging in 
digital asset kiosk transactions without a 
license issued by the Banking Department. 
The measure requires such operators to 
submit a quarterly report of the location of 
each digital asset kiosk located within this 
state within 45 days of the end of the 
quarter. The measure requires such operators 
to disclose all relevant terms and conditions 
generally associated with the products, 
services, and activities of the digital asset 
kiosk operator and digital assets. The 
measure requires the operator to provide the 
customer who completes a transaction with a 
receipt in the language chosen by the 
customer containing certain information 
outlined in the measure. The receipt shall be 
a paper receipt when possible. If it is not 
possible, the operator shall post in a 
conspicuous manner information by which a 
customer who has engaged in a digital asset 
kiosk transaction can contact the digital 

asset kiosk operator to obtain a copy of the 
receipt. Any kiosk operator found to be in 
violation of these provisions shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor and subject to a $600.00-
$2,000.00 fine and/or a term of 
imprisonment that shall not be less than 30 
days nor more than 1 year. The measure 
authorizes the Attorney General to seize any 
kiosk used to commit a violation. Any 
customer who has been fraudulently induced 
to engage in digital asset transactions using 
a digital asset kiosk operated in violation of 
this measure may file a civil suit against the 
operator.  
 
SB 1089 (Rosino/Lawson) provides that any 
time period in which a defendant refuses 
prescribed or ordered medication that is 
designed to restore the defendant to 
competency shall not be used in the 
calculation of a reasonable period of time. 
The measure directs the court to hold a 
hearing to determine whether the person has 
been restored to competency within 30 days 
of the expiration of the reasonable period of 
time. The measure directs the Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services to submit a report to the court, the 
person’s attorney, and the prosecuting 
agency detailing the person’s status and 
progress in being restored to competency no 
less than 15 days prior to the hearing. 
Criminal proceedings shall resume if the 
court determines the person has been 
restored to competency. The measure directs 
the court to determine whether additional 
competency restoration services are likely to 
be beneficial in restoring the person to 
competency if it has not determined the 
person has been restored. The measure 
outlines criteria for consideration when 
determining competency. The measure 
directs the Department to continue all 
appropriate efforts to restore the consumer 
to competency after the dismissal of 
criminal charges. The Department shall 
notify the consumer, the attorney of the 
consumer, the agency that prosecuted the 
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dismissed criminal action, and the district 
court that committed the consumer 60 days 
prior to any discharge, leave, granting of 
visiting status, or transfer of the consumer. 
The measure provides that the prosecuting 
agency that prosecuted the consumer may 
file an objection to the consumer’s 
discharge, leave, granting of visiting status, 
or transfer within 30 days of receiving the 
notice. The court shall hold a hearing within 
30 days of receiving the filed objection. The 
consumer shall be entitled to counsel at the 
hearing and in preparation for the hearing. 
Any order relating to granting or denying 
discharge, leave, granting of visiting status, 
or transfer may be appealed by either the 
consumer or the prosecuting agency to the 
Supreme Court.  
 
HB 1137 (Stewart/Weaver) removes the 
requirement that the Oklahoma State Bureau 
of Investigation work to obtain federal 
funding or apply for federal grants relating 
to the Office of Liaison for Missing and 
Murdered Indigenous Persons. 
 
HB 1138 (Ford/Frix) directs the Human 
Capital Management Division and the Civil 
Service Division of the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services to 
receive and act upon complaints from 
disciplinary action and grievances filed by 
state employees employed to perform duties 
relating to peace officers, the Commissioner 
of Public Safety, and the Director of the 
Department of Corrections. The measure 
provides that such employees are permitted 
to proceed to a hearing if mediation is 
unsuccessful. 
 
HB 1178 (Stark/Bullard) provides that any 
person that does not have a disability or is 
not training to assist individuals with 
disabilities who uses a service animal to 
gain treatment or benefits shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor. No person shall knowingly 
present any animal or therapy animal as a 
service animal to acquire any of the rights 

and privileges set forth for people with 
disabilities. Anyone who violates this 
provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 
HB 1216 (Kevin West/Alvord) requires all 
fines for any subsequent violation of 
Construction Industries Board regulations to 
be 5 times the amount of the initial offense. 
The Board may begin the fine collection 
process 90 days after a case is resolved. 
 
