# **Senate Journal**

# Second Regular Session of the Fifty-ninth Legislature of the State of Oklahoma Fifty-fourth Legislative Day, Thursday, May 9, 2024

The Senate was called to order by Senator Bullard.

Roll Call:

Present: Alvord, Bergstrom, Boren, Brooks, Bullard, Burns, Coleman, Dahm, Daniels, Deevers, Dossett, Dugger, Floyd, Garvin, Gollihare, Green, Hall, Hamilton, Haste, Hicks, Howard, Jech, Jett, Kidd, Kirt, Matthews, McCortney, Murdock, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Prieto, Pugh, Rader, Rogers, Rosino, Seifried, Standridge, Stanley, Stephens, Stewart, Thompson (Kristen), Treat, Weaver and Young.—46.

Excused: Thompson (Roger) and Woods.--2.

Senator Bullard declared a quorum present.

The prayer was offered by Senator Darcy Jech.

#### Senator Jech presiding.

#### **INTRODUCTIONS**

Senator Standridge introduced his wife and their children, Lisa, Holly, Harper, and Harrison, and his mother, Margaret Standridge, and his sister and brother-in-law, Lori and Vernon Zitterkob; and Senator Matthews introduced his son and daughter-in-law, Kevin and Jessica Matthews II, and their children, Carver and Kevin Matthews III, and his son and significant other, Sterling Matthews and Ebony Easily, to the Senate.

#### Senator Bullard presiding.

#### UNANIMOUS CONSENT REQUEST DIRECT TO CALENDAR

Senator Howard asked unanimous consent to refer **HCR 1014** direct to the Calendar for consideration, which was the order.

## **GENERAL ORDER**

HCR 1014 by Kendrix of the House and Howard of the Senate was called up for consideration.

**HCR 1014** was adopted upon motion of Senator Howard and properly signed and ordered returned to the Honorable House.

# **EXECUTIVE NOMINATION**

The following executive nomination has been approved by the committee named:

Vest, Annaelise M., Owasso, as Director of the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, succeeding Mark Gower. (General Government Committee) Motion to confirm made by Senator Dana Prieto.

Motion to confirm the above named executive nomination was declared adopted upon roll call as follows:

Aye: Alvord, Bergstrom, Boren, Bullard, Burns, Coleman, Dahm, Daniels, Deevers, Dossett, Dugger, Floyd, Garvin, Gollihare, Green, Hall, Hamilton, Haste, Hicks, Howard, Jech, Jett, Kidd, Kirt, Matthews, McCortney, Murdock, Pederson, Pemberton, Prieto, Pugh, Rader, Rogers, Seifried, Standridge, Stanley, Stephens, Stewart, Thompson (Kristen), Treat, Weaver and Young.--42.

Excused: Brooks, Newhouse, Paxton, Rosino, Thompson (Roger) and Woods.--6.

### **MESSAGES FROM THE HOUSE**

Advising concurrence in SAs to and passage of Engrossed HBs 1547, 2995, 3035, 3039, 3190, 3274, 3278, 3304, 3467, 3567, 3595, 3668 and 4066.

Advising fourth reading of and transmitting for signature Enrolled **HBs 2528, 3376, 4012** and **4072**.

The above-numbered enrolled measures were, after fourth reading, properly signed and ordered returned to the Honorable House.

#### **EXECUTIVE NOMINATIONS**

The following executive nominations were read and referred to the committee indicated:

Burba, Matthew R., Davis, as a member of the Oklahoma Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board - Energy and Telecommunications

Hanvey, Christina L., Westville, as a member of the State Textbook Committee - Education

Howard, Joshua L., Woodward, as a member of the Oklahoma Lottery Commission -Board of Trustees - Education

Senator McCortney moved that when the clerk's desk is clear, the Senate stand adjourned to convene Monday, May 13, 2024, at 1:30 p.m., which motion prevailed.

#### **SCs NAMED**

Upon motion of Senator McCortney, Senate conferees were appointed as follows:

SB 261 – Howard, Gollihare, Thompson (Kristen), Rader, Jech, Floyd
SB 1272 – McCortney, Pemberton, Jett, Coleman, Dugger, Garvin, Matthews
SB 1391 – Rogers, Paxton, Green, Woods, Kidd, Dossett
SB 1399 – Hall, Garvin, Stewart, Pugh, Seifried, McCortney, Dossett
SB 1407 – Thompson (Roger), Jech, Coleman, Dahm, Gollihare, Brooks
SB 1417 – Thompson (Roger), Rosino, Haste, Stanley, Pemberton, Hicks
SB 1424 – Howard, Kidd, Hall, Green, Hamilton, Jech, Young
SB 1433 – Thompson (Roger), Garvin, Stewart, Seifried, Hamilton, Floyd
SB 1675 – McCortney, Rosino, Haste, Daniels, Pugh, Hicks
HB 1792 – Rader, Howard, Gollihare, Weaver, Daniels, Floyd

# PENDING SENATE ACTION HOUSE REQUEST FOR CONFERENCE

Upon motion of Senator McCortney, the request of the Honorable House for conference on the following bills was ordered granted and Senate conferees appointed as follows:

HB 1105 – Daniels, Garvin, Stewart, Bergstrom, Hamilton, Young
HB 1181 – Dahm, Pugh, Seifried, Deevers, Pemberton, Hicks
HB 2197 – Paxton, Green, Bullard, Newhouse, Rader, Boren
HB 2305 – Rader, Paxton, Green, Howard, Jett, Boren
HB 3288 – Rogers, Paxton, Green, Woods, Kidd, Dossett
HB 3854 – Bergstrom, Rader, Howard, Hall, Rosino, Hicks
HB 3962 – Pugh, Howard, Gollihare, Standridge, Weaver, Floyd
HB 3972 – Thompson (Roger), Bullard, Pederson, Garvin, Gollihare, Dossett
HB 4013 – Hall, Rader, Howard, Pugh, Seifried, McCortney, Dossett
HB 4019 – Alvord, Rader, Howard, Daniels, Rosino, Kirt

# PENDING SENATE ACTION HOUSE REQUEST FOR CONFERENCE

Upon motion of Senator McCortney, the request of the Honorable House for further conference was ordered granted and change Senate conferees as follows:

HB 1599 – Remove McCortney and add Garvin and retain Paxton, Daniels, Howard and Floyd

# **CHANGE IN AUTHORS/COAUTHORS**

The following measures were authored/coauthored:

SB 426 - Coauthored by Senator Standridge
SB 1424 - Remove as principal author Representative Hardin and substitute with Representative Pfeiffer
HB 1277 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley

HB 2320 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley HB 2950 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley HB 2966 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley HB 3717 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley HB 3992 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley HB 4017 - Coauthored by Representative Wolfley

Pursuant to the McCortney motion, the Senate adjourned at 11:35 a.m. to meet Monday, May 13, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.