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Overview 

 

The Oklahoma State Senate convened the 1st 

Session of the 59th Legislature on January 3, 

2023, to swear in the newly elected Senators 

Alvord, Gollihare, Green, Prieto, Seifried, 

Stewart, K. Thompson, and Woods as well 

as reelect Senator Treat as the President Pro 

Tempore for the 5th consecutive term. 

Additionally, members voted on committee 

membership and elected Senate leadership.  

 

The 59th Legislature convened again on 

February 6 to consider issues relating to 

education funding, disbursement of monies 

from the American Rescue Plan, tightening 

regulations on medical marijuana, and 

promoting economic development. 

Additionally, Senate leadership advanced a 

more measured proposal for tax cuts, 

arguing that deep cuts could leave the state 

susceptible to future revenue failures.  

 

Regarding education, the Senate proposed a 

series of reforms and funding increases to 

provide parents with more flexibility as it 

relates to school choice as well as attract 

teachers to the state. After extensive 

negotiations with the House and Governor, 

both chambers and the executive branch 

reached a compromise implementing most 

of the Senate’s proposed reforms.  

 

Medical marijuana regulations pertaining to 

taxes and licensure were tightened over the 

course of the session. More specifically, the 
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Legislature enacted measures focused on 

increasing tax compliance for processors, 

dispensers, and growers as well as 

establishing more requirements for licensure 

for growers. 

 

The Senate and House also authored 

measures to entice businesses to Oklahoma. 

In particular, the Legislature passed 

legislation to provide manufacturers with 

some tax relief as well as incentivize 

expansion into the state.   

 

Finally, the Senate and House were called 

into Special Session by the Governor and 

convened the 1st Extraordinary Session of 

the 59th Legislature on May 17 in order to 

pass the budget agreement as well as address 

remaining issues relating to the American 

Rescue Plan and broadband expansion.  
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Appropriations Overview 

 
HB 1004x (Wallace/R. Thompson) is the 

general appropriations measure for FY’24. 

The measure provides increases of 21.57%, 

7.61%, 22.51%, 1.75%, 41.63%, and 2.76% 

to Education, Transportation, Health Care, 

Human Services, Agriculture, and 

Corrections respectively. The measure 

placed particular emphasis on providing 

increased funding to the State Department of 

Education (24.79%) in order to fund a 

teacher pay raise as well as other education 

initiatives. The measure also increased 

funding to Higher Education (14.93%) and 

Career Tech (15.81%) in order to address 

various labor shortages.  

 

SB 1154 (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $850,000.00 from the General 

Revenue Fund to conduct the Special 

Election for State Question No. 820 to be 

held on March 7, 2023. The measure 

authorizes the State Election Board to 

deposit up to $250,000.00 from funds 

appropriated to the State Election Board in 

Sections 50 and 51 of Enrolled SB 1040 

(general appropriations bill) of the 2nd 

Session of the 58th Oklahoma Legislature 

into the State Question Recount Revolving 

Fund as well as to expend funds 

appropriated by SB 1088 (appropriations to 

the State Election Board) of the 2nd Session 

of the 58th Oklahoma Legislature. 

 

SB 39x (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $500,000.00 from the 

Statewide Recovery Fund to the Health Care 

Workforce Training Commission to 

establish a grant program with Northwestern 

Oklahoma State University for the purpose 

of recruiting, educating, and stabilizing 

Oklahoma’s health care workforce. The 

measure authorizes the Commission to 

retain up to 2% of the appropriated funds for 

administrative costs. The Commission may 

enter into memorandums of understanding 

with other agencies for the auditing, 

documentation, evaluation, implementation, 

oversight, reporting, and management of 

funds and associated efforts. The measure 

requires the Commission to submit quarterly 

budgeting reports to the Senate and House 

chairs of the Joint Committee on Pandemic 

Relief Funding. 

 

HB 2882 (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

appropriates $5.2 million to the 

Commissioners of the Land Office to be 

used to settle obligations and litigation 

related to severe weather.   

 

HB 2888 (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

appropriates $38.62 million to the Oklahoma 

Water Resources Board for water and 

wastewater system upgrades in northeast 

Oklahoma.   

Medical Marijuana, Hemp, and 

Associated Products  

 

SB 813 (Garvin/Marti) establishes a 

nonrefundable fee for a medical marijuana 

processor license, as well as all submissions 

of grower applications, renewal processor 

applications, and renewal dispensary 

applications at $2,500.00. Additionally, the 

measure authorizes the Oklahoma Medical 

Marijuana Authority to operate a quality 

assurance laboratory for the purpose of 

conducting compliance testing of medical 

marijuana businesses. The laboratory shall 

establish equipment standards and operating 

procedures for licensed medical marijuana 

testing laboratories as well as take samples 

from medical marijuana businesses and 

utilize secret shoppers. The Authority’s 

laboratory is exempted from the provisions 

of the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana and 

Patient Protection Act for the purpose of 

transporting samples of medical marijuana, 

medical marijuana concentrate, and medical 

marijuana product for testing between the 
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originating medical marijuana business and 

the Authority’s laboratory. The measure also 

authorizes the Authority to purchase 

vehicles as well as enter into contracts and 

agreements for the payment of food, 

lodging, and other authorized expenses as 

may be necessary to host, conduct, sponsor, 

or participate in conferences, meetings, or 

training sessions. 

 

SB 913 (Jech/Moore) requires all applicants 

for a medical marijuana business license to 

submit a bond along with their application. 

The bond shall cover the area of land within 

the permit area upon which the business 

licensee will initiate and conduct 

commercial growing operations. The 

amount of the bond shall be no less than 

$50,000.00 for each license. The Oklahoma 

Medical Marijuana Authority may require a 

higher amount depending upon the 

reclamation requirements of the approved 

application. A commercial growing 

operation may operate without obtaining a 

bond upon verification by the Authority that 

the permitted land on which the licensee 

operates the commercial growing operation 

has been owned by the licensee for a least a 

5-year period prior to submission of 

application. The measure authorizes the 

appropriate agency to recall the bond if the 

property is abandoned or if the Authority 

revokes the license of the owner. The bond 

shall be used to defray the costs of restoring 

the property.   

 

HB 2095 (Echols/Paxton) modifies several 

components of law regarding medical 

marijuana licensing, regulations 

enforcement, and business operations. The 

measure revokes the licenses of any medical 

marijuana business licensee found to have 

intentionally not paid the tax on retail 

medical marijuana sales and prohibits the 

revoked party from being able to receive any 

other type of medical marijuana business 

license issue by the Oklahoma Medical 

Marijuana Authority (OMMA). The 

measure grants OMMA the authority to 

enter into agreements with other state 

agencies to enforce laws regulating medical 

marijuana and gives the Oklahoma State 

Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 

Control, the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation, as well as the Attorney 

General the full authority to investigate and 

enforce any violations of the law regarding 

medical marijuana.  The measure makes it 

unlawful for a licensed medical marijuana 

commercial grower to knowingly hire 

undocumented immigrants to perform work 

inside a commercial grow facility or on any 

property of the grow operation.  Violation is 

a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in 

the county jail, a fine of up to $500.00, or 

both. In addition, the license of the 

commercial grower is subject to revocation. 

During investigations where there is 

reasonable suspicion that a medical 

marijuana business licensee is illegally 

growing, processing, transferring, selling, 

disposing, or diverting marijuana, the 

investigating entity may establish the 

personal identifying information of all 

owners and individuals with any ownership 

interest in the business through subpoenaed 

documents. The measure adds medical 

marijuana research and educational facilities 

to the list of facilities by which the 

submission of an application constitutes 

permission for entry to and inspection of the 

facility. The measure establishes that no 

more than one medical marijuana 

commercial grower license shall be issued 

for any one property and places a cap on the 

number of active medical marijuana 

commercial grower licenses allowed to be 

issued by OMMA in circulation at 1,000 

licenses. The measure provides that if the 

Authority receives a complaint concerning 

noncompliance by a medical marijuana 

research licensee or a medical marijuana 
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education facility licensee, the Authority, 

the Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and 

Dangerous Drugs Control, the Oklahoma 

State Bureau of Investigation, and the 

Attorney General may conduct additional 

unannounced, on-site inspections beyond the 

required biannual inspections.  The 

Authority shall also refer all complaints 

alleging criminal activity to appropriate state 

or local law enforcement. The measure also 

extends the moratorium on processing and 

issuing new medical marijuana business 

licenses by 2 years until 2026. 

 

HB 2281 (Echols/Paxton) defines “straw 

person” as it relates to the Uniform 

Controlled Dangerous Substances Act as a 

third party who is put up in name only to 

take part in a transaction or otherwise is a 

nominal party to a transaction, acts on behalf 

of another person to obtain title to property 

and executes documents and instruments the 

principal may direct respecting property, or 

purchases property for another for the 

purpose of concealing the identity of the real 

purchaser or to accomplish some purpose 

otherwise in violation of Oklahoma Statutes. 

The measure provides that purchases made 

through such entities shall be unlawful. 

 

HB 2282 (Echols/Paxton) provides that 

upon suspension or revocation of a license 

of a registrant by the Oklahoma State 

Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 

Control (OSBNDD), all controlled 

dangerous substances not impounded or 

preserved by the Director of OSBNDD shall 

be maintained by the registrant. The 

measure requires the Director to issue a 

written order to be served on registrants 

before annulling, conditioning, suspending, 

or revoking any registration when the 

Director believes that a violation of federal 

or state law, rule, or regulation has been 

committed by the registrant. The written 

order must state the violation with 

specificity and the Director may assess 

monetary penalties as determined by the 

Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances 

Act or rules of the Bureau. The written order 

may become a final order unless the 

registrant requests an administrative hearing 

within 30 days. The Director may issue an 

order immediately suspending a registration, 

without notice or a hearing, when it is found 

that there is imminent danger to the public 

health or safety which warrants this action. 

The measure allows the Director to assess a 

penalty of up to $1,000.00 per day of 

noncompliance with the order. If a finding is 

made that a registrant has committed any 

action in violation of federal law relating to 

any controlled dangerous substance, 

provisions of the Uniform Controlled 

Dangerous Substances Act, or any rules of 

the OSBNDD, an administrative penalty of 

up to $5,000.00 per day may be assessed for 

each act. The measure allows for the seizure 

of controlled substances in possession of the 

registrant that were possessed, transferred, 

sold, or improperly labeled in violation of 

the Uniform Controlled Dangerous 

Substances Act. The registrant may be 

assessed an eradication or destruction fine of 

not more than $50,000.00.  Upon a 

revocation or denial of registration, the 

registrant or applicant may be barred from 

reapplying for registration for up to 5 years. 

Agriculture & Rural Measures 

 
SB 488 (Howard/Patzkowsky) eliminates 

the statutory fee of $0.02 levied on all wheat 

marketed by wheat producers and instead 

allows the Oklahoma Wheat Commission to 

set the fee. 

 

SB 648 (Bergstrom/Hardin) specifies that 

persons intending to kill feral swine on 

public property during the night shall be 

required to obtain a permit from the 

Department of Wildlife Conservation. The 

measure also strikes language requiring 
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landowners to have a current agricultural 

exemption permit as it relates to the night 

hunting permit.   

 

HB 1456 (Patzkowsky/Green) designates 

the State Board of Agriculture as the official 

plant pest and disease control agency. The 

Board is authorized to promulgate and 

enforce rules, and issue emergency orders 

governing plants. 

 

HB 1589 (Grego/Murdock) creates a 

definition for Oklahoma certified meat and 

defines it as "any bovine, swine, goat, lamb, 

poultry, or fish product bred, born, raised, 

and processed within the State of 

Oklahoma." 

 

HB 1844 (Kerbs/Green) removes the 

requirement that any live deer being 

transported through the state must come 

from a state with a mutual agreement 

allowing live deer from Oklahoma to be 

transported through its borders.   

 

HB 1966 (Newton/Jech) allows a person to 

apply pesticides to his or her own property 

without a license and reorganizes pre-

existing sections of law. 

 

HB 2059 (Hardin/Woods) repeals a section 

of law from the Commercial Pet Breeders 

and Animal Shelter Licensing Act relating to 

annual reports.  

 

HB 2863 (Wallace/Kidd) creates the 

Oklahoma State University Veterinary 

Medicine Authority (OSUVMA). The 

Authority shall be governed by a board of 8 

members, which will oversee and support 

the Veterinary Medicine Education 

programs of the OSU College of Veterinary 

Medicine. The Authority is authorized to 

acquire facilities for the purposes of 

teaching and training students in the OSU 

College of Veterinary Medicine, conduct 

veterinary medical and biomedical research, 

and establish an animal hospital or clinic. 

The Authority may adopt bylaws and 

promulgate rules, make and enter into 

contracts, purchase and lease necessary 

equipment, and issue bonds. The Authority 

is required to submit an annual report to the 

Governor, Speaker of the House of 

Representatives, and President Pro Tempore 

of the Senate that includes an account of all 

revenue received and disbursed by the 

Authority for the previous fiscal year. 

 

HB 2868 (Wallace/Green) creates a 5-day 

hunting license for nonresidents hunting 

winged upland game, excluding wild turkey, 

in a commercial hunting area. The fee for 

the license is $15.00.  

 

Business & Labor 

 
SB 170 (Dugger/Kendrix) expands the term 

“attest” to include providing engagements, 

review, or agreed upon procedures 

engagement services to be performed in 

accordance with the Statements on 

Standards for Attestation Agreements as it 

relates to the Oklahoma Accountancy Act.   

 

SB 172 (Dugger/Kendrix) expands 

authorized audit entities to include entities 

that are exempt from registration 

requirements as outlined in the Oklahoma 

Accountancy Act. Such entities are outlined 

in the measure.   

 

SB 354 (Haste/Stinson) requires any motor 

vehicle rental company that imposes 

additional mandatory charges to provide a 

good-faith estimate of the total charges and 

disclose in the rental contract provided to 

the renter the total charges for the entire 

rental. 

 

SB 540 (Montgomery/Sneed) removes the 

requirement for bail bondsman applicants to 
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appear in person to take the examination. 

The measure provides that bail bondsman 

licenses issued prior to the effective date, as 

a result of a successful completion of a 

remote examination, shall be valid licenses 

from the time of issuance. 

 

SB 593 (R. Thompson/Dobrinski) provides 

that a dealer management system provider 

may condition access and the ability of a car 

dealer or authorized integrator to receive, 

share, copy, use, write, or transmit protected 

dealer data from or to a dealer data system 

on the dealer’s or authorized integrator’s 

compliance with security standards as well 

as deny access of a dealer data system to a 

dealer if the dealer fails to pay an amount 

due to the dealer management system 

provider. No provider shall take any action 

that would limit or prohibit the ability of a 

dealer or an authorized integrator to receive, 

protect, store, copy, share, or use protected 

dealer data, with certain exceptions. Any 

term or condition of an agreement with a 

dealer management system provider that 

conflicts with the requirements set forth in 

the measure shall be void and 

unenforceable. The measure provides that 

any authorized integrator, as defined in the 

measure, must obtain express written 

authorization from a dealer before gaining 

access to protected data. Such entities must 

also comply with security standards in 

gaining access to such data and allow a 

dealer to withdraw, revoke, or amend any 

express written authorization. System 

providers are not liable for any action that a 

dealer takes directly with respect to securing 

or preventing unauthorized access to 

protected dealer data. Dealers are not liable 

for any action that an authorized integrator 

takes directly with respect to securing or 

preventing unauthorized access to protected 

dealer data. Additionally, manufacturers and 

distributors are not liable for any action 

made by a dealer, dealer management 

system provider, authorized integrator, or 

other third party. Manufacturers are required 

to allow new motor vehicle dealers to offer 

consumers any remote software upgrade or 

change to vehicle functions and features to a 

new motor vehicle, if also offered by the 

manufacturer, which is of a line-make for 

which the new motor vehicle dealer holds an 

active sales and service agreement. Spot 

delivery agreement forms shall be required 

for all new motor vehicle deliveries subject 

to dealers finding lending institutions to 

purchase the retail installment contracts 

executed by the purchasing and selling 

parties.  The measure prohibits factories or 

their affiliated entities from obtaining 

licenses as new motor vehicle dealers, 

providing exception.  The measure also 

provides for penalties on factories that use 

certain performance standards, not 

considering local criteria and conditions, not 

equitably offering for sale vehicles at the 

same price, failing to provide reasonable 

compensation for loaner vehicles, failing to 

compensate for recall repairs, failing to 

provide compensation for certain used 

vehicles, entering certain agreements that 

alter the rights and obligations of the dealer, 

refusing payment related to certain 

purchaser actions, and changing system of 

distribution. The measure prohibits dealers 

from submitting rates more than once a year 

for repair parts and labor. The measure 

prohibits certain factory charge-backs and 

provides an exception for prohibition on a 

factory requiring construction of 

rehabilitation of dealership.  

 

SB 650 (Rogers/Marti) prohibits any person 

from using software to circumvent, thwart, 

interfere with, or evade a security measure, 

access control system, or other control 

measure on a ticket seller's Internet website 

as well as from selling software that is 

advertised for profit for the purpose of 

circumventing security measures. Any such 
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violation shall be considered an unlawful 

business practice as it relates to the 

Oklahoma Consumer Protection Act. The 

measure also provides that a violation shall 

occur if the user or seller knows that use of 

the software led to admission tickets being 

resold on the initial seller’s Internet website 

or an Internet site used for the resale of 

admission tickets for a price above the 

admission ticket’s initial cost. 

 

SB 794 (Coleman/McEntire) increases the 

maximum loan finance charge that may be 

levied by a supervised lender by including 

the federal funds rate published by the 

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve 

System.   

 

SB 798 (Coleman/Moore) provides that a 

bond may be exonerated for a bondsman if a 

new warrant is issued in the same 

jurisdiction in which the bondsman or 

insurer has posted the appearance bond or 

bonds for the defendant, and the defendant 

has been subsequently released on his or her 

own personal recognizance.    

 

SB 871 (Floyd/Blancett) adds the practice of 

falsely representing or presenting him- or 

herself as an agent of a state agency or an 

affiliate of a state agency through 

advertisement or gives the false or 

misleading impression, of being affiliated 

with a state agency or an affiliate of a state 

agency through advertisement or 

publication. 