HB 1273 (Hasenbeck/Reinhardt) requires 
any person convicted of domestic abuse in 
the presence of a child or convicted of a 
second assault and battery against a current 
or former intimate partner or a family or 
household member to attend a 52-week 
batterers’ intervention program or a pilot 
batterers’ intervention program if the 
sentence is deferred or suspended. The 
measure authorizes the Attorney General to 
certify 2 pilot batterers’ intervention 
programs located in Oklahoma and Tulsa 
Counties in order to evaluate the 
effectiveness of such programs. The 
programs shall not exceed 36 months. Such 
programs may be authorized beginning 
February 1, 2026. Proposals for certification 
as a pilot batterers’ intervention program 
may be approved only if made by an 
organization that was dually certified as a 
batterers’ intervention program and a 
domestic violence and sexual assault 
program on or before January 1, 2025, or by 
an organization certified as a batterers’ 
intervention program on or before January 1, 
2025. Rules promulgated by the Attorney 
General for such programs shall be 
promulgated in consultation with domestic 
violence and batterers’ intervention 
programs or advocacy organizations. 
Participants in the programs shall be subject 
to a validated risk assessment conducted by 
a qualified professional. The Attorney 
General may provide by rule for extension 
of no more than 24 months beyond 36 
months of a pilot batterers’ intervention 
program if recommended by the third-party 
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evaluator. The measure outlines the 
minimum required content for such 
programs.  
 
HB 1356 (Hardin/Woods) requires any 
individual entering through gates used for 
ingress or egress to a property designated as 
an easement to maintain the position of the 
gate upon use. Any person found to violate 
this requirement shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine 
of $500.00 and/or imprisonment in the 
county jail for no more than 90 days. The 
maximum fine and maximum term of 
imprisonment is doubled for a second 
offense. The maximum fine is increased to 
$1,500.00 and the maximum term of 
imprisonment is increased to 1 year for third 
and subsequent offenses.  
 
HB 1389 (Provenzano/Stanley) broadens 
"diagnostic examination for breast cancer" 
to include contrast-enhanced mammogram 
and molecular breast imaging. The measure 
also adds a definition of supplemental 
examination as related to an examination of 
the breast that is used to screen for breast 
cancer where there is no abnormality seen or 
suspected and the cause for examination is 
based on personal or family medical history 
or additional factors. The measure also 
requires all health benefit plans to include 
coverage for supplemental examinations for 
breast cancer.  
 
HB 1487 (Johns/Frix) creates the Tulsa Air 
and Space Museum and Planetarium License 
Plate, the Church Studio License Plate, the 
Star Spencer High School License Plate, and 
the Ralph Ellison Foundation License Plate. 
 
HB 1543 (Patzkowsky/Woods) allows the 
Oklahoma Conservation Commission to 
enter into contracts with conservation 
district directors to fulfill its duties. The 
measure updates language to clarify that the 
Commission can work with tribes. Lastly, 
the measure removes the ability of the 

Commission to maintain a Conservation 
District Consolidation Fund.  
 
HB 1563 (Duel/Howard) modifies the 
requirements for the issuance of a subpoena 
duces tecum. The measure provides that a 
subpoena duces tecum may be issued by a 
defendant to a business or commercial entity 
for production of books, papers, documents, 
or recordings to be provided to the 
defendant at a time and place certain. The 
court clerk shall issue a subpoena duces 
tecum signed and sealed, but otherwise 
blank, to a party requesting it, who shall 
complete the subpoena before service. 
Attorneys may also issue and sign a 
subpoena duces tecum on behalf of a court. 
A subpoena authorized in this manner shall 
not to be construed to allow a defendant to 
access information or recordings related to 
interviews of victims. The measure outlines 
the discovery of law enforcement records by 
the prosecuting agency. The measure 
requires law enforcement to provide 
information within 30 days if certain records 
exist. The prosecution shall make the 
records available to the defendant within 90 
days of the filing of information. The 
measure outlines the type of information that 
may be redacted. 
 
HB 1576 (Lawson/Hicks) provides that the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority must 
include coverage of rapid whole genome 
sequencing as a separately payable service 
for Medicaid beneficiaries when the criteria 
listed in the measure are met. The coverage 
provided may be subject to applicable 
evidence-based medical necessity criteria. 
The measure clarifies that it does not 
prohibit the Chief Operating Officer of the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority from 
adding additional conditions or providing 
coverage in addition to that covered in the 
measure. Genetic data generated as a result 
of rapid whole genome sequencing must 
have a primary use of assisting in 
diagnosing and treating the patient and will 
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be subject to all requirements afforded 
protected health information. The genetic 
data generated can be used in scientific 
research if consent is expressly given and 
permission can be rescinded at any time. 
The patient or the patient’s legal guardian 
may request access to testing results. The 
Chief Operating Officer of the Oklahoma 
Health Care Authority must take any 
necessary actions to implement the 
provisions of the measure.  
 
HB 1592 (George/Weaver) defines 
organized retail crime when 2 or more of the 
circumstances outlined in the measure occur. 
Such circumstances include:  
1) The property taken is intended for resale;   
2) Such property is taken by two or more 
persons acting jointly;   
3) The persons taking the property do so 
while possessing tools of theft including, but 
not limited to, tag cutters, foil-lined bags, 
weapons, or other means of evading 
detection;   
4) The persons taking the property attempt 
to exit through fire escapes, employee exits, 
or other non-public means of entry or exit;   
5) The persons taking such property remove, 
destroy, deactivate, or knowingly evade any 
component of an anti-shoplifting or 
inventory control device to prevent the 
activation of that device or to facilitate 
another person in committing retail crime;   
6) A person receives, purchases, or 
possesses retail merchandise for sale or 
resale knowing or believing the retail 
merchandise was stolen from a retail 
merchant;   
7) The persons use a getaway driver or the 
motor vehicle of another person or a rented 
or stolen motor vehicle when committing 
retail crime; or  
8) The persons use a paper, fraudulent, 
altered, or obstructed license plate, use a 
license plate meant for a different vehicle, or 
do not have any license plate.  
The measure provides that a person 
convicted of such a crime shall be subject to 

a term of imprisonment not to exceed 5 
years in the Department of Corrections or 1 
year in the county jail and/or a maximum 
fine of $1,000.00 if the total amount of 
stolen goods does not exceed $15,000.00. 
The maximum term of imprisonment is 
increased to 8 years if the total amount of 
goods stolen exceeds $15,000.00. The 
measure also authorizes the Office of the 
Attorney General to employ persons to serve 
as Oklahoma Organized Retail Crime Task 
Force officers.  
 
HB 1751 (Kerbs/Hall) makes numerous 
administrative changes at Service 
Oklahoma. The measure requires all notices 
to be given by first class mail. Persons 
holding both an Oklahoma driver license 
and identification card must relinquish one 
at the first expiration of either credential. 
The measure allows an emblem to be placed 
on the license indicating the holder is a 
100% disabled veteran. The measure 
clarifies hearing proceedings for revocations 
and provides that Service Oklahoma shall 
take no action on a sworn report of a law 
enforcement officer not received by Service 
Oklahoma after the expiration of 180 days 
of the arrest of the person. The measure 
provides that information on applications for 
disabled placards is confidential. The 
measure authorizes Service Oklahoma to 
purchase vehicles and clarifies the collection 
of blood or breath evidence. The measure 
allows for the revocation of certificates of 
title or registration under certain 
circumstances and authorizes licensed 
operators to retain $3.56 for the annual 
renewal of each frac tank, piece of 
construction machinery, rental trailer, 
commercial trailer, or semitrailer registered. 
 
HB 1819 (Worthen/Jech) increases the cap 
on the yearly optometry license fee set by 
the Board of Examiners in Optometry from 
$300.00 to $500.00. 
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HB 2048 (Stinson/Howard) creates the 
"340B Nondiscrimination Act," which 
provides that a health insurance issuer, 
pharmacy benefits manager, other third-
party payor, or its agent must not reimburse 
a 340B entity for 340B drugs at a rate lower 
than that paid to non-340B entities for the 
same drug or give a lower reimbursement on 
the basis that it is a such a drug. The 
measure also prohibits imposing any terms 
or conditions on any 340B entity that differ 
from those imposed on non-340B entities on 
the basis that the entity participates in the 
federal 340B drug discount program. The 
measure prohibits requiring a 340B entity to 
reverse, resubmit, or clarify a claim after the 
initial adjudication unless these are in the 
course of normal pharmacy business. The 
measure prohibits discriminating against a 
340B entity in a manner that prevents or 
interferes with a patient's choice to receive 
such drugs from a 340B entity, including 
adding any other provisions in a contract. 
The measure also prohibits requiring or 
compelling the submission of ingredient 
costs or pricing data pertaining to 340B 
drugs and prohibits excluding any 340B 
entity or refusing to contract with them for 
reasons other than those that apply equally 
to non-340B entities. A manufacturer must 
not also deny, restrict, or otherwise interfere 
with the acquisition or delivery of 340B 
drugs unless such receipt is prohibited by 
the United State Department of Health and 
Human Services. They must not also 
interfere with a pharmacy contracted with a 
340B entity. The pharmacy benefits 
manager or an agent thereof cannot require a 
billing modifier for 340B pricing claim 
unless it is being billed to the Oklahoma 
Medicaid Program and they cannot modify a 
patient copayment on the basis that the 
provider participates in 340B drug pricing. 
The measure also amends other prohibitions 
for pharmacy benefits managers fitting 
within the provisions of this measure. The 
Attorney General may make promulgate  
rules interpreting the provisions of this act 