 

HB 1045 (Lawson/Gollihare) requires drug-

testing facilities to report single-use test 

results that meet the standard to be sent to 

the laboratory for confirmation testing to an 

employer’s review officer as soon as the 

results for the single-use test become 

available or the next working day. The final 

conclusion of the testing shall be reviewed, 

and the test certified as an accurate report by 

the responsible individual. The report shall 

identify the drugs and metabolites tested for 

and the cutoff for each drug. Review officers 

may request quantitation of test results. The 

drug screen testing facility may transmit 

results to the review officer by electronic 

means.   

 

HB 1331 (Strom/Paxton) authorizes the 

Commissioner of Labor to establish 

administrative fines for violating the Boiler 

and Pressure Vessel Safety Act, which may 

be in addition to or in lieu of the existing 

criminal penalties. The fines collected will 

be deposited to the Department of Labor 

Administrative Penalty Revolving Fund. 

 

HB 1443 (Provenzano/Montgomery) 

requires student loan servicers to inform 

borrowers if their type of loan does not 

qualify for loan forgiveness programs.  

 

HB 1542 (Moore/Stanley) grants civil 

immunity to any restaurant that donates 

prepared foods at no charge. A restaurant 

will not be liable for damages caused by the 

condition of the donated food unless it is 

grossly negligent, intentional in its actions, 

or knew or should have known about the 

condition of the food that resulted in the 

damages.    

 

HB 1543 (Moore/Coleman) designates the 

2020 Consumer Price Index (CPI) as the 

Reference Base Index that is used to 

determine when inflation merits adjustments 

in the loan finance charge thresholds for 

loans carrying principals of $3,000.00 or 

less. The measure also eliminates the 3% 

cap on adjustments and allows for 

adjustments in increments of 1%.   

Additionally, the measure eliminates the 

Consumer Credit Advisory Committee.   

 

HB 1956 (McCall/Treat) removes the 

requirement that licensing authorities restrict 
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the reissuance or renewal of someone’s 

occupational license upon notification by the 

Oklahoma Tax Commission that the person 

is not compliant with state tax laws.  

 

HB 1597 (Martinez/Newhouse) amends the 

Notice of Opportunity to Repair Act by 

requiring a homeowner to meet certain 

conditions prior to filing a construction 

defect lawsuit against a contractor. The 

preconditions include written notice of the 

alleged construction defects and 30 days for 

the contractor to inspect the defects and 

respond with a written compensation offer.  

 

HB 1635 (Staires/Rader) modifies the 

definition of hotel by raising the required 

number of available rooms from 4 to 5. The 

measure also provides that a kitchen in a 

private home or in a bed and breakfast that 

prepares and offers food to guests does not 

need to acquire a food establishment license 

if the number of guest bedrooms does not 

exceed 4.   

 

HB 1737 (Townley/Montgomery) provides 

that after an innkeeper informs a person that 

he or she is being ejected, the person is to be 

considered a trespasser and not a guest of 

the lodging establishment. If the person fails 

to leave the establishment, the person is to 

be removed from the lodging establishment 

by law enforcement for trespassing. 

 

HB 1738 (Townley/Alvord) updates the 

workers' compensation payment amounts for 

each child of a deceased worker.  

 

HB 1772 (Kane/Daniels) exempts vendors 

at farmers markets selling frozen meat that 

is either kept refrigerated or on ice from 

having to purchase a food establishment 

license. 

 

HB 1927 (Sims/Rogers) modifies the 

administrative process for motor vehicle 

liens in the case of a denial. The Notice of 

Possessory Lien and the Notice of Sale may 

be mailed on the same day in separate 

envelopes, but the Notice of Sale must be 

mailed after the possessory lien claimant has 

owned his or her property for at least 21 

days. If the denial occurred because of a 

submission error, the property owner will 

not be charged a subsequent resubmission 

fee. Additionally, all foreclosure 

proceedings must begin 20 days after the 

lien is accrued. 

 

HB 2456 (Hill/Paxton) renews the 5% 

technology reinvestment assessment 

collected by the Oklahoma Employment 

Security Commission (OESC) until 

December 31, 2027. The measure eliminates 

the $39 million cap on expenditures, allows 

the OESC to continue the assessment, and 

allows the OESC to accrue up to $25 million 

in the fund each year, provided the $25 

million cap can also increase by up to 3% 

each year. Any excess funds collected over 

the cap will be transferred to the 

Unemployment Compensation Fund. The 

measure also doubles the fee for failing to 

properly file contribution and wage reports 

from $100.00 to $200.00. 

Economic Development & Commerce 

Measures 

 
SB 235 (Rader/Johns) exempts the 

Oklahoma Turnpike Authority from the 

requirement to transfer assets identified by 

the Oklahoma Broadband Office as 

duplicative of its mission to the Office. 

 

SB 317 (Pemberton/Sneed) requires the 

governing body within an increment district 

in operation for at least 9 months to submit a 

report to the Oklahoma Department of 

Commerce within 19 days of the end of the 

fiscal year. The report shall show the 

amount and source of revenue captured and 

apportioned, the amount of principal and 
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interest due on outstanding bonded 

indebtedness, the tax increment base and 

current captured appraised value or the other 

local tax or fee collections retained by the 

area, the captured appraised value or the 

other local tax or fee collections shared by 

the governing entity, the name of the person 

who is currently in charge of the 

implementation of the plan, and the names 

of the persons who have disclosed an 

interest. The Department shall provide a 

copy of the report to any member of the 

public upon request.  

 

SB 509 (Matthews/J. Lowe) creates the 

Oklahoma Civil Rights Trail Grant Program 

under the Oklahoma Historical Society. The 

measure directs the Board of the Society to 

develop procedures and promulgate rules to 

disburse grant funds. Additionally, the 

measure creates the Oklahoma Civil Rights 

Trail Revolving Fund. 

 

SB 604 (Rader/Fetgatter) provides that 

establishments classified as professional or 

semiprofessional sports teams or clubs that 

entered into a contract pursuant to the 

Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program Act with 

the Oklahoma Department of Commerce 

before the effective date shall have the 

contract extended from 15 years to 30 years. 

The extension shall not include additional 

money awarded but shall allow for payments 

to continue for the 30-year period.     

 

SB 621 (Pugh/Hill) creates the Oklahoma 

Workforce Transformation Act. The 

measure creates the Oklahoma Workforce 

Commission and directs it to coordinate the 

development of the workforce needed to 

grow Oklahoma’s economy and 

Oklahomans’ prosperity. The Commission 

shall be required to consult officials, leaders, 

and experts in workforce development and is 

directed by the measure to establish advisory 

committees consisting of relevant officials. 

The Commission shall also serve as a 

coordinating body for workforce 

development entities in the state. The 

Commission shall be comprised of 9 

members. The Governor, President Pro 

Tempore of the Senate, and Speaker of the 

House of Representatives shall nominate 3 

members respectively. Each member must 

be a qualified elector. Initial appointment 

terms shall be staggered, with subsequent 

terms lasting 3 years. Members serve at the 

pleasure of their appointing authority. It 

shall also cooperate with public and private 

entities as needed. The Commission is 

directed to collect data outlined in the 

measure and create a public 

dashboard/reports with data relating to 

workforce development efforts in the state. 

The Commission shall also make 

recommendations to the Legislature to 

improve development programs.   

 

SB 737 (Hall/Fetgatter) specifies that film 

and television series projects that receive 

film incentives shall display an Oklahoma 

Department of Commerce (ODOC) 

approved logo in the end credits for at least 

5 seconds.   

 

SB 849 (Paxton/T. Caldwell) provides that 

the Office of Management and Enterprise 

Services shall provide administrative 

assistance to the Oklahoma Broadband 

Office within 30 days of determination by 

the Agency that the request is able to be 

fulfilled. If the request for assistance cannot 

be fulfilled, the Office and OMES shall 

enter into a written agreement expressing an 

agreed upon timeline for fulfilling the needs 

of the Office. The measure also authorizes 

the Office to hire legal counsel as it is 

deemed necessary. 

 

SB 1176 (R. Thompson/Wallace) lowers the 

threshold of new direct jobs required to 

qualify for the Large-scale Economic 
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Activity and Development Act of 2022 from 

4,000 jobs to 3,500 jobs in years 4 and 5 of 

the rebate period. The measure also provides 

that if the State Department of Commerce 

does not receive a binding commitment from 

a primary establishment for an investment 

determined by the Department to qualify for 

the program by April 15, 2023, all monies in 

the Large-scale Economic Activity and 

Development Fund shall revert to the 

General Revenue Fund.   

 

SB 1177 (R. Thompson/Wallace) creates the 

Perform Act. The measure creates an 

investment rebate program for the cost of 

qualified capital expenditures by an 

establishment that creates a certain number 

of jobs based on the number of investment 

rebate payments. The number scales from 

100 jobs after the first payment to 1,400 jobs 

after the fifth payment. The amount of the 

rebate shall equal 10% of the cost of the 

qualified capital expenditures. Caps are 

established on each claim based on the 

number of investment rebate payments. 

Rebates shall be disbursed using the newly 

created Perform Fund.   The program shall 

be administered by the Oklahoma 

Department of Commerce and the 

Oklahoma Tax Commission. The 

Department shall be required to submit an 

annual report detailing the program and 

investment rebate payments to the President 

Pro Tempore of the Senate, Speaker of the 

House of Representatives, the chairs of the 

Senate and House Appropriations 

Committees, and the Executive Director of 

the Legislative Office of Fiscal 

Transparency. The Department shall 

approve applications meeting the 

requirements outlined in the measure and 

direct the Commission to disburse the funds 

to the qualifying entity. The Department 

shall disapprove any application if the 

claimed rebates exceed the balance of 

available funds in the Perform Fund.  Any 

entity seeking to qualify for the program 

must submit documentation to the 

Oklahoma Department of Commerce 

detailing a capital expenditure plan in this 

state associated with qualified capital 

expenditures totaling no less than $1 billion 

as well as make at least 20% of the qualified 

expenditures outlined in the plan. Such 

entities must also be eligible to receive 

payments pursuant to the provisions of the 

Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program Act. Any 

entity that received payments shall be 

ineligible for payments made pursuant to the 

Large-scale Economic Activity and 

Development Act of 2022. 

 

SB 1179 (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $180 million from the General 

Revenue Fund to the newly created Perform 

Fund.   

Common Education 

 

SB 26 (Pemberton/Hays) provides that if a 

suitable meeting room or area is not 

available, a coach may enter a locker room 

before, during, or after a school-sponsored 

athletic activity, a coach may enter into the 

locker room if all students present are fully 

clothed and the coach is accompanied by 

another adult. The measure also provides 

that a coach must be accompanied by an 

adult of the same sex as the students present 

if the students are a different sex than the 

coach. An adult cannot be a current high 

school student. 

 

SB 93 (Rader/Moore) requires students 

beginning in the 2024-25 school year to 

complete and submit a Free Application for 

Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) in order to 

graduate from a public high school. It 

provides opportunities to opt out of the 

requirements if the student’s parent or legal 

guardian submits a signed opt-out form, if a 

student aged 18 or older submits a signed 

opt-out form, or if a school counselor 
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authorizes a student to opt out. The bill also 

directs the State Department of Education to 

publish materials explaining the requirement 

as well as an opt-out form to be used by 

school districts. 

 

SB 100 (Pemberton/D. Lowe) amends the 

Oklahoma Open Records Act to allow risk 

and vulnerability assessments, related 

recommendations, and work papers to be 

kept confidential. The bill requires each 

school district to undergo a risk and 

vulnerability assessment by the Oklahoma 

School Security Institute or a nationally 

qualified risk and vulnerability assessor by 

July 1, 2026. It exempts those that 

underwent an assessment in the previous 2 

years. The bill directs districts to conduct re-

assessments every 5 years. The measure also 

modifies eligibility under the Oklahoma 

School Security Grant Program, requiring 

that recipients must have undergone a risk 

and vulnerability assessment conducted by 

the Oklahoma School Security Institute or a 

nationally qualified risk and vulnerability 

assessor, and the recipients must also agree 

to expend grant funds on items 

recommended by the assessment and/or to 

provide behavioral threat assessment and 

management training to employees. 

Additionally, it requires an annual report on 

the Oklahoma School Security Grant 

Program to include a list of grant recipients 

and information on how funds were used 

during the previous year. 

 

SB 110 (Weaver/D. Lowe) directs the State 

Board of Career and Technology Education 

to divide the territory of a technology center 

school district with a population of more 

than 225,000 electors into board zones with 

one board member to be elected from each 

of the district zones. It directs electors in 

each district zone to elect a person who is a 

resident of the district zone beginning with 

elections held after July 1, 2024. 

 

SB 467 (Stanley/Miller) creates the 

Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact Act to 

facilitate the mobility of teachers through a 

collective regulatory framework amongst 

member states. It states that licensure under 

the compact only pertains to the initial 

granting of a license or certificate. It directs 

each member state to define, compile, and 

update a list of licenses that the member 

state is willing to consider for equivalency. 

It provides a process for licensure through 

the compact. The measure also directs the 

creation of the Interstate Teacher Mobility 

Compact Commission comprised of states 

that have enacted the compact. It provides 

for the Commission’s powers and duties, 

membership, meetings, and rule-making 

authority. 

 

SB 516 (Pugh/Echols) creates a 9-member 

Statewide Charter School Board to have the 

sole authority to authorize and sponsor 

statewide virtual charter schools beginning 

July 1, 2024. It allows the Board to sponsor 

brick-and-mortar charter schools. The bill 

provides for membership of the Board and 

requires appointments to be made by 

October 31, 2023. It prohibits a member of 

the Legislature from being appointed to the 

Board during or for two years after his or 

her term of office. It states that beginning 

July 1, 2024, statewide virtual charter 

schools will be sponsored only by the 

Statewide Charter School Board, which shall 

succeed to any contractual rights and 

responsibilities incurred by the Statewide 

Virtual Charter School Board. Also effective 

July 1, 2024, the Statewide Virtual Charter 

School Board is to be abolished. It states 

that beginning July 1, 2024, the Statewide 

Charter School Board will also succeed to 

any contractual rights and responsibilities 

incurred by the State Board of Education in 

sponsorship of charter schools. Beginning 

July 1, 2024, it allows any charter school to 
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apply to the Statewide Charter School Board 

for sponsorship after the term of its current 

contract. The bill provides for the Statewide 

Charter School Board to have general 

oversight of all charter schools in the state. 

It creates the Statewide Charter School 

Board Revolving Fund. 

The bill also modifies brick-and-mortar 

charter school sponsorship. It removes 

technology center school districts and the 

State Board of Education as sponsors of 

charter schools, and it adds the Statewide 

Charter School Board as a sponsor. It also 

removes limitations on charter school 

sponsorship by an institution of higher 

education within The Oklahoma State 

System of Higher Education, and it adds 

private institutions of higher learning 

accredited according to state law as a charter 

school sponsor. The bill modifies sections of 

law relating to charter schools and virtual 

charter schools to update and remove 

references. It directs the Statewide Charter 

School Board, rather than the State 

Department of Education, to provide 

required training to charter school 

applicants. It also directs the Board, or an 

organization approved by the Board, to 

provide training to a sponsor that enters into 

a new or renewed sponsorship contract on or 

after July 1, 2024.  The bill requires a 

charter school application to include a copy 

of any proposed contract between the 

governing board of a charter school or 

virtual charter school and an educational 

management organization. It allows a 

sponsor to approve or deny any such 

contract. 

The measure requires any application 

seeking to establish a new charter school 

after July 1, 2024, to first be submitted to 

the board of education for the school district 

in which the charter school is to be located. 

The board of education must approve or 

deny the application within 60 days, and the 

charter school applicant may submit a 

revised application. Once an application is 

denied, the bill allows the applicant to 

submit a charter school application to any 

authorized sponsor. It requires the governing 

board of a charter school or virtual charter 

school to notify a sponsor within 10 

business days if there is any significant 

adverse action, material finding of 

noncompliance, or pending action, claim, or 

proceeding relating to the school or an 

educational management organization with 

which it contracts. The measure requires a 

charter school contract to include a 

performance framework with academic and 

operational performance indicators, which is 

to be used by the sponsor to annually 

evaluate charter schools it sponsors. The bill 

requires each charter school to be separate 

and distinct. It requires a school district that 

proposes a bond to include a charter school 

located in its district in planning 

conversations for the bond. 

The measure establishes an initial charter 

school contract term of 5 years with 

successive 10-year contract terms. It states 

that in the final year of a charter school 

contract term, a sponsor is required to issue 

a performance report. If there are 

weaknesses, concerns, violations, or 

deficiencies, a sponsor may require that a 

charter school develop a corrective action 

plan. If the corrective action plan is not 

substantially complete, the bill allows a 

sponsor to revoke or not renew the charter 

contract. The measure allows a charter 

school sponsor to terminate or not renew a 

contract for a specific charter school site. It 

requires a charter school or virtual charter 

school to disclose a revocation or 

nonrenewal on any subsequent application. 

It prohibits the Statewide Charter School 

Board from charging any charter school or 

virtual charter school a fee for 

administrative or other services. It directs 

the State Department of Education to 

develop data codes for the Oklahoma Cost 
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Accounting System to be used to comply 

with administrative services reporting. It 

directs a charter school sponsor to publish a 

detailed report on its website and present the 

report in a public meeting of the charter 

school governing board. The measure directs 

members of a charter school sponsor 

governing board to designate a 

representative to complete an annual 

sponsor workshop beginning with the 2024-

2025 school year. It clarifies that limitations 

on administrative service expenditures apply 

to charter schools and virtual charter schools 

that contract with an educational 

management organization. 

The measure also removes and repeals 

sections of law relating to the Statewide 

Virtual Charter School Board and current 

guidelines for charter school sponsorship. 

 

SB 1121 (R. Thompson/Wallace) provides 

for 6 weeks of paid maternity leave for full-

time public school district employees, 

classroom instructional employees at career 

and technology school districts, teachers 

employed by the State Department of 

Rehabilitation Services, correctional 

teachers or vocational instructors employed 

by the Department of Corrections, and 

teachers employed by the Office of Juvenile 

Affairs. It requires the individual to have 

been employed for at least 1 year and have 

worked at least 1,250 hours during the 

previous 12 months. It requires maternity 

leave to be used immediately following the 

birth of the employee’s child. It clarifies that 

paid maternity leave is in addition to and not 

in place of sick leave due to pregnancy. It 

requires the Legislature each fiscal year to 

appropriate adequate funding to the Public 

School Paid Maternity Leave Revolving 

Fund to cover the cost of paid maternity 

leave for school district employees. It 

requires school districts to file claims with 

the State Board of Education for 

reimbursement for maternity leave expenses. 

The bill also creates the Education 

Employee Paid Maternity Leave Revolving 

Fund with the Office of Management and 

Enterprise Services for the Oklahoma 

Department of Career and Technology 

Education, the State Department of 

Rehabilitation Services, the Department of 

Corrections, and the Office of Juvenile 

Affairs to file claims for reimbursement for 

maternity leave expenses. 

 

SB 1118 (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $10 million to the State Board 

of Education to implement a 3-year pilot 

program. It directs the Board to use the 

funds to employ a literacy instructional team 

to support school districts. It requires team 

members to be placed regionally across the 

state. The team is to consist of a minimum 

of 5 regional literacy leads and 10 literacy 

specialists. The bill requires the State 

Department of Education to submit a report 

to the Governor and legislative leaders after 

completion of the 3-year pilot program 

containing: an evaluation of the program by 

school districts, whether the pilot program 

had an impact on increasing the number of 

students who are proficient in reading, and 

recommendations for changes to the 

Reading Sufficiency Act. 

 

SB 1119 (R. Thompson/Wallace) creates a 

new minimum salary schedule starting with 

the 2023-2024 school year to provide a 

$3,000.00 increase for teachers with 0 to 4 

years of experience; a $4,000.00 increase for 

teachers with 5 to 9 years of experience; a 

$5,000.00 increase for teachers with 10 to 

14 years of experience; and a $6,000.00 

increase for teachers with 15 to 25 years of 

experience. It directs the salary increase to 

be applied to those who were paid above the 

salary schedule during the prior school year. 

The bill states that if a school district does 

not receive Foundation Aid or Salary 

Incentive Aid, the State Board of Education 
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is to allocate funds to cover the cost of the 

salary increases. It directs the salary increase 

to be provided to certain career and 

technology school district teachers and 

educators employed by the Department of 

Corrections, the Office of Juvenile Affairs, 

and the State Department of Rehabilitation 

Services. 

 

SB 1120 (R. Thompson/Wallace) modifies 

the redbud grant award amounts when 

appropriations are above the current 

formula. The measure also removes 

apportionments to redbud funding from 

sales tax related to the previous year’s 

medical marijuana sales. 

 

SB 36x (R. Thompson/Wallace) sets budget 

limits for the State Board of Education’s 

appropriations contained within HB 1004x. 

It includes language prohibiting the State 

Department of Education from declining, 

refusing to participate in, or choosing not to 

apply for any federal grant funding that had 

been received by the Department prior to 

FY’23 without joint approval from the 

President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the 

Speaker of the House of Representatives. 

 

HB 1029 (Talley/Stanley) requires the State 

Department of Education Office of Federal 

Programs to adopt a standard form for 

school districts to use to identify homeless 

students. Parents, or students if they are not 

in their parents’ custody, must fill out the 

form annually at enrollment. 

 

HB 1041 (Randleman/Stanley) replaces 

specific social studies courses required for 

an alternative diploma with alternate social 

studies course options. The measure clarifies 

that courses in the core curriculum can be 

used as an alternate course. Other courses 

may be substituted as determined by the 

State Department of Education.   

 

HB 1397 (Lepak/Bergstrom) requires the 

State Department of Education to develop a 

curriculum about the civil rights movement 

from 1954 to 1968, the natural law and 

natural rights principles, and the tactics of 

nonviolent resistance employed by Dr. 

Martin Luther King Jr. The course may be 

taught as a stand-alone unit or integrated 

into pre-existing course work. There shall be 

an additional unit of instruction studying 

other acts of discriminatory injustice, such 

as genocide, committed elsewhere around 

the globe.   

 

HB 1441 (Provenzano/Pugh) modifies the 

frequency requirements for certain teacher 

professional development programs. The 

measure caps local, state, and federal 

professional development for teachers at 150 

hours total per 5-year period.   

 

HB 1445 (Provenzano/Garvin) requires 

school districts that have issued a bond 

proposal to post certain information on their 

website 30 days prior to the bond vote. The 

school district must keep the information 

posted to the website for the duration of any 

approved bond, and for a year after 

completion. The district must update the 

information when there is a material change 

in the scope of the projects. 

 

HB 1634 (Staires/Bergstrom) allows schools 

to remove a student's shoes, hat, and gloves 

in order to search them for weapons, drugs, 

or alcohol. The measure exempts religious 

head coverings from being removed. 

Further, the measure allows a superintendent 

to designate someone to transport any found 

items during the student search.  The 

measure also allows a school superintendent 

to designate a person to transport any found 

items during a student search to a 

centralized location or to law enforcement. 

The designee must have their school ID and 
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a letter from the superintendent confirming 

their authority to transport such items.  

 

HB 1934 (McCall/Treat) creates the 

Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit Act 

and provides legislative intent. The measure 

creates an income tax credit for qualified 

expenses related to private school tuition 

and fees equal to the following:   

1) A maximum $7,500.00 credit if the 

adjusted gross income (AGI) of the eligible 

student’s household for the second 

preceding tax year was less than $75,000.00;  

2)  A max $7,000.00 credit if the AGI of the 

eligible student’s household for the second 

preceding tax year was more than 

$75,000.00 but less than $150,000.00;  

3)  A max $6,500.00 credit if the AGI of the 

eligible student’s household for the second 

preceding tax year was more than 

$150,000.00 but less than $225,000.00;  

4)  A max $6,000.00 credit if the AGI of the 

eligible student’s household for the second 

preceding tax year was more than 

$225,000.00 but less than $250,000.00;  

5) A max $5,000.00 credit if the AGI of the 

eligible student’s household for the second 

preceding tax year was more than 

$250,000.00.   

The amount of the tax credit shall be equal 

to the private school tuition and fees or the 

maximum credit allowed according to the 

AGI of the eligible student’s household, 

whichever is less. The bill also establishes a 

$1,000.00 per-student income tax credit for 

qualified expenses related to 

homeschooling. A taxpayer claiming this 

credit must submit receipts to the Oklahoma 

Tax Commission. The measure authorizes 

students participating in the newly created 

Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit 

Program to accept scholarships from the 

Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarships for 

Students with Disabilities Program.  The bill 

also establishes caps on the amount of total 

credits that may be claimed. The total 

amount of tax credits claimed for private 

school tuition and fees shall not exceed $150 

million for tax year 2024, $200 million for 

tax year 2025, and $250 million for tax year 

2026 and subsequent tax years. The measure 

caps the total amount of credit claimed for 

homeschooling expenses at $5 million per 

year.   The bill directs the Oklahoma Tax 

Commission to establish a process for 

applying for private school tax credits in 

order to receive installment payments:  1) A 

taxpayer must submit an application by a 

deadline set by the OTC. Private school tax 

credits will only be provided through up-

front installment payments. 2) The taxpayer 

must also submit an affidavit from the 

private school the student is enrolled in or 

will enroll in, listing the school’s tuition and 

fees for the applicable school year. 3) Each 

installment payment will be half of the 

expected amount of private school tuition 

and fees or half the max credit amount, 

whichever is less. 4) In reviewing 

applications for eligibility, the OTC will 

give preference to those who claim credits 

and have a household income of less than 

$150,000.00.  The measure provides that no 

liability shall arise on the part of the 

Oklahoma Tax Commission, State 

Department of Education, State Board of 

Education, the state, a public school district, 

a public charter school, a public virtual 

charter school, or a magnet school based on 

the award of or use of a tax credit. In the 

event the measure is challenged in court, the 

measure authorizes taxpayers to intervene 

for the purposes of defending the Oklahoma 

Parental Choice Tax Credit Program’s 

constitutionality, though the court may 

require that all taxpayers file a joint brief. 

The Commission shall also publish on its 

website the total amount of credits claimed 

in each year. The Commission is authorized 

to conduct an audit or contract for the 

auditing of receipts for qualified expenses.  

The measure directs the State Department of 
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Education to provide parents, legal 

guardians, custodians, or other persons with 

legal authority of eligible students with 

disabilities notice that participation in the 

Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit 

Program shall have the same effect as a 

parental revocation of consent. The 

Department is also directed to create a user-

friendly website for users to publicly rate, 

review, and share information about 

education service providers. 

 

HB 2180 (D. Lowe/K. Thompson) requires 

a student enrolled in a virtual charter school 

alternative education program and who 

attends a full abbreviated day to be counted 

in full attendance for purposes of computing 

the average daily attendance and average 

daily membership.  If a student attending a 

virtual charter alternative education program 

is reported for truancy twice in the same 

year, the measure allows the school to seek a 

waiver on the student's behalf allowing the 

student to continue attending the school. 

 

HB 2265 (Johns/Weaver) allows schools to 

offer an elective course in law enforcement 

to 11th and 12th grade students. The State 

Board of Education may coordinate with the 

Council on Law Enforcement Education and 

Training (CLEET) to develop instructional 

materials.    

 

HB 2314 (Hilbert/Pugh) allows school 

districts to provide transportation to students 

living outside the boundaries of the district.  

 

HB 2679 (Baker/Rader) allows the provider 

of a teacher certification pathways pilot 

program to establish a partnership with a 

college or university.    

 

HB 2901 (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

appropriates $500 million to be distributed 

to public schools through the State Aid 

funding formula. The measure further 

appropriates $125 million to the School 

Building Equalization Fund to be distributed 

to schools through the redbud school grants 

program. The measure clarifies that, moving 

forward, if appropriations to the State Aid 

school funding formula, and grants provided 

through the redbud school grants program, 

fall below the amounts appropriated in the 

fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, the tax 

credits authorized through the Oklahoma 

Parental Choice Tax Credit Act shall be 

reduced proportionately.   

 

HB 2902 (Wallace/R. Thompson) increases 

the transportation factor to 2.0 from 1.39, 

the weight for economically disadvantaged 

students to 0.3 from 0.25, and the average 

daily membership of schools included in the 

small school district portion of the formula 

to 750 from 529 as they relate to the State 

Aid Formula.  

 

HB 2903 (Wallace/R. Thompson) requires 

the State Department of Education (SDE) to 

establish a 3-year pilot program called the 

School Resource Officer Program. The 

School Resource Officers (SROs) 

participating in the program must complete 

active shooter emergency response training 

provided by CLEET. An SRO is defined as 

a law enforcement officer with training in 

school-based law enforcement and crisis 

response.   The measure establishes a School 

Security Revolving Fund. The SDE may use 

money in the Fund to establish the School 

Resource Officer Program and provide 

physical security enhancements for schools. 

Expenditures from the fund may not exceed 

$50 million per year. 

 

HB 2904 (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

appropriates $150 million into the School 

Security Revolving Fund.  

Higher Education  
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SB 86 (Hall/Moore) authorizes certified 

copies of any record in the clerk’s office and 

any account on file pertaining to property to 

be delivered in digital format in accordance 

with the Uniform Real Property Electronic 

Recording Act. The clerk may charge a fee 

for such deliveries.   

 

SB 322 (Seifried/T. West) clarifies that 

provisions regarding digital or online library 

database resource availability in institutions 

of higher education do not apply when the 

primary purpose of the resources is for 

education or research. 

 

SB 550 (Seifried/Moore) directs the 

Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 

Education beginning with the 2023-2024 

academic year to establish and collect fees 

annually for authorization of certain private 

and out-of-state public degree-granting 

institutions; require applicants for such 

authorization to submit a payment to the 

Tuition Recovery Revolving Fund created in 

the bill; and deny, not renew, or revoke an 

institution’s authorization for violations of 

statutes or failure to meet certain minimum 

standards. It also creates the Tuition 

Recovery Revolving Fund to offset student 

tuition losses in the event an institution 

closes or ceases operations. 

 

SB 28x (R. Thompson/Wallace) authorizes 

the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 

Education to expend funds for certain 

purposes, including $17.4 million for an 

incentive scholarship program and teacher 

employment incentive program, $12.5 

million for the National Guard Educational 

Assistance Fund, $48.9 million for faculty 

pay raises, $20 million for expanding 

engineering programs, $5 million for 

application-based health care, $12.5 million 

for developing critical workforce 

development initiatives, $12.5 million for 

ensuring student success and institutional 

excellence, and $200,000.00 to establish a 

food pantry. 

 

SB 38x (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $5 million from the Statewide 

Recovery Fund to the Oklahoma State 

Regents for Higher Education to implement 

teacher acceleration programs. The measure 

authorizes the State Regents to enter into 

memorandums of understanding with other 

agencies for the auditing, documentation, 

evaluation, implementation, oversight, 

reporting, and management of funds and 

associated efforts. The measure authorizes 

the State Regents to retain up to 2% of the 

appropriated funds for administrative costs. 

The measure requires the State Regents to 

submit quarterly budgeting reports to the 

Senate and House chairs of the Joint 

Committee on Pandemic Relief Funding. 

The State Regents must also prove that any 

nonprofits associated with the project can 

provide direct services to Oklahomans, are 

in good standing with the state, and are in 

compliance with state and federal tax laws. 

 

HB 2094 (Echols/McCortney) allows a 

governing board member of a state college 

or university to audit a class free of charge. 

The member shall not earn academic credit 

in this manner. 

 

HB 2885 (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

appropriates $9 million to the Oklahoma 

State Regents for Higher Education to cover 

costs for the Oklahoma National Guard 

Educational Assistance Program.   

 

HB 2559 (McBride/Pemberton) modifies the 

Oklahoma Future Teacher Scholarship & 

Employment Incentive Program and 

renames it the Inspired to Teach Program.      

 

HB 2663 (Miller/Hamilton) removes the 

time restrictions that discharged uniformed 

service members or their dependents and 
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spouses must comply with in order to be 

eligible for in-state tuition status at an 

Oklahoma college or university. 

Energy, Environment, & Utilities 

 
SB 19 (Burns/T. Caldwell) provides that 

energy produced from bioenergy feedstocks 

from forest products manufacturing as well 

as agricultural harvesting shall be 

considered renewable and carbon neutral. 

Such energy, when paired with carbon 

capture technologies, shall be considered 

carbon negative. 

 

SB 200 (Rader/Boles) requires the 

Corporation Commission and Department of 

Environmental Quality to comply with the 

federal Safe Drinking Water Act and to 

evaluate the regulatory and statutory 

framework that governs the agency and 

identify and report any areas in which 

modifications may be needed to the 

Secretary of Energy and Environment to 

provide for the development of 

Underground Injection Control Class VI 

wells. Agencies are directed to consult with 

the Secretary and work in conjunction with 

the Office of Energy and Environment to 

ensure timely analysis. Findings from the 

report shall be submitted in a report to the 

Governor, Secretary of Energy and 

Environment, President Pro Tempore of the 

Senate, and the Speaker of the House of 

Representatives no later than August 1, 

2023.  

 

SB 255 (Rader/T. Caldwell) codifies in state 

law the requirements for motor fuel 

containing 15% ethanol to be labeled 

pursuant to current federal requirements, to 

ensure that there are consumer protections in 

place should the federal regulation ever be 

rolled back. 

 

SB 497 (Paxton/T. Caldwell) expands the 

term “excavate” as it relates to the 

Oklahoma Underground Facilities Damage 

Prevention Act to include the moving of 

earth by tools manipulated only by human 

power for burying communication lines of a 

communications provider in a private or 

public easement or right-of-way when depth 

is not greater than 12 inches and within 12 

inches of a communications provider 

terminal. The measure also provides that 

when a design or survey notice is received, 

operators must provide underground 

facilities information within 14 calendar 

days from the time of the request which may 

include physical markings at the project site, 

facility mapping, or both. Operators must 

also provide the one-call notification center 

with the necessary information for notices to 

be sent.   

 

SB 502 (Hall/Hilbert) creates the Oklahoma 

Electric Vehicle Charging Act. The measure 

provides that a retail electric supplier that 

owns or operates a direct current fast 

charging station shall do so only through a 

separate, unregulated entity. A municipality 

that owns or operates an electric charging 

station that begins operations after the 

effective date of the measure shall not use 

revenues derived by the municipality from 

the sale of electric power delivered through 

a municipally owned electric distribution 

system in order to construct or maintain the 

electric charging station. The Corporation 

Commission shall have authority to enforce 

violations of this measure for retail electric 

suppliers that are rate-regulated by the 

Corporation Commission. District courts 

shall enforce violations for retail electric 

suppliers that are not rate-regulated. 

 

SB 852 (Rader/Boles) provides that if 

methane is being emitted from a well while 

the Corporation Commission is performing 

remedial work, the Commission may capture 

such emissions from the abandoned or 

orphaned well and obtain any carbon credits 
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that may be available for the captured 

emissions. If the Commission sells the 

credits, the proceeds must be deposited into 

the Oil and Gas Division Revolving Fund 

and may be used to offset the cost of testing 

for methane. The Commission may hire a 

vendor to administer the testing. The 

measure also clarifies that the Corporation 

Commission can use other carbon registry 

standards besides those of the American 

Carbon Registry.    

 

HB 1928 (Sims/Rader) creates the Hazard 

Mitigation Financial Assistance Fund for the 

Oklahoma Water Resources Board. The 

purpose of the fund is to provide loans and 

grants to be used for implementing hazard 

mitigation planning and projects. 

Specifically, eligible entities are able to use 

the grants to develop an approved 

local/regional hazard mitigation planning 

document, acquire land or conservation 

easements to mitigate hazards, and 

implement voluntary incentive-based hazard 

mitigation measures to facilitate compliance 

with state or national regulations. The 

measure also clarifies language and 

broadens the applicability of this measure 

from flood hazard mitigation projects to 

include other hazard mitigation projects as 

well.     