and will be responsible for this act. The 
Attorney General may impose civil fines of 
between $100.00 and $10,000.00 for each 
violation of the provisions of the act.  
 
HB 2131 (Kannady/Howard) modifies 
procedures for advising grand juries. The 
measure provides that a transcript of the 
testimony shall be made available to the 
attorney for the accused, the district 
attorney, assistant district attorney, Attorney 
General, or the Assistant Attorney General 
upon request. Any person who obtains a 
copy of a grand jury transcript is prohibited 
from disclosing its contents. Transcripts are 
prohibited from being used for any purpose 
other than in proceedings related to the 
grand jury testimony, civil asset forfeiture 
proceedings, or an accusation for removal of 
a public official from the grand jury, without 
good cause supported by clear and 
convincing evidence. The pleadings relating 
to a request for grand jury transcripts are to 
be sealed and any hearing held pursuant to a 
request for grand jury transcripts is to be 
closed to the public unless the presiding 
judge finds that the public interest in 
unsealing the pleadings or opening the 
hearing to the public outweighs the public 
interest. 
 
HB 2147 (Lay/Stanley) creates the 
Municipal Code Lien Enforcement Act of 
2025 and allows any fees, penalties, and 
abatement costs imposed against a property 
for violations of a municipality’s housing 
and building codes to be enforced as a lien 
as long as those fees, penalties, or abatement 
costs equal or exceed $1,500.00. The 
measure provides that a municipal code lien 
is superior to all other liens except those for 
taxes. Owner-occupied property is exempt 
from this measure. Municipalities are 
required to enact an ordinance or resolution 
approving the use of the provisions of this 
act before proceeding with a judicial 
foreclosure on a property with a municipal 
lien. Such ordinances or resolutions must 
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include certain information as outlined in the 
measure. After a municipal code lien is filed 
with the county clerk, the code enforcement 
director is to identify the properties on 
which to begin a foreclosure. The code 
enforcement director shall wait 6 months 
from the date the municipal lien is recorded 
before filing a petition for foreclosure. The 
petition must include certain information 
and to be mailed to all interested parties.  
 
HB 2163 (Pfeiffer/Howard) creates the 
position of Public Access Counselor within 
the Office of the Attorney General. The 
measure allows a person whose request to 
inspect or copy a public record is denied by 
a public body to file a request for review 
with the Public Access Counselor within 30 
days of the denial. The request for review 
must be in writing and contain a copy of the 
request for records and any responses from 
the public body. The measure prohibits a 
person requesting to inspect a public record 
made for a commercial purpose from filing a 
request for review by the Public Access 
Counselor. The Public Access Counselor 
may determine if the denial of the request 
for review made by the public body is a 
violation. The Public Access Counselor is to 
forward a copy of the request to the public 
body within 7 business days and specify the 
records or documents that the public body is 
to furnish to facilitate the review. The public 
body is to respond to the Public Access 
Counselor. The Attorney General is to 
examine the request and response and issue 
to the public body an advisement in 
response to the request for review within 60 
days after its receipt. Upon receipt of the 
advisement, the public body must take 
necessary action to promptly and reasonably 
comply with the Oklahoma Open Records 
Act or respond to the requester. The 
Attorney General may also issue advisory 
opinions to advise public bodies regarding 
compliance. A public body that relies in 
good faith on the advice of the Attorney 
General is not liable for penalties. The 

measure authorizes the Attorney General to 
investigate and prosecute any civil or 
criminal action relating to violations of the 
Oklahoma Open Records Act if the Attorney 
General determines that a civil or criminal 
prosecution is warranted, or to defer such 
matters to a district attorney. 
 