 

HB 1965 (Newton/Howard) allows electric, 

telecommunications, and broadband 

providers to utilize existing electrical utility 

easements to provide or expand access to 

broadband services. The measure prohibits 

class action lawsuits alleging trespass, 

nuisance, or inverse condemnation based on 

a claim of expanded easement use when the 

broadband facilities are located on above 

ground property owned or utilized by an 

electric provider. Such claims must be 

brought individually by a property owner. 

Upon a successful claim by the property 

owner and payment of damages to the 

property owner, an electric or broadband 

provider will be granted a permanent 

easement for the use of the facilities 

installed.   

 

HB 1982 (Boles/Paxton) removes obsolete 

language requiring the Oklahoma Water 

Resources Board to develop and submit a 

report to the Legislature every other year 

about the status of water quality monitoring 

in Oklahoma and to promulgate water 

quality standards for state waters.   

 

HB 2053 (Hardin/Howard) allows a 

groundwater permit applicant whose 

application has been appealed to take 

groundwater while their appeal is pending 

unless the appellant has shown a high 

likelihood their appeal will be granted. Any 

preliminary injunctive relief must be 

restricted to amending the harm stated in the 

appeal. In order for a court to enjoin an 

application for a groundwater permit from a 

sole source aquifer, an appellant must show 

a high likelihood of success, clear and 

convincing evidence of irreparable harm, the 

balance of equities tips significantly in their 

favor, or the order is clearly in the public 

interest. Any appeals of an approved 

groundwater permit filed solely on the basis 

of the industry or entity applying shall be 

dismissed. If such appeals are found to be 

frivolous, the court may impose sanctions 

against the appellant and their attorney as 

well as require them to reimburse reasonable 

costs.   

 

HB 2239 (Dobrinski/Jech) creates the Terry 

Peach North Canadian Watershed 

Restoration Act. The measure establishes a 

pilot program to remove or eradicate 

harmful woody species in the North 

Canadian Watershed to be administered by 

the Oklahoma Conservation Commission. 

The measure also creates the North 
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Canadian Watershed Restoration Revolving 

Fund to fund the program.  

 

HB 2242 (Dobrinski/Pugh) requires public 

utilities and municipally owned utility 

providers to waive the initial credit and 

deposit requirements for victims of domestic 

violence. A victim seeking such waiver must 

have a certification letter proving they are a 

victim of domestic violence. The criteria for 

such letter is listed in the measure. 

 

HB 2293 (Pfeiffer/Jech) creates the Flood 

and Drought Management Task Force. The 

Task Force shall develop state drought and 

flood response, recovery, and mitigation 

initiatives as well as coordinate with the 

Oklahoma Water Resources Board in order 

to update the Oklahoma Comprehensive 

Water Plan and State Flood Plan beginning 

in 2025 and every 10 years thereafter.  

 

HB 2359 (Boles/Paxton) requires the owner 

of a renewable energy recycling facility to 

submit an annual report to the Public Utility 

Division of the Corporation Commission no 

later than February 1 detailing the current 

total inventory of renewable energy 

components accepted for recycling, but not 

yet recycled, an estimated timeline for the 

finality of recycling of those renewable 

energy components, and the cost for 

completing the recycling. Owners shall also 

be required to submit evidence of financial 

security to cover the costs. The measure 

requires owners to prove that they can cover 

125% of the estimated total cost of recycling 

reported. The measure directs the Division 

to publish a list of those renewable energy 

recycling facilities that have submitted the 

report and evidence of financial security. 

Any owner that fails to submit a report shall 

be subject to a $500.00 administrative fine. 

Each recycling facility is also required to 

submit an annual fee of $1,000.00 at the 

time of annual filing.    

 

HB 2845 (T. Caldwell/Green) prohibits a 

retail electric supplier from extending its 

service to an unincorporated area that is not 

its own property, and to which it is not the 

closest provider, unless the connected load 

for initial full operation of the facility is 

expected to be 10,000 kw or larger.  

Election Measures 

 
SB 266 (Rader/Boatman) provides that an 

area affecting less than 1,500 voters may be 

designated as a sub-precinct. Current law 

only allows such a designation if it would 

affect less than 500 voters.   

 

SB 290 (Hamilton/Olsen) increases the 

compensation paid to election inspectors 

from $110.00 to $225.00. Election judge and 

clerk compensation is increased from 

$100.00 to $200.00.    

 

SB 375 (Howard/Newton) specifies that 

primary elections shall occur on the third 

Tuesday of June instead of the last Tuesday 

of June. Additionally, the measure modifies 

the declaration of candidacy period. 

Declarations of Candidacy must be filed no 

earlier than 8:00 am on the first Wednesday 

of April of any even-numbered year and no 

later than 5:00 pm on the next succeeding 

Friday. 

 

SB 376 (Howard/Newton) provides that 

name and address of residence of the person 

chosen by an absentee voter to mark the 

voter’s ballot shall be printed on the 

affidavit.    

 

SB 377 (Howard/Newton) provides that the 

registration of a voter shall be canceled if he 

or she is excused from jury duty due to not 

being a citizen of the United States. The 

measure directs the court clerk of each 

county to prepare a list of all persons who 

were excused from jury duty for not being a 
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citizen of the United States and provide the 

list to the secretary of the county election 

board. The secretary is directed to report 

such a person to the district attorney and the 

United States attorney for the county.  The 

measure also provides that any voter who 

voluntarily cancels his or her voter 

registration shall be eligible to submit a new 

voter registration application in the same 

county when 60 or more calendar days have 

passed since the submission of the request 

for cancellation. Voter identification cards 

shall be submitted to the voter’s physical 

mailing address unless it is determined that 

voter’s physical address of residence cannot 

receive mail. If it is determined the voter’s 

physical address cannot receive mail, the 

secretary of the county election board may 

make a notation of such information in the 

election management system.   

 

SB 410 (Daniels/Lepak) modifies set back 

requirements for polling places. The 

measure provides that no person engaged in 

electioneering may be within 300 feet of the 

entrance of a polling place or person 

standing in line to vote rather than the ballot 

box. Electioneering is defined as advocating 

directly for or against a candidate or 

question that is or will be on the ballot at 

any election as well as gathering signatures 

for a petition to place an issue or question on 

a future ballot or soliciting contact 

information or distributing information for 

any candidate or issue that might be on a 

future ballot.   

 

SB 481 (Rader/Boatman) adds the definition 

“election officials” as it relates to the crime 

of threatening, intimidating, harassing, or 

doxing certain persons. The measure also 

authorizes the Secretary of the State Election 

Board to promulgate rules to keep 

confidential the residence and mailing 

address of the secretary, assistant secretary, 

employees, and members of a county 

election board or the State Election Board. 

The measure specifies that any person who 

utters or addresses any threat or intimidation 

to any election official or impersonates such 

an official, shall be deemed guilty of a 

misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine 

of $1,000.00 and/or a term of imprisonment 

not to exceed 6 months.   

 

SB 677 (Treat/Miller) provides that the 

candidate’s place of residence and mailing 

address shall not be made public relating to  

Declarations of Candidacy. The measure 

provides that the address of a candidate may 

be provided to a candidate, candidate 

representative, or other lawful authority in 

anticipation of or as part of a contest of 

candidacy or contest of an election. 

Candidates are also required to provide a 

voter registration verification form. The 

form shall require the candidate to provide 

his or her name, date of birth, address of 

residence, party affiliation, voter 

identification number, the precinct and 

county where the candidate is registered, 

and the original date of voter registration 

within the county. Additionally, the 

candidate shall disclose the districts in 

which he or she is registered to vote. The 

secretary of the election board with whom 

the candidate is required to file may only 

accept a Declaration of Candidacy if the 

information contained on the voter 

registration verification form matches the 

information provided on the Declaration of 

Candidacy. This provision shall not apply to 

federal candidates.    

 

SB 1040 (Jech/Worthen) provides that if a 

person applied for the issuance or renewal of 

an Oklahoma driver license, Service 

Oklahoma shall inquire whether the person 

wishes to register to vote or to change his or 

her address for voting purposes. Any person 

who declines to register must opt out of 

registration using electronic means or in 
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writing. The completed electronic voter 

registration applications shall be 

electronically transmitted by the agency 

accepting the application to the State 

Election Board or county election board. No 

voter registration services shall be offered to 

any person who provides documentation 

indicating he or she is not a citizen of the 

United States. The measure eliminates 

obsolete language authorizing the Secretary 

of the State Election Board to develop a 

system to electronically transmit voter 

registration applications from licensed 

operators to the State Election Board or 

county election boards. 

 

HB 1950 (McCall/Treat) requires the 

Secretary of the State Election Board to 

obtain official death records from the Social 

Security Administration and compare them 

against the state voter registration database. 

The measure also authorizes the Secretary of 

the State Election Board to obtain official 

death records from other states and then he 

or she must compare that data against the 

state's voter registration database. Any 

possible match will be transmitted to the 

secretary of the relevant county election 

board where he or she will ascertain any 

deceased voter and remove their information 

from the database. The State Election Board 

and county election boards must not release 

official death records in response to an 

Oklahoma Open Records Act request and 

must protect the data's integrity.  

 

HB 2052 (Roberts/Bergstrom) requires a 

multistate voter list maintenance 

organization to certify to the State Election 

Board that membership meets listed 

requirements. If the organization identifies 

eligible voters who are not registered, the 

Secretary of the State Election Board may 

notify them about the procedure for 

registering, but the notification must not 

include an application. Motor vehicle license 

data shall not be provided for persons who 

are identified as not being citizens of the 

United States. The measure provides that the 

state shall not join such an organization if a 

notification is required to be sent to persons 

who are eligible to vote but not yet 

registered to vote, membership in the 

organization includes any person or entity 

other than a state or territory of the United 

States, the governing board of the 

organization includes any member or ex 

officio member who is not a representative 

of a state or territory of the United States, or 

the organization provides or releases voter 

registration data or motor vehicle license 

data received from this state to any party 

other than a state or territory of the United 

States that is a member of the organization.  

It will be unlawful for the voter list 

maintenance organization to provide 

information received to a third party or use 

the information for anything except voter 

roll maintenance. Oklahoma will 

immediately withdraw from the organization 

if evidence of these actions emerges. The 

Attorney General will have the authority to 

pursue litigation in a state district court for 

damages caused in a case of unlawful data 

sharing. If the Attorney General declines to 

pursue action, the Secretary of the State 

Election Board or the Legislature by a 

majority vote may initiate an action to hire 

outside counsel.  The Secretary of the State 

Election Board must publish annual 

designated costs associated with 

organization membership and listed 

statistical information. Additionally, the 

Secretary of the State Election Board must 

ensure an electronic copy of the voter 

registration information is publicly 

available.   

 

HB 2682 (Lepak/Daniels) deletes persons 

who serve as unpaid interns or who 

volunteer their labor for community service 

credit or school credit from the list of which 
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will not be considered a contribution, or 

thing of value in the measure prohibiting 

offering such things for the purposes of 

conducting or administering any election. 

The measure requires that food or beverage 

items provided be of nominal value and 

provides that donations not directly related 

may be accepted. The measure prohibits any 

person from offering or providing any 

contribution, donation, or anything else of 

value for purposes of conducting or 

administrating any election as outlined in the 

measure. Donations that are not directly 

related to election administration may be 

accepted only upon written approval by the 

Governor and written notification sent to 

Legislature leadership.  

County and Municipal Government 

 
SB 78 (Newhouse/Ford) authorizes certified 

copies of any record in the clerk’s office and 

any account on file pertaining to property to 

be delivered in digital format in accordance 

with the Uniform Real Property Electronic 

Recording Act. The clerk may charge a fee 

for such deliveries.   

 

SB 168 (Coleman/McDugle) prohibits any 

building code, law, or regulation from 

prohibiting or limiting the use of a 

refrigerant designated as acceptable for use 

if any equipment containing such refrigerant 

is listed and installed in accordance with 

safety standards and use conditions imposed. 

 

SB 460 (R. Thompson/Martinez) expands 

the definition “video services” as it relates to 

regulating and licensing of video service 

providers by municipalities to include 

providers of direct broadcast satellite service 

and providers of digital audiovisual works 

delivered over the Internet. The CS updates 

statutory language and specifies that video 

services shall not include direct-to-home 

satellite services that are transmitted from a 

satellite directly to a customer’s premises 

without using or accessing any portion of 

the public right-of-way.   

 

SB 507 (Hall/Burns) clarifies that 

membership training requirements for 

county boards of equalization and excise 

boards shall only apply on the member’s 

first term. 

 

SB 776 (Stewart/Cantrell) authorizes boards 

of county commissioners to enter into 

intergovernmental cooperative agreements 

with local governmental units.   

 

SB 952 (Kidd/Sims) raises the cost threshold 

for county equipment that must be entered 

into the board of county commissioner 

meeting minutes and for county equipment 

that can be used as a trade-in on cash 

purchases or lease purchases from $500.00 

to $1,000.00.   

 

HB 1066 (Talley/Alvord) clarifies that an 

incumbent county commissioner who runs 

unopposed or wins reelection at either the 

primary or the general election is allowed to 

deem county property as surplus during an 

election cycle in which 2 county 

commissioners are running for election at 

the same time.    

 

HB 1894 (Cantrell/Kidd) allows county 

clerks to digitally sign, accept, or receive 

documents. The measure also allows photo 

copies, photographs, digital copies, 

photographic film, or optical disk versions 

of records to serve as the original record and 

to be admissible by the county for accounts 

payable and inventory.   

 

HB 2004 (Boatman/Seifried) allows a 

county treasurer to forgo the issuance of a 

tax warrant for delinquent personal property 

taxes when the amount owed is less than 

$25.00.   
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HB 2288 (Pfeiffer/Howard) declares all 

illegal discriminatory restrictive covenants 

contained in any real property record to be 

null and void. Any person that owns real 

property, has interest in real property, or has 

the permission of the owner of the real 

property with such restrictions may file a 

declaration with the county clerk that he or 

she wishes for all illegal discriminatory 

restrictive covenants included in the 

property records to be removed and deemed 

unenforceable. The measure includes the 

language for a template declaration form.   

 

HB 2361 (Boles/Garvin) requires a reserve 

minimum bid to be placed on properties 

being sold by a county that covers any taxes, 

abatement costs, penalties, interests, or other 

costs due to a municipality if notice is given 

to the county treasurer. The measure 

provides for property and nuisance property 

to be bid off in the name of a municipality if 

that municipality has outstanding liens on 

the property and requests it in writing.  

 

HB 2538 (Lawson/Kidd) requires any 

pooled investment program for a county, 

city, or town to be governed through an 

interlocal cooperative agreement. The 

governing body of the local government 

must amend its written investment policies 

prior to participating in a qualified program. 

The measure also allows investment 

purchases by a qualified program to bypass 

existing investment restrictions.   

State Government 

 
SB 67 (Howard/Ford) requires all state 

agencies, including those normally granted 

an exemption from Fleet Management 

Division reporting requirements, to submit 

fleet data to the Division. Additionally, the 

measure provides that the President Pro 

Tempore of the Senate and Speaker of the 

House of Representatives, in addition to the 

Governor, shall receive the yearly financial 

statement from the Division as well as the 

yearly inventory of state agency motor 

vehicles.    

 

SB 97 (Floyd/Stinson) modifies 

confidentiality provisions relating to dispute 

proceedings as outlined in the Dispute 

Resolution Act. The measure extends 

confidentiality to include mediation 

scheduling, attendance, participation, and 

the discussion of any proposed settlement 

agreement, items agreed upon or disputed, 

or the intent of the parties. The mediator’s 

report to the court shall not remain 

confidential.     

 

SB 161 (Daniels/Kendrix) extends the 

sunset date for the Oklahoma Funeral Board 

from July 1, 2023, to July 1, 2024.   

 

SB 173 (Dugger/Kendrix) extends the sunset 

date for the Oklahoma Accountancy Board 

from July 1, 2023, to July 1, 2028.  

 

SB 316 (Pemberton/Moore) exempts 

institutions comprising The Oklahoma State 

System of Higher Education from reporting 

requirements as it relates to the Office of 

Management and Enterprise Services report 

on state-owned property.    

 

SB 404 (Daniels/Echols) deems any 

exclusion of a person or entity from 

participation in or receipt of governmental 

funds, benefits, programs, or exemptions 

based solely on the religious character or 

affiliation of the person or entity as a 

substantial burden.   

 

SB 515 (Bergstrom/Kendrix) eliminates the 

Joint Committee on Administrative Rules. 

The measure also repeals language 

providing for an expedited rule repeal 

process.   
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SB 571 (Montgomery/Roe) extends the 

sunset date of the Long-Term Care Facility 

Advisory Council from July 1, 2023, to July 

1, 2025, and modifies the Council’s 

membership. The measure provides that 

each member shall serve a term of 2 years. 

The duties of the Council are modified to 

include a review of quality of services, care, 

and treatment provided to individuals 

receiving services from entities that are 

subject to the Nursing Home Care Act, the 

Residential Care Act and the Adult Day 

Care Act, and the measure removes several 

duties of the Council.   

 

SB 607 (Rader/Kendrix) authorizes the 

Oklahoma Tax Commission to pay dues for 

membership in professional organizations or 

costs related to virtual or in-person 

continuing education for Commission 

members or employees of the Commission 

who are certified public accountants or 

licensed attorneys. 

 

SB 612 (Howard/Osburn) requires 

background investigations to be conducted 

on every employee of the Oklahoma Lottery 

Commission. The measure also strikes 

language requiring the Commission to 

provide a report regarding the impact of 

removing the requirement that net proceeds 

shall equal at least 35% of the gross 

proceeds. Additionally, the measure requires 

any person claiming a lottery prize greater 

than $5,000.00 to provide the Commission 

with his or her name, address, social security 

number or tax identification number, proof 

of social security number or tax 

identification number, and sufficient valid 

identification prior to payment of the prize 

by the Commission. Such information shall 

not be subject to the Oklahoma Open 

Records Act and shall be kept confidential. 

The measure also repeals statutes providing 

for the creation of the Lottery Retailer 

Advisory Board and Oklahoma Lottery 

Commission Legislative Oversight 

Committee. 

 

SB 704 (Haste/Roe) adds a new member to 

the Oklahoma State University Medical 

Authority, who shall be a member of the 

Board of Regents for the Oklahoma 

Agricultural and Mechanical Colleges. The 

measure exempts the Oklahoma State 

University Medical Authority and Oklahoma 

State University Medical Trust from the 

provisions of the Oklahoma Central 

Purchasing Act for the purposes of the 

constructing of clinical facilities in 

furtherance of the purposes authorized by 

the Oklahoma State University Medical 

Authority Act. The measure repeals the 

Oklahoma State University Medical 

Authority Marketing Revolving Fund.   

 

SB 745 (Coleman/Hilbert) sets the term 

limits for members serving on the Incentive 

Evaluation Commission at 4 years beginning 

January 1, 2026. The measure authorizes the 

Commission to conduct an expedited 

evaluation for any incentive that has been 

evaluated at least two times from calendar 

years 2016 through 2023 and has not had a 

material change to the program since its 

prior evaluation.  The measure requires the 

Commission’s contract with third-party 

vendors for services to include the 

requirement to provide 1 draft report for 

each incentive prior to the issuance of the 

final draft report.    

 

SB 837 (Weaver/Steagall) designates 

October of every year as Pregnancy, Infant, 

and Childhood Loss Awareness Month. 

 

SB 939 (Jech/Archer) increases the number 

of terms a member of the Board of Directors 

for the Oklahoma Space Industry 

Development Authority may serve from 2 to 

3 terms.    
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SB 1091 (Floyd/Munson) requires the 

member appointed as a representative of the 

securities industry on the Oklahoma 

Securities Commission to be a resident of 

the state and have at least 10 years of 

experience in the industry immediately 

preceding appointment. Such member must 

not have been subject to a regulatory action 

requiring disclosure on the uniform 

applications for registration for agents, 

investment advisers, or investment adviser 

representatives. The member may be 

removed by the Governor when he or she 

ceases to be qualified.   

 

SJR 22 (Bergstrom/Kendrix) approves all 

proposed permanent rules of the Oklahoma 

state agencies filed on or before April 1, 

2023 except for OAC 317:30-3-35, 

submitted by the Oklahoma Health Care 

Authority, and OAC 210:10-2-1, 210:10-2-

2, 210:10-2-3, 210:10-2-4, 210:35-3-121, 

210:35-3-121.1, 210:35-3-126, and 210:35-

3-128, submitted by the State Department of 

Education. Certain rules filed before April 1, 

2023 are disapproved.  

 

HB 1774 (Williams/Bullard) provides that 

competitive bidding requirements shall not 

apply to contracts for the study, analysis, 

and planning to aid in determining the 

feasibility of leasing, selling, or privately 

managing or developing the property or 

facilities under control of the Oklahoma 

Tourism and Recreation Commission.  The 

State Purchasing Director is directed to audit 

and review all uses of this exemption. The 

measure clarifies that any entity receiving an 

exemption is not authorized to engage in bid 

splitting. Additionally, the exemption 

provided to the Commission specifically 

shall not be construed for the use of leasing 

or contracting for state-owned restaurants in 

Oklahoma state parks. The Oklahoma 

Tourism and Recreation Department shall 

not be required to purchase furniture, 

fixtures, equipment, and soft goods 

associated with decor of the state parks, 

lodges, golf courses, and tourism 

information centers from Oklahoma prisons 

or reformatories.   

 

HB 1794 (Osburn/Pugh) allows an 

administrative law judge to acquire 

additional documentation or witnesses in the 

event existing documents or witnesses in an 

employee’s disciplinary file are not 

sufficient for reviewing employee 

complaints on disciplinary actions taken by 

a state agency.  The measure modifies the 

language regarding the duties of the Human 

Capital Management Administrator. The 

Human Capital Management Administrator, 

in collaboration with the executive branch 

agencies and their human resource 

personnel, is required to establish and define 

statewide standards for human resource 

business processes to be followed by all 

executive branch state agencies. The Human 

Capital Management Administrator is also 

required to establish and maintain a 

statewide job catalog and pay structure for 

executive branch jobs as well as establish 

policies and procedures regarding pay 

systems and dispute resolution for issues not 

rising to the level of a disciplinary action.    

 

HB 1847 (Kane/Green) requires any 

Emergency Drought Commission formed to 

include 1 member appointed by the 

President Pro Tempore of the Senate and 1 

member appointed by the Speaker of the 

House of Representatives. The Speaker's 

appointment must reside west of I-35 and 

the Pro Tempore’s appointment must reside 

east of I-35.   

 

HB 2026 (Wolfley/Pemberton) requires the 

Office of Management and Enterprise 

Services to provide a monthly reconciliation 

report to the Oklahoma Public Employees 

Association that lists the names of state 
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employees that pay their membership dues 

through payroll deductions.   

 

HB 2253 (Burns/Jech) provides that 

vehicles used by the Office of the Attorney 

General are not required to be officially 

marked as State of Oklahoma vehicles.  The 

measure allows the Office of the Attorney 

General to purchase vehicles and allow 

employees to use a state-owned or state-

leased vehicle to provide transportation 

between the residence of the employee and 

the assigned place of employment. 

 

HB 2425 (May/Stephens) requires any 

amendments or modifications to the 

currently adopted state building codes to be 

forwarded to the Oklahoma Uniform 

Building Code Commission for 

consideration. 

 

HB 2463 (Hill/K. Thompson) establishes the 

Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of 

Science and Technology Program 

Modernization Act. The measure modifies 

the duties for the Oklahoma Center for the 

Advancement of Science and Technology. 

 

HB 2472 (Archer/Paxton) allows public 

entities to make an initial payment for a 

performance-based efficiency contract from 

any funds available at the entity’s disposal 

disposal. Such payments are required to be 

offset by savings to the public entity over 

the term of the agreement.   

 

HB 2678 (Baker/Murdock) prohibits a 

person from serving on the State Board of 

Education if he or she is also on the board of 

education of a school district supervised by 

the State Board.   

 

HB 2792 (Stinson/Howard) directs the 

Oklahoma Bar Association to develop 

garnishment- and eviction-related legal 

forms, which are required to be linked to on 

the Oklahoma State Courts Network website 

for public access. 

 

HB 2799 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Child Death Review 

Board within the Oklahoma Commission on 

Children and Youth to 2026.  

 

HB 2801 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the State Board of Examiners 

of Certified Shorthand Reporters to 2026.  

 

HB 2802 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Water Quality 

Management Advisory Council, the 

Hazardous Waste Management Advisory 

Council, the Solid Waste Management 

Advisory Council, and the Radiation 

Management Advisory Council within the 

Department of Environmental Quality to 

2026.  

 

HB 2805 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the Board of Governors of 

the Licensed Architects, Landscape 

Architects and Registered Commercial 

Interior Designers of Oklahoma to 2026. 

 

HB 2806 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the Oklahoma Energy 

Resources Board to 2027.   

 

HB 2808 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

State Board of Licensure for Professional 

Engineers and Land Surveyors to 2026.  

 

HB 2809 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Board of Examiners in 

Optometry from 2026. 

 

HB 2810 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the Construction Industries 

Board until 2026.  
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HB 2811 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the State Board of Licensed 

Social Workers to 2025.  

 

HB 2812 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the State Board of Examiners 

of Psychologists to 2025.  

 

HB 2813 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Polygraph Examiners 

Board to 2029. 

 

HB 2814 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the Oklahoma Board of 

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors to 

2025. 

 

HB 2815 (Kendrix/Daniels) extends the 

sunset date for the State Board of Behavioral 

Health Licensure to 2025. 

 

HB 2816 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the State Anatomical Board 

to 2025.  

 

HB 2818 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Opioid Overdose Fatality 

Review Board to 2025. 

 

HB 2821 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Oklahoma Climatological 

Survey to 2026. 

 

HB 2822 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

sunset date for the Board of Tests for 

Alcohol and Drug Influence to 2026. 

 

HB 2824 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) transfers all 

employees, powers, functions, and duties of 

the Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for 

Long-Term Care Administrators to the State 

Department of Health. The measure 

empowers the Commissioner of Health to 

determine the qualifications, skill, and 

fitness of any person to serve as a long-term 

care administrator. The measure requires the 

Department to give an administrator who the 

Department has determined has violated the 

Long-Term Care Administrator Licensing 

Act an opportunity to participate in an 

independent informal dispute resolution 

process of the case. The Department may 

contract with an impartial third party or use 

an impartial panel to make a final 

determination of a potential violation. The 

measure also recodifies and repeals various 

provisions relating to the State Board. 

 

HB 2858 (Wallace/Coleman) modifies the 

powers of the Construction Industries Board 

by adding home inspectors to the Board's 

purview for regulation and authorizing the 

Board to exercise duties necessary to 

implement the Roofing Contractor 

Registration Act. The Board is also required 

to review and vote on all fines, penalties, 

and fees no later than 90 days from which 

they are imposed. Current law requires such 

meetings to occur by the last day of the 

monthly quarter. Additionally, the measure 

specifies that applications for Skilled Trade 

Education and Workforce Development 

Fund proposals must provide sufficient 

justification and information to evaluate 

costs, return on investment, value, and 

viability of the proposal. Contracts must also 

include the requirement that the recipient of 

the funds will inform the Board of 

expenditures. All unexpected or outstanding 

Skilled Trade Education and Workforce 

Development Funds from any previous 

written agreement not performed within 18 

months of the date the agreement was signed 

may be used for future agreements, unless 

the quote, estimate, or invoice had already 

been approved and completed within 2 years 

of the signed agreement. 

Health Measures 

 
SB 147 (Hicks/Dempsey) amends the 

Diabetes Management in Schools Act. The 

measure requires diabetes medical 
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management plans to indicate whether the 

parent or legal guardian of a student with 

diabetes has given written consent for a 

school nurse, trained school employee, or 

volunteer diabetes care assistant to 

administer glucagon to a student 

experiencing a hypoglycemic emergency or 

if the student’s prescribed glucagon is not 

available or has expired. The bill allows a 

school district board of education to elect to 

stock glucagon and adopt a related policy 

and states that written consent and a waiver 

of liability for administration of glucagon 

will be effective for the school year and 

must be renewed each subsequent school 

year. The measure allows a licensed 

physician to write a prescription for 

glucagon to a school district. 

 

SB 225 (Seifried/Dempsey) modifies the 

reporting period as it relates to diabetes 

prevention. The Oklahoma Health Care 

Authority and State Department of Health 

shall report by January 10 of every fifth year 

beginning January 10, 2024, instead of every 

odd year. Additionally, the measure requires 

the report to also be submitted to the 

Governor in addition to the President Pro 

Tempore of the Senate and Speaker of the 

House of Representatives. The measure also 

creates the School Nurse Pilot Program 

Revolving Fund. Monies from the fund shall 

be distributed as grants to school districts. 

The program shall encompass a 3-county 

area with no more than 20% the area's 

school districts having enrollments greater 

than 3,000 weighted average daily 

membership. The program shall be 

coordinated by a single nonprofit provider.   

 

SB 286 (Howard/Roe) provides that 

mechanical restraints shall only be used on 

an individual being transported by the 

Department of Mental Health and Substance 

Abuse Services or a contractor of the 

Department if the individual assaults or 

attempts to physically assault the person 

lawfully conducting the transportation of the 

individual. The use of the mechanical 

restraint shall only continue as needed. 

Every use of a mechanical restraint, the 

reasons, and the length of time must be 

recorded.   

 

SB 293 (Hall/Burns) defines “rural 

emergency hospital” as a hospital that 

provides emergency treatment and 

stabilization services for an average length 

of stay of 24 hours or less. The measure 

exempts such hospitals from the requirement 

to pay the supplemental hospital offset 

payment program fee. Such hospitals shall 

also be entitled to receive payments from the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority under the 

Supplemental Hospital Offset Payment 

Program in the same manner as critical 

access hospitals.   

 

SB 330 (McCortney/McEntire) modifies the 

applicability of the Contingency Review 

Board’s review of any agreement signed by 

the University Hospitals Trust. The measure 

provides that the Board shall review any 

agreement signed by the Trust as it applies 

to a hospital or hospitals owned by the 

University Hospitals Authority. The 

measure also clarifies that this amended 

language shall not be construed to affect or 

abrogate any agreement approved prior to 

the effective date of the amendment.   

 

SB 444 (Montgomery/Miller) requires the 

Insurance Commissioner to keep current the 

list of billing codes included in the 

Psychiatric Collaborative Care Model. The 

measure requires all health benefit plans and 

the Oklahoma Medicaid Program to provide 

reimbursement for such benefits that are 

delivered through behavioral health 

integration and psychiatric collaborative 

care models. Denials of reimbursement must 

be in compliance with the federal Paul 



31 
 

Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health 

Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 as 

well as the utilization review requirements. 

 

SB 513 (Rosino/Miller) requires each health 

benefit plan to provide coverage for 

biomarker testing and to provide evidence of 

such coverage. The document showing that 

the plan covers biomarker testing shall 

include labeled indications for tests that are 

approved or cleared by the United States 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA), tests 

for a drug that is approved by the FDA, 

precautions on FDA-approved drug labels, 

national coverage determinations or 

Medicare administrative contractor local 

coverage determinations, and nationally 

recognized clinical practice guidelines and 

consensus statements. The insured shall also 

have access to a clear, readily available, and 

convenient process to request an exception 

to a coverage policy of a health benefit plan.  

 

SB 613 (Daniels/Hasenbeck) prohibits any 

health care provider from providing gender 

transition procedures to any child. Any 

health care provider found to have violated 

this prohibition shall be subject to licensure 

revocation and shall be guilty of a felony. 

The measure provides that prosecutions for 

such violations shall occur no later than the 

date on which the child attains the age of 45 

years. The measure authorizes the parent, 

legal guardian, or next friend of a child to 

bring civil action against any provider who 

performed gender transition procedures on a 

child. The parent, legal guardian, or next 

friend shall bring a claim for the violation no 

later than the date on which the child attains 

the age of majority. The child may bring 

action upon obtaining the age of majority 

and prior to attaining the age of 45 years. 

The court may award compensatory 

damages, punitive damages, injunctive 

relief, or any other appropriate relief as well 

as court costs. The Attorney General may 

bring an action to enforce compliance with 

this measure.   

 

SB 710 (Rosino/Baker) authorizes school 

nurses or any person designated by the 

school district to administer an emergency 

opioid antagonist regardless of whether 

there is a prescription or standing order in 

place. An emergency opioid antagonist is 

defined as a drug including but not limited 

to naloxone that blocks the effects of opioids 

and that is approved by the United States 

Food and Drug Administration for the 

treatment of an opioid overdose.  

 

SB 844 (R. Thompson/Miller) provides that 

the Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services shall manage and 

oversee the County Community Safety 

Investment Fund. The Legislative Office of 

Fiscal Transparency shall calculate the 

annual dollar amount of savings accrued due 

to the reduction of the number and length of 

incarcerations attributed to the enactment of 

State Question 780. The Department is 

directed to issue a request for proposals by 

which county governments or multi-county 

partnerships may apply for funds to develop 

programs related to substance abuse 

rehabilitation, diversion from the criminal 

justice system, treatment, employment, or 

housing programs. The measure requires the 

Department to provide the Legislature with 

an annual report showing the amount 

awarded to each county. County 

governments shall submit all necessary 

documents to meet the requirements 

outlined in the request for the proposal to be 

considered. The Department shall 

promulgate rules establishing qualifications 

to receive funding. 

 

SB 1029 (K. Thompson/Roe) authorizes the 

trust created by the Board of Mental Health 

and Substance Abuse Services to sell certain 

property and exempts the sale from 



32 
 

provisions of law relating to procedures for 

disposal or lease of certain state-owned real 

property. 

 

SB 1094 (Howard/Stinson) provides that 

health care power of attorney may be signed 

in the presence of a notary public in lieu of 

being witnessed by 2 impartial individuals.   

 

SB 1130 (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $600 million from the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority CMIA 

Programs Disbursing Fund (340) to the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority for FY’24. 

 

SB 32x (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates the following amounts to the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority:   

1) $30 million to provide grant funding to 

providers for the one-time connection to the 

state-designated entity for health 

information exchange; 

2) $47.8 million to increase reimbursement 

to long-term care facilities by $35.00 per 

day and reimbursement to intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual 

disabilities (ICF/IID) by $17.00 per day; and 

3) $200 million for one-time funding to 

critical access hospitals and hospitals 

participating in the Supplemental Hospital 

Offset Payment Program.   

Additionally, the measure requires the 

Authority to submit a plan for the 

disbursement of the funds listed in the 

measure by no later than July 31, 2023, to 

the Senate and House Appropriations chairs. 

The measure authorizes the Authority to 

request that receipt and expenditure of 

unanticipated federal funds awarded after 

July 1, 2023, be exempt from expenditure 

limitations and from budgetary limitations. 

 

HB 1657 (McEntire/Rosino) requires the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority to 

establish a provider enrollment and 

credentialing process for any Medicaid fee-

for-service or capitated contracts with 

contracted entities. 

 

HB 1658 (McEntire/Rosino) states that 

health insurance companies that request to 

enter into a contract with the Oklahoma 

Health Care Authority to acquire the 

appropriate certificates of authority issued 

by the Insurance Department.  

 

HB 1791 (Osburn/Rosino) gives Oklahoma 

Health Care Authority (OHCA) liens 

priority against any third-party liability 

settlement proceeds unless there is also a 

Medicare lien on file. The measure allows 

OHCA to further negotiate lien reductions 

when the injured party, the personal 

representative, or attorney has made a good-

faith effort to do so. The measure also 

prohibits providers from requiring 

subrogation rights against any possible 

liable third party as a condition of care. 

Lastly, the measure provides a formula to 

compute the amount a payor can recover 

from third-party liability settlement 

proceeds.     