HB 2164 (Pfeiffer/Haste) increases the 
penalty for a person convicted of voluntarily 
becoming interested in an individual sale of 
property when such person is a public 
officer authorized to sell or lease any 
property, or make, approve, negotiate, or 
authorize any contract in his or her official 
capacity. The penalty is increased from a 
misdemeanor to a felony and prohibits such 
individual from holding public office. Such 
individual shall be subject to removal from 
office. The measure provides that an officer, 
employee, or contractor of a state agency 
who obtains nonpublic information by virtue 
of his or her government employment who 
uses the information for personal gain or 
benefit, and/or the personal gain or benefit 
of his or her immediate family, shall be 
guilty of a felony, punishable by a term of 
imprisonment of up to 5 years and/or a 
maximum fine of $10,000.00. Such 
individual shall be subject to removal from 
office as well. The measure provides that 
any agreement or collusion among bidders 
to bid at a fixed price or to refrain from 
bidding will render the bids of such bidders 
void and establishes a felony for willful 
violations. The measure provides that the 
disclosure of an employee of a public 
agency of the terms of a bid submitted in 
response to a bid notice in advance of the 
time set for opening of the bid is a felony. 
The measure requires bidders to provide 
business or familial relationship information 
between any officer or director of the 
bidding company and any officer or 
employee of the state agency receiving the 
bid. The measure voids sole-source or 
professional services contracts, transactions, 
and agreements entered into with persons 
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who have been terminated from state 
employment. Every person elected or 
appointed as chief executive officer or head 
of a state agency, board, bureau, trust, 
commission, council, department, system, or 
authority shall be required within 1 year 
after taking the oath of office to attend a 
course directed by the Ethics Commission 
beginning January 1, 2027.  
 
HB 2167 (Pfeiffer/Coleman) increases the 
fees that a newspaper can charge for 
publishing legal notices. The per word fee is 
increased from $0.15 to $0.22. For 
subsequent insertions, the fee is increased 
from $0.14 to $0.20 per word. The measure 
prohibits any attempt to eliminate spaces 
between words or numeric descriptions. For 
all tabular matters, the per line fee is 
increased from $0.70 to $1.10 for the first 
insertion and from $0.65 to $1.00 for 
subsequent insertions. If the total calculated 
cost of words and lines is less than $25.00, 
then the notice charge will be rounded up to 
a flat $25.00. Newspapers are also 
authorized to charge a notary fee for 
providing affidavits or proof of publication. 
The measure also requires newspapers to 
post the notice on their websites and upload 
notices to a statewide database of public 
notices. Failure to post a notice online due to 
a temporary outage or service interruption 
shall be considered a harmless error and the 
notice requirement is considered met as long 
as the notice has been published in the 
printed version of a newspaper. A 
newspaper may set the deadline to request a 
notice publication, but it cannot be more 
than 5 business days prior to the date of 
publication. If a newspaper fails to publish 
the notice in the correct print version, the 
newspaper must post the first insertion of 
the notice in a future issue at no charge.  
 
HB 2260 (Miller/Haste) establishes 3 tax 
credits for civil engineers and their 
employers beginning in tax year 2026. 
Qualified engineering businesses that 

employ a civil engineer shall receive a tax 
credit equal to 5% of the compensation paid 
to an engineer until January 1, 2031, or 10% 
if the engineer graduated from an Oklahoma 
college or university. The credit is capped at 
$12,500.00 per employee, per year, and may 
claimed for up to 5 years. An employer can 
also claim another tax credit for up to 50% 
of the tuition reimbursed to an employee for 
up to 4 years of employment until January 1, 
2031. Additionally, hired engineers shall be 
eligible for a tax credit of $5,000.00 per 
year, for up to 5 years until January 1, 2031.  
 
HB 2263 (Miller/Gollihare) prohibits the 
operator of a motor vehicle from using or 
holding a handheld electronic device or cell 
phone in a school zone or work zone. Such 
persons shall be subject to a maximum fine 
of $100.00. Municipalities are authorized to 
enact ordinances relating to this conduct. 
The Department of Public Safety may not 
assess points for violation and law 
enforcement is prohibited from confiscating 
or extracting information from the cellular 
device without consent. 
 