 

HB 1897 (Cantrell/Kidd) repeals various 

sections of the Nine-One-One Emergency 

Number Act and moves sections of it to be 

included in the Oklahoma 9-1-1 

Management Authority Act.  

 

HB 1987 (Dollens/Rader) excludes drug 

testing strips for fentanyl or fentanyl-related 

compounds from being classified as drug 

paraphernalia.   

 

HB 2036 (Boatman/Haste) creates the 

Oklahoma State University Medical 

Authority Behavioral Health Workforce 

Development Fund. The fund will be 

overseen by the Oklahoma State University 

Medical Authority, and utilized for the 

purpose of designing and implementing a 

pilot program for behavioral health 



33 
 

workforce development and access to 

behavioral health professionals. The 

measure requires the Oklahoma State 

University Medical Authority to prepare a 

report for the Legislature on the results of 

the first year of funding, including the 

number of professionals retained and 

recruited, and the expected benefits of the 

program. 

 

HB 2175 (Roe/Rosino) creates the 

Behavioral Health Workforce Development 

Fund. The fund replaces the Mental Health 

Loan Repayment Revolving Fund. The 

measure authorizes the State Department of 

Mental Health and Substance Abuse 

Services to use the fund to increase the 

number of psychiatric residencies, expand 

licensure cohorts to increase the number of 

master's level clinicians, and develop 

training, recruitment, and supervision 

capacity. The measure requires the State 

Department of Mental Health and Substance 

Abuse Services to make every attempt to 

work with health care loan repayment 

programs operated by other states and tribal 

and federal agencies towards maximizing 

and coordinating resources to fill gaps in 

loan repayment availability for critically 

needed mental health professions. 

 

HB 2422 (Alonso-Sandoval/Coleman) 

authorizes Oklahoma to become a member 

state of the Recognition of EMS Personnel 

Licensure Interstate Compact and to adopt 

the provisions of authorization as specified 

in the measure. The purpose of the compact 

is to increase public access to EMS 

personnel, enhance patient safety, encourage 

cooperation among member states on EMS 

licensure, support licensure of military 

members, facilitate the exchange of 

information between member states 

regarding EMS personnel licensure, adverse 

actions, and significant investigatory 

information, promote compliance with laws 

governing EMS personnel practice in 

member states, and give member states the 

authority to hold EMS personnel 

accountable through mutual recognition of 

member-state licenses.   

 

HB 2424 (May/Stephens) replaces the term 

“naloxone” with the term “opioid 

antagonist,” and allows for any opioid 

antagonist that is approved by the United 

States Food and Drug Administration to be 

dispensed or sold by a pharmacy without a 

prescription so long as the opioid antagonist 

is dispensed or sold only by, or under the 

supervision of, a licensed pharmacist. 

 

HB 2686 (R. West/Burns) requires opioid 

substitution treatment programs to comply 

with all federal requirements for opioid 

treatment programs. 

 

HB 2748 (Miller/Stanley) prohibits step 

therapy requirements for certain prescription 

drugs to treat advanced metastatic cancer 

and associated conditions. The measure 

outlines prerequisites a health benefit plan 

may not require prior to covering such 

drugs. 

 

HB 2753 (Miller/Weaver) requires the 

Office of the Attorney General to establish 

and maintain the Vulnerable Adult Abuse, 

Neglect and Exploitation Registry. The 

registry shall be updated quarterly and 

include a procedure for recording 

individuals on the registry who have been 

found guilty by a court of law or entered a 

plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge 

of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a 

vulnerable adult as well as disclosure 

requirements for information that is 

accessible on the registry.   

 

HB 2788 (Stinson/Rogers) requires bunk 

bed retailers to conform to American 

Society for Testing and Materials 
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International or U.S. Consumer Product 

Safety Commission Standards.  

Human Services 

 
SB 178 (Daniels/Lawson) modifies 

proceedings relating to trial reunification. 

The measure clarifies that the court must set 

the date of review for the trial reunification 

within 6 months and that the court may 

return legal custody to the parent or legal 

guardian if the reunification appears 

successful. Additionally, if the court 

determines trial reunification should be 

extended, the court is directed to set a new 

date for review. The measure limits the time 

period a child may spend in a trial 

reunification to 12 months.   

 

SB 533 (Rosino/Lawson) provides that the 

notice given to every foster parent relating 

to his or her rights shall also specify that any 

filed grievance shall be kept confidential and 

that the parent has a right to be free from 

acts of harassment and retaliation by any 

other party when exercising the right to file 

a grievance. 

 

SB 907 (Howard/Lawson) repeals Sections 

2, 3, 4, 5, and 6, Chapter 350, O.S.L. 2022.   

 

SB 33x (R. Thompson/Wallace) provides 

that the Department of Human Services shall 

expend $10 million of its appropriations on 

Home and Community-Based Waiver 

services. Additionally, the measure directs 

the Department to make the $5.00 

supplemental daily reimbursement rate 

permanent in the fiscal year ending June 30, 

2023. The measure directs the Department 

to maintain the funding levels for senior 

nutrition programs and requires joint 

approval from the President Pro Tempore of 

the Senate and the Speaker of the House of 

Representatives before any senior nutrition 

sites may be closed due to declining 

attendance or increased operational costs. 

The measure directs the Department to 

transfer $5.6 million to the Child Abuse 

Multidisciplinary Account. The measure 

appropriates all federal monies received by 

the state in the fiscal year ending June 30, 

2024, from the Temporary Assistance for 

Needy Families Block Grant and the Child 

Care and Development Fund Block Grant to 

the Department.   

 

SB 40x (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates the following amounts from the 

Statewide Recovery Fund to the Department 

of Human Services: 

1) $1 million to prepare more young adults 

with intellectual and developmental 

disabilities or autism to live and work 

independently; 

2) $10.3 million to enhance and increase 

capacity for programs assisting in stabilizing 

justice involved women, their children, and 

caregivers in the Tulsa area and surrounding 

rural areas; 

3) $3.8 million to support and expand 

proven-effective programming for justice 

involved women in the Oklahoma City area 

and into rural areas of Oklahoma; and 

4) $2.5 million to allow more opportunities 

for working families with children, with and 

without special needs, to obtain high-quality 

childcare. 

The measure authorizes the Department to 

enter into memorandums of understanding 

with other agencies for the auditing, 

documentation, evaluation, implementation, 

oversight, reporting, and management of 

funds and associated efforts. The measure 

authorizes the Department to retain up to 2% 

of the appropriated funds for administrative 

costs. The measure requires the Department 

to submit quarterly budgeting reports to the 

Senate and House chairs of the Joint 

Committee on Pandemic Relief Funding. 

The Department must also prove that any 

nonprofits associated with the project can 

provide direct services to Oklahomans, are 
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in good standing with the state, and are in 

compliance with state and federal tax laws. 

 

HB 1842 (Kerbs/Montgomery) requires the 

Executive Director of the Office of Juvenile 

Affairs to be responsible for established 

divisions and appointing division directors 

within the Department. The measure also 

gives the Executive Director the power to 

establish an employee recruitment and 

referral incentive program and promulgate 

agency policy for the program's operation.    

 

HB 1930 (McCall/Burns) raises the cap that 

an entity which wants to pay living and 

transportation expenses on behalf of a birth 

mother can spend without first obtaining 

court approval from $1,000.00 to $3,500.00.   

 

HB 1931 (McCall/Haste) includes substance 

abuse treatment and mental health 

counseling as job readiness training as it 

relates to Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) applications. The measure 

eliminates benefit increments for additional 

children. Beginning November 1, 2023, 

TANF recipients will be screened as part of 

the required TANF employability plan. If it 

is determined that the recipient is engaged in 

the illegal use of a controlled substance, his 

or her employability plan will include 

substance abuse treatment and/or mental 

health counseling as a part of the assigned 

work activities. During the controlled 

substance screening, recipients who refuse 

to participate without good cause will have 

TANF benefits close.   

 

HB 1932 (McCall/Treat) provides that a 

pregnant Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) applicant or recipient who 

does not have children at home qualifies for 

TANF to the same extent as a parent with 

minor children at home.   

 

HB 2005 (Boatman/Daniels) authorizes a 

guardian to authorize his or her coguardians 

to act on that guardian's behalf by giving 

written permission, in the case that there are 

more than 2 guardians. 

 

HB 2452 (Schreiber/Garvin) prohibits local 

governing authorities from promulgating 

local regulations that permit or require 

licensees of family child care homes to 

exceed or limit the provided capacity.  

 

HB 2746 (Miller/Kirt) creates the "Courtney 

Smith Act," which authorizes a guardian 

with general guardianship who has obtained 

a court order for the ward for inpatient 

mental health treatment to apply for an order 

requiring either municipal or county 

officials to retrieve, only if in an unsheltered 

environment, and deliver the gravely 

disabled ward to an inpatient treatment 

facility when one of the following criteria is 

met. This may occur if the ward is unable to 

utilize available means to provide for his or 

her basic personal needs, the ward is unable 

to voluntarily request and receive assistance 

for his or her basic personal needs, or the 

ward is unable to safely survive without 

involuntary detention and does not have 

other help. No person that has been 

evaluated or treated for a mental illness, 

either voluntarily or involuntarily, will 

presumed to be incompetent. The measure 

also includes definitions for "general 

guardianship," "gravely disabled," "inpatient 

mental health treatment," and "ward."   

Insurance Measures 

 
SB 254 (Garvin/Boatman) provides that if 

the beneficiary of a health benefit plan is 

unable to obtain covered behavioral health 

services from an in-network provider in a 

timely manner, the plan must ensure 

coverage of the behavioral health services 

from an out-of-network provider by 

arranging a network exception with a 
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negotiated rate. The measure requires any 

health benefit plan to establish a 

documented procedure to assist a plan 

member in accessing an out-of-network 

behavioral health care provider when no in-

network behavioral health care provider is 

available within a timely manner. The 

agreement must hold the beneficiary 

harmless for any amount greater than the in-

network cost-sharing amount that the 

beneficiary would have paid had the same 

services been received from an in-network 

provider. The measure authorizes the 

beneficiary to seek coverage out-of-network, 

including telehealth services, if coverage is 

not arranged in the applicable time. A health 

benefit plan that makes a payment to an out-

of-network provider pursuant to this section 

shall report the details of the payment to the 

Insurance Department within 20 days of the 

date requested. The measure authorizes the 

Department to investigate when an insurer 

has failed to ensure coverage. 

 

SB 292 (Stanley/Roe) requires each health 

benefit plan to cover the cost of medically 

necessary standard serological tests for 

syphilis. The measure authorizes physician 

assistants and advanced practice registered 

nurses to administer the test.   

 

SB 442 (Montgomery/Sneed) provides that 

every insurer must publish an electronic 

provider directory for each of its network 

plans as well as update the directory every 

30 days. Insurers are directed to ensure the 

public has access to the directory and that 

the listed health care professionals, 

hospitals, and other health care facilities are 

accurate. Additionally, each network plan 

must have a description of the criteria used 

to build its provider network accompanying 

it in the publication. The insurer must audit 

its provider directories for accuracy on an 

annual basis and base it on 4 utilized 

specialties, with 1 of the specialties focused 

on mental health.   

 

SB 539 (Montgomery/Sneed) removes the 

stipulation of a person intending to cause 

great bodily harm by strangulation. The 

measure provides that assault by 

strangulation shall qualify for the 

punishments currently provided for in 

statute.   

 

SB 544 (Montgomery/Tedford) provides 

that only the holder of a permit from the 

Insurance Commissioner may maintain a 

Perpetual Care Trust Fund. Such permit 

holders shall be subject to the $200.00 

application and renewal fee. The permit 

shall expire on March 15 of each year unless 

renewed. A permit may be reinstated 90 

days after expiration by electronically filing 

a renewal application, paying a fee in an 

amount that is double the renewal fee, and 

paying any other fees assessed in the form 

and manner prescribed by the 

Commissioner. The Commissioner is 

authorized to levy a maximum fine of 

$1,000.00 for each violation of the 

provisions of this measure.   

 

SB 553 (Montgomery/Tedford) provides 

that a licensed partnership as provided for in 

the Third-party Administrator Act no longer 

needs to provide a National Association of 

Insurance Commissioner (NAIC) 

Biographical Affidavit and a comprehensive 

review of the background report by an 

independent third-party NAIC-approved 

vendor as required for domestic insurers. 

The measure also provides that the 

administrator’s license application and fee 

shall be filed electronically. The measure 

provides that any license that expires due to 

failure to renew may be restored within 90 

days of the expiration by electronically 

submitting a fee in an amount of $200.00. 

Each administrator is also required to submit 



37 
 

a $50.00 fee and notice to the Insurance 

Commissioner for any change in name, 

address, service agent contact information, 

or contact email address. Inquiries from the 

Commissioner must be responded to within 

20 days of the request. The measure updates 

statutory language. 

 

SB 638 (Montgomery/Tedford) provides 

that applications submitted by any PEO or 

PEO Group required to be registered under 

the Oklahoma Professional Employer 

Organization Recognition and Registration 

Act shall be submitted electronically. The 

measure also increases the period that such 

groups may submit the financial statement 

from 180 days to 365 days. The measure 

requires such entities to notify the 

Commissioner within 30 days of any 

changes to the legal business name, address, 

or contact email of the entity and to pay a 

$50.00 fee. The measure provides that a 

registration expired for failure to submit a 

renewal application may be reinstated within 

90 days after the expiration date by 

electronically submitting a fee in an amount 

that is twice the amount of the renewal fee 

and a renewal application in the form and 

manner prescribed by the Insurance 

Commissioner, along with any transaction or 

other applicable fees. 

 

SB 1069 (Montgomery/Sneed) provides that 

no person or entity may be prohibited from 

exercising a contractual right to terminate or 

modify any netting agreement or qualified 

financial contract with an insurer under 

certain conditions. The measure defines 

“qualified financial contract” in the 

insurance code as a commodity contract, 

forward contract, repurchase agreement, 

securities contract, swap agreement, or other 

agreement that the Insurance Commissioner 

deems to be a qualified financial contract. 

 

HB 1504 (Sneed/Bullard) amends 

provisions regulating the assignability of 

covered health care benefits provided under 

an accident and health policy. The measure 

provides that benefits are assignable to home 

care agencies and any state licensed or 

certified health care providers or facilities in 

the same manner that is currently allowed in 

law for practitioners, hospitals, and 

ambulatory surgical centers.   The measure 

also expands the disclosure requirements 

that an out-of-network care provider must 

provide to the insured to include a written 

good-faith estimate of the cost to the insured 

for out-of-network care. Furthermore, the 

measure provides that the estimate is added 

as a condition for reimbursement by an 

insurer when benefits have been assigned. 

 

HB 1736 (Townley/Stanley) requires health 

benefit plans to implement a clear and 

transparent process for a participant or 

beneficiary with CRF-COPD to request an 

exception to step therapy protocol and cover 

the requested treatment. The health benefit 

plan will publish requirements and 

information for requesting an exception to a 

treatment step therapy protocol to its 

website. The insurer must respond to 

exception requests within 72 hours, and all 

expedited determinations of exception 

within 1 business day. 

Liquor, Smoking, & Tobacco 

 
SB 483 (Hall/Duel) strikes the requirement 

for seized alcohol to be delivered to the 

sheriff of the county. 

 

SB 601 (Rader/Pfeiffer) modifies the 

deadline for a taxpayer to file a protest with 

the Oklahoma Tax Commission following 

an assessment. The measure provides that 

the taxpayer shall file such protest 60 days 

after the date indicated on the proposed 

assessment instead of 60 days after the 

mailing of the assessment. The measure also 
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prohibits the issuance of a tobacco 

wholesaler and retailer license to a place of 

business with a physical residential address 

and outlines the composition of an industry 

advisory committee of licensed tobacco 

wholesalers and retailers. The measure 

modifies the penalty for failure to have a 

current wholesale tobacco license to include 

the forfeiture of any tobacco products in 

addition to the existing fine imposed. 

 

SB 791 (Coleman/Hays) provides that it 

shall not be considered inducement or a 

premium for a retail spirits licensee to have 

an advertised price posted higher online than 

the shelf price on the licensed premises. 

 

SB 796 (Coleman/Marti) requires the report 

submitted to the ABLE Commission relating 

to the delivery of wine to any person in the 

state to be submitted quarterly and to 

contain evidence of a signature by a person 

21 years of age or older for each completed 

shipment as well as the name and license 

number of the common or permit carrier 

engaged in the shipment. The measure also 

provides that no express company, common 

carrier, or contract carrier nor any 

representative, agent, or employee on behalf 

of an express company, common carrier, or 

contract carrier shall knowingly deliver any 

shipping container that fails to comply with 

provisions of law relating to reporting 

requirements to the ABLE Commission. 

Such entities are also prohibited from 

shipping any container that carries or 

transports alcoholic beverages to persons 

under 21 years of age. Such entities shall be 

subject to a maximum fine of $1,500.00 for 

the first violation, $2,500.00 for the second 

violation, and $5,000.00 for the third and 

subsequent violations. An express company, 

common carrier, or contract carrier may be 

held vicariously liable for the actions of its 

representatives, agents, and employees. The 

measure provides that a common carrier that 

willfully refuses to file a report under this 

subsection shall be fined a penalty of up to 

$500.00. A common carrier shall not deliver 

a shipment of wine unless the carrier has 

verified the validity of the Direct Wine 

Shipper’s Permit prior to accepting 

shipment. The ABLE Commission is 

required to notify common carriers of all 

shipments that it has good cause to believe 

were made unlawfully into this state whether 

those were made through a licensed shipper, 

fulfillment providers, or an unlicensed 

entity.  

 

SB 811 (Coleman/Marti) removes the 

requirement for the ABLE Commission to 

revoke the license of a retail license holder if 

it determines that the holder sold alcohol to 

a person under 21 years of age. The ABLE 

Commission shall have discretion as to 

whether the holder shall be subject to 

revocation or administrative fines.   

 

SB 1032 (Coleman/McDugle) authorizes 

holders of a caterer license to provide 

alcohol beverage sales to current applicants 

for an on-premises beer and wine license 

and mixed beverage/caterer combination 

license.   