HB 2298 (Hilbert/Paxton) authorizes a 
Certified Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse 
Specialist, or Certified Nurse-Midwife who 
has completed a minimum of 6,240 clinical 
practice hours with prescriptive authority 
supervised by a physician to apply to the 
Oklahoma Board of Nursing for authority to 
prescribe and order independent of 
supervision. Such an application shall 
contain the proof of the completed hours as 
well as proof of licensure. Authority to 
prescribe shall be valid until the expiration 
of the current license to practice and may be 
renewed upon application to the Board at the 
same time and for the same period as the 
renewal of the license to practice. The Board 
may suspend or revoke independent 
prescriptive authority. Such persons shall be 
required to carry malpractice insurance or 
demonstrate proof of financial responsibility 
in a minimum amount of $1 million per 
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occurrence and $3 million in the aggregate 
per year. The Board shall also promulgate 
rules relating to advertising services by such 
persons. The measure also requires 
supervising physicians to be trained and 
fully qualified in the field of the Advanced 
Practice Registered Nurse’s specialty and to 
enter into a written agreement with such 
persons. A supervising physician is 
authorized to charge a reasonable fee for his 
or her supervision services. The supervising 
physician shall report to his or her respective 
board. The State Board of Medical 
Licensure and Supervision and the State 
Board of Osteopathic Examiners shall not 
charge any fees to supervising physicians or 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses. 
 
HB 2374 (Hill/Thompson) amends 
numerous provisions of the Filmed in 
Oklahoma Act of 2021 by modifying the 
definition of production cost to include 
wages or salaries paid to career tech 
students. The measure adds animation, 
commercials, documentaries, feature films, 
game shows, pilots, reality television, 
scripted television, and talk shows to the 
definition of film. The measure adds a 
definition for live audience episodic 
television and loan-out corporation and 
requires loan-out company employees to pay 
state income tax on services performed in 
Oklahoma. The measure clarifies that the 
apprentice requirements are based on the 
amount of Oklahoma expenditures and 
requires the program to designate 
$35,000.00 from the top tier to pay for an 
economic impact review of the program.   
 
HB 2459 (Fetgatter/Green) requires all 
mobile food reparation vehicles that are 
capable of producing smoke or grease-laden 
vapors to be in compliance with the most 
current adopted fire code. This requirement 
shall extend to vehicles utilizing electric 
energy, liquefied petroleum gas, compressed 
natural gas, or a combination thereof for 
cooking. All mobile food preparation 

vehicles utilizing any liquefied petroleum 
gas system, equipment, container, apparatus, 
or appliance shall receive and maintain a 
permit from the Oklahoma Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Administration in 
conjunction with the State Fire Marshal. 
Beginning January 1, 2026, the specific 
provisions outlined in the measure shall 
expire and such operators shall comply with 
the most current adopted fire code. Mobile 
food preparation vehicles shall be under the 
jurisdiction of the State Fire Marshal, who 
shall conduct inspections based on the 4 
quadrants of the state. Such inspections shall 
be conducted twice a year in counties with a 
population exceeding 400,000 people. The 
State Fire Marshal shall also issue an 
operational permit decal indicating that the 
vehicle meets the minimum fire and life 
code requirements.  
 
HB 2584 (Hilbert/Paxton) authorizes 
physician assistants (PAs) with at least 
6,240 hours of postgraduate clinical 
experience to practice independently of 
physician supervision. The State Board of 
Medical Licensure and Supervision must 
maintain a public list of such PAs and 
provide a form for reporting hours, which 
can be submitted electronically at no cost. 
PAs practicing independently must be 
covered by malpractice insurance. A PA 
may still choose to have a practice 
agreement with a physician. The measure 
specifies that the Board retains the authority 
to impose supervision as a disciplinary 
measure. PAs practicing independently may 
prescribe supplies, services, and drugs, 
including Schedule III–V controlled 
substances. PAs practicing under a practice 
agreement may additionally prescribe 
Schedule II drugs with written protocol 
determined by the delegating physician. The 
measure also expands the Physician 
Assistant Committee from 7 to 9 members. 
The measure also repeals the section of law 
prohibiting any PA from providing services 
without physician supervision. 
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HB 2769 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) amends 
numerous provisions related to the powers, 
duties, qualifications, pay, and retirement 
benefits of the Adjutant General. To become 
the Adjutant General, the appointee must be 
a higher ranking Oklahoma National Guard 
(ONG) member with at least eight years of 
service. The Adjutant General will also 
receive the same pay and retirement benefits 
as a Major General regardless if they had 
been federally recognized at this rank. The 
measure also grants the Adjutant General the 
authority to arm members of the state 
military forces on military installations and 
other places under control of the Oklahoma 
Military Department (OMD) with weaponry. 
The measure authorizes the Adjutant 
General to oversee all fire and police units 
within the OMD and to accept donations to 
create a scholarship program for ONG 
members. The Adjutant General may 
exempt the OMD from all state information 
technology division requirements. The 
measure also requires full-time state 
employees that serve in a military capacity 
to receive the same compensation and 
benefits received by a full-time active duty 
service member at the same rank and pay 
and removes a prohibition on state-provided 
compensation or allowances to ONG 
members outside of state active duty pay. 
The measure also amends numerous 
provisions of the Oklahoma Uniform Code 
of Military Justice by requiring a member to 
provide a response within 45 calendar days 
after notification of a pending judicial 
punishment. The measure provides that no 
member of the ONG shall be reduced in 
rank except when the rank reduction results 
from nonjudicial punishment. The measure 
specifies that no federal officials can 
convene a court-martial proceeding under 
the Oklahoma Military Code unless prior 
consent has been granted by the Governor. 
The measure authorizes the Governor the 
ability to reappoint a former officer that had 
been dismissed as well as requires the 

Governor or Adjutant General to prescribe 
regulations governing eligibility for pay and 
allowances for the period after the date on 
which an executed part of a court-martial 
sentence is set aside. The measure adds 
forgery as a crime punishable by court-
martial. The measure provides that it shall 
be unlawful for any member of the state 
military forces to knowingly use or ingest 
marijuana products. The measure adds 
domestic violence against a spouse, intimate 
partner, or an immediate family member of 
that person as crimes punishable by court-
martial. The measure requires the articles of 
the Code to be explained to each officer and 
enlisted member within 90 days of re-
enlistment and aligns the Oklahoma State 
Manual for Courts-Martial with the federal 
version. The measure also creates the ONG 
Supplemental Retirement Pay Revolving 
Fund. The fund may be used beginning 
November 1, 2027, and will provide 
payments to eligible ONG members when 
they are eligible for retirement benefits from 
the Defense Finance Accounting Service 
and end when federal retirement benefits 
commence. The measure also creates the 
Oklahoma National Guard Career 
Assistance Program to provide financial 
assistance to ONG members that enroll in a 
technology center school. Subject to the 
availability of funds, a member may qualify 
for full tuition assistance for up to three 
years with conditions for repayment if the 
member fails to maintain satisfactory 
participation in the ONG. An eligible 
member may also elect to transfer his or her 
education assistance benefits to a dependent 
with permission from the Adjutant General. 
The measure names the co-located readiness 
and joint operating center facilities 
constructed for the OMD the "Benjamin T. 
Walkingstick National Guard Complex.” 
 
HB 2778 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) creates the 
Teacher Recruitment and Retention Program 
to expand access to the Child Care Subsidy 
Program for employees of child care 
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facilities. The program will sunset on 
November 1, 2028, and will be administered 
by the Oklahoma Partnership for School 
Readiness. To qualify for the program, the 
employee's total annual gross household 
income for a two-parent household must not 
exceed $120,000.00 or $60,000.00 for a 
single-parent household. Qualified 
employees that meet the household income 
limits will have their household income 
exempt from consideration for calculating 
cost-sharing or co-payment responsibilities 
under the Child Care Subsidy Program. If a 
child care facility employee qualifies for the 
Child Care Subsidy Program under normal 
program requirements, then he or she will be 
entitled to a full co-payment waiver. To 
track eligibility, child care facility providers 
are required to provide written notice to the 
Department of Human Services when an 
employee is no longer employed as a child 
care facility worker.  
 
HB 2785 (Trey Caldwell/Hall) establishes 
budget review responsibilities and reporting 
requirements for the Director of the Office 
of Management and Enterprise Services 
(OMES) as it relates to the Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services (ODMHSAS). The measure directs 
OMES to conduct a budget review prior to 
releasing the agency's monthly 
appropriations disbursement, review 
encumbrances for any multi-year purchase 
orders or contracts, prohibit the processing 
of payments for non-budgeted expenditures 
at ODMHSAS, and submit a budget status 
report to the Governor and Legislature. 
ODMHSAS is prohibited from entering into 
contracts that do not clearly state a 
maximum fiscal obligation.  
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