 

SB 1035 (Coleman/Marti) outlines the 

acceptable percentages of collected amounts 

provided in audits to be deemed in 

compliance as it relates to beverage, beer 

and wine, caterer, public event, or special 

event licensees. The measure authorizes a 

deduction not to exceed 10% of the gross 

receipts tax liability to offset properly 

documented losses attributable to breakage, 

spillage, theft, fire, or other occurrences. 

 

HB 1596 (Worthen/Coleman) authorizes the 

Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement 

(ABLE) Commission to establish official 

advanced funds (OAF) for the purpose of 

supplying its agents with money for 



39 
 

enforcement of actions to obtain critical 

evidence for case presentations. The OAF is 

capped at $5,000.00.   

 

HB 1715 (Marti/Coleman) defines seltzer 

and modifies the definition of beer to mean 

any beverage containing more than 0.5% of 

alcohol by volume and obtained by the 

alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or 

decoction of barley, or other grain, sugar, 

malt, or similar products. The measure adds 

cider to the list of products a brewer may 

manufacture, sell, and serve at events 

attended by the public. The measure allows 

for the holder of a small brewer license to 

purchase from other licensed brewers within 

the state, and to import beer into the state for 

use in manufacturing. Additionally, the 

measure authorizes brewer, small brewer, 

winemaker, distiller, or small farm winery 

licensees to host off-site events following 

the submission and approval of an 

application to the ABLE Commission, and 

allows for persons under 21 years of age to 

be anywhere on the premises of an event 

except for the serving area. The measure 

allows for licensed vendors to sell up to 6 

bottles or cans of beer in its original 

packaging or a reusable container for on-

premises consumption. It also modifies the 

procedures that must be in place for a 

brewer to terminate a distributor agreement 

with any beer distributor to include requiring 

the brewer to establish good cause for such 

termination, and authorizes the arbitration 

panel to order that 100% of arbitration costs 

be paid by the smaller brewer if the panel 

determines that the small brewer's payment 

upon termination was not a good-faith 

estimate of the fair market value.   

 

HB 2165 (Roe/Coleman) requires an 

individual who is under 21 who purchases, 

receives, or possesses a tobacco, nicotine, or 

vapor product or attempts to purchase any of 

these products using false proof of age to 

complete an education or tobacco use 

cessation program approved by the court. If 

the violator fails to complete the court 

ordered program, a fine not to exceed 

$50.00 may be imposed or a fine not to 

exceed $100.00 may be imposed for 

subsequent offenses. The violator may also 

be required to complete a community 

service program or other appropriate 

programs or services as the court orders. To 

ensure all programs and court orders are 

followed, the court will have jurisdiction 

over the violator for 12 months. The 

measure authorizes cities and towns to enact 

and municipal police offices to enforce 

ordinances that prohibit and penalize 

conduct that violates this law.   

 

HB 2251 (Burns/Green) allows a licensee of 

the ABLE Commission to serve a mixed 

beverage or cocktail tasting flights.  The 

flights cannot be more than 4 separate 

individual mixed beverages or cocktails that 

consist of no more than 5 ounces of beer, 1.5 

ounces of wine or 0.5 ounces of spirits, to be 

combined with an unlimited amount of 

ingredients that are nonalcoholic in nature, 

and served together at one time. 

 

HB 2631 (Echols/Rosino) authorizes every 

wine and spirits wholesaler to ship orders to 

retailers non-sequentially and fill orders 

non-sequentially only on products that have 

been designated as being in short supply. 

“Short supply” is defined as those individual 

brand labels of alcoholic beverages normally 

supplied by the manufacturer or 

manufacturers that, for whatever reason, 

lack sufficient supply to fully satisfy the 

demand of the Oklahoma retail and/or on-

premises market. The measure directs 

manufacturers to notify wholesalers and the 

ABLE Commission in the event of short 

supply. The ABLE Commission shall 

publish a list of every product designated as 
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short supply by the Director on its website 

every 30 days.   

 

HB 2843 (T. Caldwell/Seifried) provides 

that the holder of a beer distributor license is 

authorized to store any alcoholic beverages, 

including wine and spirits owned by a 

common licensed affiliated entity, or 

nonalcoholic beverages and other related 

goods in any space as long as it is a 

warehouse owned or leased by the 

distributor. There is no obligation to 

separate products in the warehouse as long 

as the space is a discrete, enclosed area 

controlled by the beer distributor. The 

measure authorizes the ABLE Commission 

to issue a written warning or fine for the 

violation of discriminating between 

wholesalers or retailers. A first offense will 

result in a written warning and may come 

with a fine not more than $5,000.00.  A 

second offense will result in a license 

suspension of up to 10 days. A third offense 

will lead to a license revocation. However, 

prior to license suspension or revocation, the 

ABLE Commission must give the licensee 

written notice of the violation and 90 days to 

cure or remedy the violation. A first and 

second offense will mean violations related 

to or arising out of and occurring within 12 

months of the first offense. The measure 

provides that it is not an inducement or 

discriminatory action for a brewer, beer 

distributor, small brewer self-distributor, 

brewpub self-distributor, or a wine and 

spirits wholesaler to establish individualized 

servicing and delivery schedules for retailers 

based on the retailer's actual needs and sales 

volume. The measure provides that it is not 

an inducement or discriminatory action for a 

brewer, beer distributor, small brewer self-

distributor, or brewpub self-distributor to 

periodically perform product resets, with 

permission of the retail licensee, pursuant to 

a provided shelf plan or shelf schematic as it 

relates to merchandising. The measure adds 

that the application for registration of a 

brand label must be filed and had the fees 

paid by a brewer, winemaker, distiller, or 

nonresident seller of the brand. Licensees 

are not required to verify ABLE 

Commission registration and will not be 

penalized for any applicant's failure to 

register its brand label. 

Judiciary/Court Measures 

 
SB 68 (Daniels/Worthen) requires 

resentencing by a jury if the original 

sentence was imposed by a jury unless jury 

resentencing is waived by the defendant. 

The measure authorizes defendants to 

affirmatively waive resentencing before the 

appropriate trial court within 90 days of the 

appellate court order remanding for 

resentencing. The defendant cannot waive 

resentencing after the commencement of the 

resentencing hearing or trial. The measure 

stipulates that upon the defendant foregoing 

resentencing, the original sentence shall be 

reinstated by the court. The reinstated 

sentence may not be appealed. 

 

SB 77 (Howard/Moore) changes “shall” to 

“may” as it relates to the court ordering a 

parent or guardian to pay the Office of 

Juvenile Affairs $100.00 to $1,000.00 for a 

certification study upon a motion for 

imposition of an adult sentence.   

 

SB 159 (Daniels/Lawson) provides that a 

parent may voluntarily participate in 

services related to the behaviors and 

conditions that led to the filing of a deprived 

petition prior to adjudication. The measure 

specifies that such participation shall not be 

construed as an admission of guilt and may 

not be used as evidence for the purpose of 

adjudication or disposition. 

 

SB 212 (Bullard/Humphrey) clarifies that no 

alien or any person who is not a citizen of 

the United States may directly or indirectly, 
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through a business entity or trust, own land 

in the state unless otherwise authorized by 

current law. Businesses that are engaged in 

regulated interstate commerce in accordance 

with federal law are exempt from this 

prohibition. The measure also requires any 

deed recorded with a county clerk to include 

an affidavit executed by the person or entity 

coming into title attesting that the person, 

business entity, or trust is lawfully obtaining 

the land. The measure also requires an 

affidavit before a county clerk may record 

any deed and authorizes the Attorney 

General to promulgate separate affidavit 

forms for certain individuals and businesses 

with the exception of those deeds which the 

Attorney General deems necessary when 

promulgating the affidavit form. 

 

SB 240 (Howard/Stinson) clarifies that the 

judge presiding over the drug diversion 

program, rather than having authority over 

the program, shall cause to be established a 

drug court docket. 

 

SB 296 (Howard/Stinson) authorizes both 

parties in a court dispute to stipulate the use 

of a freelance court reporter and share the 

costs of such use with the judge’s approval 

if no court reporter is available. If ordered, 

the transcript shall be prepared by the 

approved reporter and shall be considered 

the official transcript for all purposes. The 

fee for an original transcript of the court’s 

proceedings is modified by the measure. The 

measure stipulates that the Supreme Court 

shall set the fee.   

 

SB 298 (Howard/Moore) provides that a 

designated grantee beneficiary may only 

accept real estate pursuant to a transfer-on-

death deed on behalf of himself, herself, or a 

legal entity over which he or she has proper 

authority. Additionally, the measure 

provides that if a beneficiary affidavit is 

recorded prior to November 1, 2023, and 1 

of the named beneficiaries explicitly accepts 

the interests being conveyed by the deed on 

behalf of all or some of the beneficiaries 

named shall be effective to accept such 

interests if executed by at least 1 of the 

named beneficiaries accepting such 

interests. 

 

SB 420 (Coleman/Staires) increases the time 

to file for a claim of injury or death from 1 

year to 30 months as it relates to the 

Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation 

Act. The measure also provides that a self-

inflicted injury shall not be attributable to 

the victim if the Crime Victims 

Compensation Board finds that the injury is 

a direct result of the crime committed 

against the victim. The maximum 

compensation paid to victims is increased 

from $20,000.00 to $25,000.00 for a single 

victim and from $40,000.00 to $50,000.00 

for all victims that sustained economic 

injury in the commission of a particular 

crime. 

 

SB 462 (Daniels/J. West) authorizes 

municipal judges in cities with a population 

of 200,000 or more to engage in the practice 

of law in other courts during their tenure. 

The measure also provides that municipal 

judges may be paid in a manner similar to 

municipal employees as well as municipal 

officials. The measure requires any person 

currently appointed or serving as a 

municipal judge to complete a certification 

program as approved by the Oklahoma 

Municipal Judges Association starting July 

1, 2026. The certification shall have a 

minimum of 12 hours of continuing legal 

education approved by the Oklahoma Bar 

Association Mandatory Continuing Legal 

Education Commission to include laws 

specific to municipal courts, trial evidentiary 

matters, criminal cases eligible for 

municipal courts, and indigency hearings. 

All persons currently appointed as municipal 
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judges shall have 1 year to complete the new 

program. Any judge who fails to complete 

the program may only impose a maximum 

$50.00 fine for all traffic and criminal cases. 

The measure clarifies that a court not of 

record is not an "officer" of the municipality 

and shall not be considered a state officer. 

Additionally, all municipal judges, including 

nonlawyer judges, are subject to the code of 

judicial conduct and legal ethics. 

 

SB 557 (Montgomery/Sneed) provides that 

the denial of payment for a person or entity 

licensed or otherwise authorized to provide 

health care services on the basis that medical 

treatments were not medically necessary 

without obtaining a concurring opinion from 

a health care provider constitutes an unfair 

claim settlement practice. The measure 

specifies that in the event that claims for 

mental health or substance use disorder 

treatments and services are under review, 

the reviewing health care provider shall have 

appropriate, qualified, and specialized 

credentials with respect to the services and 

treatments. 

 

SB 566 (Newhouse/Banning) increases the 

allowable fee the lien claimant of a vehicle 

may charge for providing notice to the 

vehicle owner from $20.00 to $50.00. 

 

SB 619 (Howard/Moore) increases the age 

from 13 to 16 as it relates to children 

providing testimony in court describing any 

act of physical abuse against a child or 

incapacitated person or any act of sexual 

contact performed with or on a child or 

incapacitated person by another. 

 

SB 706 (Pederson/Randleman) provides that 

upon a demand for a trial by jury, the court 

shall issue a scheduling order within 30 days 

as it pertains to a proceeding to terminate 

parental rights. The trial shall commence 

within 6 months of the issuance of the 

scheduling order unless the court issues a 

written order with findings of fact 

supporting a determination that there exists 

an exceptional circumstance to support the 

delay or that the parties and the guardian ad 

litem, if any, agree to such continuance. 

 

SB 981 (Weaver/Moore) provides that 

information obtained by a law enforcement 

officer from a wire, oral, or electronic 

communication authorized by the Security 

of Communications Act may be provided as 

testimony or evidence in administrative and 

civil proceedings. 

 

SB 19x (R. Thompson/Wallace) creates the 

Family Representation and Advocacy Act. 

The measure creates a new program, 

designated as the Family Representation and 

Advocacy Program, within the 

Administrative Office of the Courts. The 

new program shall contractually require 

uniform and high quality legal 

representation for children and indigent 

parents, legal guardians, and Indian 

custodians in deprived child actions brought 

by the state. The measure directs the Office 

to issue a request for proposals and contract 

with an eligible organization to administer 

the Family Representation and Advocacy 

Program through the establishment of a 

central office for the state using funds 

appropriated or otherwise available for the 

purpose of implementing the Family 

Representation and Advocacy Act. The 

program shall work cooperatively with 

judicial districts and attorneys as well as 

contract with, train, compensate, and support 

legal counsel for children. The measure 

requires the entity selected to implement the 

Program to employ an executive director 

with the requisite expertise outlined in the 

measure. The director shall serve the 

program full-time and shall not be engaged 

in work outside of the program. Counsel 

employed by the program shall be in good 
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standing with the Oklahoma Bar 

Association. The program shall prioritize 

judicial districts where attorneys are 

unavailable for court appointments or are 

minimally compensated. The measure 

authorizes the Oklahoma Supreme Court to 

direct the Administrative Office of the 

Courts to establish an advisory board to 

exercise oversight over the Family 

Representation and Advocacy Program and 

the selected eligible organization. 

 

HB 1005 (W. Rick/Burns) allows a 

prospective juror to provide information 

from a physician assistant or advanced 

practice registered nurse regarding a 

condition which could prevent a person from 

performing jury service. 

 

HB 1032 (Lawson/Daniels) requires that 

adjudication occur within 30 days after 

detainment for the charge for any child 

being held in a secure detention on charges 

as an accused juvenile delinquent. Time may 

be extended to allow parties to negotiate to 

review discovery or for any other good 

cause. These provisions will not apply to 

matters in which a child requests a jury or 

non-jury trial.   

 

HB 1072 (Talley/Stanley) requires a court to 

set a hearing to take certain actions within 

60 days of the start of each child in a 

qualified residential treatment program.  

 

HB 1396 (Hasenbeck/Floyd) provides court 

reporters with a $3,000.00 longevity 

allowance in addition to their compensation. 

Payment of the allowance shall be made on 

July 1 after the court reporter completes his 

or her first year. The measure also increases 

the $1,500.00 yearly bonus allocated to 

shorthand, Registered Merit, Registered 

Diplomat, and Certified Realtime reporters 

to $2,000.00. The maximum bonus awarded 

to reporters holding multiple certifications is 

increased from $6,000.00 to $8,000.00.   

 

HB 1618 (Worthen/Gollihare) directs court 

clerks to use electronic means to inform the 

district attorney, county sheriff, the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, 

and Administrative Office of the Courts of 

any notice of hearing for a private process 

server application. Current law requires the 

court clerk to mail the notice.   

 

HB 2210 (Stark/Weaver) provides that if a 

minor is convicted as an adult for an offense 

that the minor committed when he or she 

was under 18 years of age and the court 

finds by clear and convincing evidence that 

the person against whom the minor was 

convicted of committing the offense 

trafficked the minor or sexually abused or 

sexually assaulted the minor within 90 days 

before the commission of the offense, the 

court may depart from the mandatory 

minimum sentence or sentence 

enhancement, any portion of a sentence, or 

transfer the minor to the jurisdiction of the 

juvenile division of the district court. 

 

HB 2259 (Sterling/Howard) establishes a 

court cost compliance program beginning 

November 1, 2023. The program shall assist 

county sheriffs and the courts with the 

collection of fines, costs, fees, and 

assessments associated with any case in 

which a warrant has been issued and the 

case has been referred to the court cost 

compliance program. Individuals may make 

payments for such items to the court or to 

the program. The court shall report any 

payments received from any individual 

referred to the program within 4 days of the 

payment compliance liaison within four (4) 

days of receipt of the payment. The measure 

also adds fees for returned checks or 

fraudulent use of credit cards. Monthly 

payments shall be no less than $100.00. The 
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court may also determine the financial 

ability of a defendant to pay associated fines 

and fees. If the court determines the 

defendant is unable to pay, the court may 

waive associated fines and fees. A defendant 

may request a cost hearing after the court 

informs him or her of the total court 

financial obligations owed or if life 

circumstances for the defendant have 

changed. Court clerks are directed to review 

cases for delinquency once every 6 months.   

 

HB 2378 (Kannady/Seifried) amends the 

Oklahoma Evidence Code to classify 

communications between a person with 

limited English proficiency and a spoken 

language interpreter to be considered 

privileged communications.   

 

HB 2411 (Kannady/Brooks) adds the 

National Interpreter Certification (NIC) to 

the list of certifications necessary to be a 

qualified legal interpreter. The measure 

allows for a court reporter that is able to 

provide real-time captioning to serve as a 

qualified legal interpreter if no person 

meeting the outlined qualifications is 

available. The measure states that the court 

is not required to provide an interpreter for 

attorney-client communications which are 

not immediately pertaining to the court 

proceeding nor for meetings at the private 

counsel's office. 

 

HB 2462 (Hill/Rosino) provides that the 

procedure in which the court can vacate an 

order terminating parental rights if the 

parent in question files a motion to vacate 

the order within 30 days is the exclusive 

procedure by which a parent can move to 

vacate an order terminating parental rights.   

 

HB 2490 (Hill/Daniels) provides that 

persons who received a suspended or split 

sentence that exceeds 5 years may request 

an early evaluation hearing after 5 years to 

determine whether the length of the 

suspended sentence should be modified. The 

court may modify the defendant’s sentence 

if it determines he or she complied with the 

provisions of his or her probation, had no 

criminal violations during the term of 

probation, and has no pending revocation 

hearings. The district attorney may object to 

the modification on behalf of the victim or 

victims of the offense. The hearing may be 

requested 1 year earlier than the minimum 

established by this measure if the offender 

received a high school or high school 

equivalency diploma, any college-level 

degree, or a vocational, technical, or career 

training certification or degree while serving 

his or her sentence or maintained consistent 

employment during the probation period. 

Such persons must also meet the previous 

requirements established by the measure. 

Written notice shall be made to the 

appropriate district attorney within 15 days 

of the offender requesting a hearing. The 

President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the 

Speaker of the House of Representatives, or 

the Governor may request the District 

Attorneys Council to provide a list of early 

termination applications made and copies of 

any objections or other responses to such 

applications during the prior fiscal year.     

 

HB 2537 (George/Gollihare) clarifies the 

standard by which excessive force is 

measured by providing that excessive force 

must be established as an element of any 

alleged violation under criminal law. 

 

HB 2794 (Stinson/Pugh) establishes a notice 

system regarding the publishing of at-risk 

individuals' information and would require 

the Administrative Director of the Courts to 

make any notice or request required or 

authorized by this act on behalf of an at-risk 

individual if requested. 

Professions & Occupations 
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SB 171 (Dugger/Kendrix) decreases the 

number of credited hours a certified public 

accountant applicant must possess from 150 

hours to 120 hours. The measure also lowers 

the amount of accounting concentration 

course hours or its equivalent an applicant 

must possess from 30 hours to 24 hours. The 

measure also provides that an applicant may 

possess equivalent experience. The measure 

provides that an applicant for initial issuance 

must have at least 150 semester hours, or the 

equivalent thereof, of college education 

including a baccalaureate or higher degree, 

or the equivalent thereof, conferred by a 

college or university acceptable to the 

Oklahoma Accountancy Board from an 

accredited four-year college or university in 

this state or any other accredited four-year 

college or university recognized by the 

Board. The measure requires 30 of those 

hours shall be in accounting courses above 

principles of accounting or introductory 

accounting. 

 

SB 575 (Stephens/Randleman) creates the 

Janet Phillips Act of 2023 and enacts the 

Counseling Compact into law. The purpose 

of the compact is to facilitate interstate 

practice of licensed professional counselors 

with the goal of improving public access to 

professional counseling services. The 

Compact shall require counselors 

participating in the compact to pass a 

nationally recognized exam approved by the 

Counseling Compact Commission as well as 

have a 60-semester-hour (or 90-quarterhour) 

master’s degree in counseling or 60 semester 

hours (or 90 quarter hours) of graduate 

course work in the areas outlined in the 

measure. Graduates must also complete a 

supervised postgraduate professional 

experience. Member states must participate 

in the Commission’s data system and notify 

the Commission of any adverse action or the 

availability of investigative information 

regarding a licensee. Each member state 

must establish a licensing process for 

counselors. A license issued to a licensed 

professional counselor by a home state to a 

resident in that state shall be recognized by 

each member state. Such counselors will be 

authorized to practice remotely in member 

states’ jurisdictions. If a licensee’s privilege 

to practice in any remote state is removed, 

the individual may lose the privilege to 

practice in all other remote states until 

certain conditions are met. The measure 

establishes procedures for licensees to 

change their resident state. Procedures for 

considering an applicant’s criminal history 

must also be established by member states. 

Each member state is entitled to only 1 

delegate on the Counseling Compact 

Commission. The measure establishes an 

Executive Committee to carry out the duties 

of the Commission.   

 

SB 600 (Rader/Pfeiffer) provides that an 

applicant for an occupation license who is 

denied based on a violation of Oklahoma tax 

law may file a signed, written protest with 

the Oklahoma Tax Commission within 60 

days of the denial stating the reasons the 

license, permit, or duplicate copy thereof 

should be issued and requesting an 

administrative hearing. If the hearing is 

granted, the applicant shall receive at least 

10 days’ notice. The measure also provides 

that party seeking to file confidential 

materials in such a hearing must place the 

materials in a sealed manila envelope clearly 

marked with the caption and case number, 

the word “CONFIDENTIAL.”   

 

SB 754 (Paxton/Kannady) defines terms as 

they relate to the practice of dentistry. The 

measure specifies a person must pass 

examination within the last 5 years to 

qualify for a license. The measure adds and 

modifies requirements for dental hygienists 

to obtain a permit for advanced procedures 

and adds advanced procedures available to a 
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hygienist. The measure adds expanded duty 

permits available to dental assistants. The 

measure also adds and removes grounds for 

penalties, specifies supervision requirements 

for dental hygienists, and modifies the 

powers of the Board of Dentistry with 

respect to advanced procedures. Finally, the 

measure allows the use of teledentistry in 

long-term care settings by a supervised 

dental hygienist and allows a dental assistant 

to assist a dental hygienist who meets 

certain requirements in the long-term care 

settings. 

 

SB 804 (Montgomery/Sims) removes the 

requirement for licensees of the Registered 

Electrologist Act to register with the county 

clerk of the county in which said person has 

legal residence. The measure also repeals a 

provision of the Oklahoma Allopathic 

Medical and Surgical Licensure and 

Supervision Act requiring firms, 

associations, or corporations engaged in the 

practice of medicine to report in writing to 

the county clerk of the county in which such 

business is to be conducted, the names and 

addresses of all physicians connected to 

such entities.   

 

SB 827 (Standridge/K. West) authorizes 

pharmacists to prescribe nonprescription 

drugs for the purposes of extemporaneous 

compounding or compounding for a known 

patient need in the practice area. 

 

HB 1332 (Strom/Floyd) requires the Alarm, 

Locksmith and Fire Sprinkler Industry 

Committee to work with the Commissioner 

of Labor to determine qualifications of 

applicants in the industry. The Committee 

previously determined such qualifications 

without the purview of the Commissioner. 

 

HB 1385 (Hasenbeck/K. Thompson) 

requires that applications for chiropractic 

continuing education seminars be submitted 

to and reviewed by the Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. The Board may 

authorize its Executive Director to 

temporarily approve applications or 

amendments to an application. The measure 

also removes the 90-day time frame 

requirement for submitting applications to 

the Board, and the 60-day time frame 

requirement for the Board to issue a ruling 

on the application. 

 

HB 2240 (Dobrinski/Newhouse) lowers the 

application age for a funeral directing or 

embalming license from 20 to 18 years of 

age.  

Public Safety Measures  

 
SB 121 (Gollihare/Humphrey) updates the 

name of the Northeast Oklahoma 

Correctional Center in Vinita to the 

Northeast Oklahoma Community 

Corrections Center in Vinita. 

 

SB 230 (Daniels/Roe) requires the state, as it 

relates to emergency planning, to account 

for catastrophic health emergencies.   

 

SB 247 (Haste/Ford) defines “barrack-style” 

as it relates to confinement of prisoners in 

county jails. The measure defines such 

confinement as a single designated space 

within a city or county jail facility for the 

purpose of housing 3 or more inmates. 

 

SB 297 (R. Thompson/Moore) authorizes 

the Director of the Oklahoma State Bureau 

of Investigation (OSBI) to subpoena 

witnesses, compel the attendance and 

testimony of witnesses, and require the 

production of any records, including books, 

papers, documents, and other tangible things 

which constitute or contain evidence if such 

action is recommended by an agent with the 

rank of Captain or above and the General 

Counsel or Assistant General Counsel of the 

Bureau. Attendance and the production of 
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records may be required from any place in 

the state to a designated location in the 

county seat of the county of which the 

subpoenaed person is an inhabitant or in 

which the subpoenaed person carries on 

business or may be found. A subpoenaed 

individual may notify the Bureau of his or 

her refusal to attend within 10 days of the 

date of service. In the case of contumacy by 

or refusal to obey a subpoena issued to any 

person, the Director may invoke the aid of 

any district court of the state within the 

jurisdiction of which the investigation is 

carried on or of which the subpoenaed 

person is an inhabitant, or in which he or she 

carries on business or may be found, to 

compel compliance with the subpoena. 

 

SB 452 (Standridge/Marti) adds 

Isotonitazene, desethyl isotonitazene, and 

Protonitazene to the list of Schedule I 

substances. 

 

SB 475 (Paxton/Echols) provides that in the 

event the Director of the Oklahoma State 

Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 

Control revokes a registration, the registrant 

of the land shall be required to hold 

controlled dangerous substances not 

impounded or preserved by the Director. 

None of the held substances may be 

purchased, distributed, sold, or transferred. 

If the revocation is finalized, all such 

controlled dangerous substances shall be 

forfeited to the state or otherwise considered 

waste and submitted to a licensed waste 

disposal service.  The measure authorizes 

the Director to issue a written order to be 

served on the parties before annulling, 

conditioning, suspending, or revoking any 

registration that the Director has reason to 

believe is operating inconsistent with current 

requirements. The written order shall state 

with specificity the nature of the violation or 

basis for the action. The period a registrant 

has to appear before the Director disputing 

annulment of the registration is increased 

from 30 days to 60 days. All proceedings 

shall be conducted in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedures Act and the rules 

and regulations of the Oklahoma State 

Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 

Control without regard to any criminal 

prosecution or other proceeding.  The 

Director may issue an order immediately 

suspending a registration, without notice or 

a hearing, when there is cause to believe 

there is imminent danger to public health or 

safety. The Director is further authorized to 

levy a $5,000.00-per-day fine for any 

violation relating to federal law relating to 

controlled dangerous substances, rules 

implemented by the Bureau, or Oklahoma 

state law relating to controlled dangerous 

substances. Upon an annulment, revocation, 

or denial of a registration the Director may 

prohibit the registrant or applicant from 

reapplying for registration for a period of up 

to 5 years following the date of the final 

order. 

 

SB 661 (Rogers/Boatman) creates the 

Victims of Human Trafficking and 

Prevention Revolving Fund. Monies from 

the fund shall be used to educate the public 

about the recruitment, trafficking, and 

exploitation of persons through human 

trafficking, prevent recruitment of minors, 

establish a survivors' resource center, 

coordinate with law enforcement agencies 

and service providers, and provide 

information concerning a petition for 

expungement of a criminal history record 

resulting from the arrest or filing of charges 

for an offense committed or reported to have 

been committed while the person was a 

victim of human trafficking. The fund shall 

consist of all monies received from penalties 

imposed by the courts on convictions of 

human trafficking violations and funds 

received from any other source, including 

legislative appropriations.  
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SB 665 (Standridge/Worthen) removes the 

requirement for providers of buprenorphine 

with naloxone but no other opioids to 

register with the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control. 

 

SB 668 (Standridge/Worthen) removes 

ephedrine, phenylpropanolamine, and 

pseudoephedrine from the list of substances 

that require a person or business to register 

with the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control.   

 

SB 674 (Treat/McCall) creates the 

Oklahoma Organized Retail Crime Task 

Force. The task force shall provide the 

Legislature and the Governor with 

information on organized retail crime and 

the advantages and drawbacks of instituting 

various countermeasures to counter losses 

from retail theft, and shall disband after 

December 31, 2024. The task force shall be 

comprised of 15 members appointed by the 

Governor, President Pro Tempore of the 

Senate, Speaker of the House of 

Representatives, District Attorneys Council, 

Oklahoma Retail Merchants Association, 

State Chamber, Oklahoma Sheriffs’ 

Association, Oklahoma Association of 

Chiefs of Police, Convenience Distributors 

of Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Grocers 

Association, and the Attorney General. 

Appointments shall be made to the task 

force no later than 60 days after the effective 

date of the measure, and the first meeting 

shall be held no later than 90 days after the 

effective date of the measure. Members of 

the task force shall not receive compensation 

but may receive travel reimbursement for 

necessary travel expenses. The task force 

shall submit a report to the Governor, the 

President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the 

Speaker of the House of Representatives, 

and the chairs of the House and Senate 

committees that oversee public safety on or 

before December 15, 2024. 

 

SB 747 (Stephens/May) increases the 

existing income tax credits for volunteer 

firefighters. The current income tax credits 

for volunteer firefighters are $200.00 and 

$400.00, depending on certification and 

completion of continuing education. Under 

the proposal, the credit amounts are 

increased to $300.00 and $600.00, effective 

for tax year 2024 and subsequent tax years.  

 

SB 978 (Green/Wallace) eliminates the 

minimum sentence and fine for the unlawful 

discharge of a firearm and decreases the 

maximum term of imprisonment from 6 

months to 3 months.   

 

SB 1000 (Floyd/Bashore) allows the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation 

(OSBI) to inquire as to the condition and 

location of a sexual assault evidence kit that 

has not been submitted to a forensic 

laboratory within 20 days after receipt by a 

law enforcement agency. The OSBI may 

initiate an investigation on any previously 

untested or partially tested sexual assault 

evidence kit once testing has been 

completed. 

 

SB 1046 (Weaver/Manger) reclassifies 

domestic abuse against a pregnant woman as 

a felony and increases the maximum term of 

imprisonment from 1 to 5 years.   

 

HB 1077 (Luttrell/Rogers) directs the 

Department of Public Safety to develop and 

implement a statewide Kasey Alert system 

to be activated on behalf of a critically 

missing adult. A critically missing adult is a 

person between the ages of 18 and 59 whose 

whereabouts are unknown and who is 

believed to have been abducted or taken 

against his or her will. 
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HB 1144 (McCall/Treat) allows the 

Commissioner of the Department of Public 

Safety to commission 1 member of the 

security team of the Senate and 1 member of 

the security team of the House of 

Representatives as peace officers. 

Commissioned officers must obtain and 

maintain certification as full-time peace 

officers. The Commissioner may revoke or 

suspend the commission for any reason, and 

the commission will be terminated upon 

separation of service or reassignment to 

another position outside of the security 

team. 

 

HB 1394 (Bashore/Weaver) designates the 

Office of Criminal Justice Statistics to be 

known as the Statistical Analysis Center and 

to be a unit of the Oklahoma State Bureau of 

Investigation. 

 

HB 1408 (Culver/Gollihare) requires first 

responders and volunteer first responders 

who are subject to drug testing to verbally 

report any potential passive exposure to a 

controlled dangerous drug that occurred 

while responding to an emergency within 

the previous 14 days. Responders are to 

verbally report to their agency or employer 

prior to testing. Documentation regarding 

the verbal report is to be provided to the 

medical review officer in the event of a 

positive drug test. 

 

HB 1546 (Moore/Jech) directs the 

Department of Corrections to develop an 

"Orange Alert" communication system at 

each correctional facility to notify any 

resident within a 40-mile radius of the 

facility when a prisoner has escaped. 

Information on how a resident is to register 

is to be posted in a newspaper of record 

within the county in which the correctional 

facility is located. It is the responsibility of a 

resident wishing to be notified to register to 

receive the notifications. 

 

HB 1590 (Grego/Murdock) creates the 

Haiden Fleming Memorial Act, raises the 

monthly 9-1-1 telephone fee from $0.75 to 

$1.25 for all services with the ability to dial 

9-1-1 including landlines beginning 

November 1, 2023, and raises the amount of 

9-1-1 telephone fees that are deposited into 

the Oklahoma 9-1-1 Management Authority 

Revolving Fund from $0.05 to $0.22. 

Proceeds from the increased fees shall be 

used to fund Next Generation 9-1-1 

technology statewide. The distribution of 

revenue from 9-1-1 fees has also been 

modified. Eligible governing bodies are to 

be given a flat rate of $3,000.00 per month 

per public safety answering point (PSAP). 

Of the remaining revenue, 10% will be 

distributed based on response area and 90% 

will be distributed based on population. 

 

HB 1785 (Martinez/Pugh) removes the 

exemption that allowed merchandise and 

services purchased for resale through the 

canteen system and the telephone system to 

not be subject to the Oklahoma Central 

Purchasing Act.   

 

HB 1789 (Banning/Dahm) clarifies the 

immunity provided to the state, political 

subdivisions, officers, agents, and 

employees relating to the issuance of 

licensure under the Oklahoma Self-Defense 

Act. 

 

HB 1893 (Cantrell/Kidd) adds county 

commissioners, county clerks, county 

assessors, and county treasurers to the list of 

public officials for which enhanced penalties 

may be assessed against persons who 

commit an assault or assault and battery 

upon such office holder. 

 

HB 1925 (Sims/Haste) allows a law 

enforcement agency approved by the 

Council on Law Enforcement Education and 
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Training (CLEET) to conduct a basic law 

enforcement academy to require any person 

or peace officer to execute a promissory 

note for academy training expenses. The 

term of the note may not extend longer than 

4 years following graduation from the basic 

academy. 

 

HB 2153 (Ford/Bergstrom) provides that 

any person convicted of a second offense 

within 10 years of the previous conviction 

relating to possessing, selling, or purchasing 

controlled dangerous substances may be 

ordered by the court to complete a diversion 

program for up to 1 year following the date 

of conviction in lieu of other punishments. 

The program may include drug testing as a 

requirement. Any person convicted of a 

third offense within 10 years of the previous 

conviction shall be subject to a fine not 

exceeding $1,000.00, a term of 

imprisonment in the county jail not to 

exceed 30 days, or both fine and 

imprisonment. The court may, with the 

consent of the defendant, order the 

defendant to complete a substance abuse 

assessment and evaluation and to complete a 

diversion program for up to 3 years 

following the date of conviction. The court 

may impose punishment as provided for in 

current law if the defendant refuses to 

complete the program. Any person 

convicted for a fourth offense within the 10-

year period shall be subject to a fine not to 

exceed $5,000.00, a term of imprisonment 

for not less than 1 year and not more than 5 

years, or both fine and imprisonment. The 

court may order the defendant to complete a 

diversion program and, upon completing the 

program, change the felony charges to a 

misdemeanor. 

 

HB 2154 (Roe/K. Thompson) prohibits 

assault on any medical care providers, other 

employees, or independent contractors 

working in or for a health care facility and 

performing medical care duties, and requires 

that medical facilities report assault data to 

the State Department of Health by January 

31 of the following year. Reports are to 

withhold the identities of both the victim 

and assailant. The State Department of 

Health is authorized to publish the data on 

its website on an annual basis. 

 

HB 2172 (Roe/K. Thompson) adds medical 

care providers to the list of persons it is a 

crime to threaten, intimidate, or harass by 

use of an electronic communication device 

by knowingly publishing, posting, or 

making available personally identifiable 

information. The measure clarifies that these 

provisions do not apply when the incident is 

unrelated to the provider's professional 

duties. 

 

HB 2684 (Hays/Stephens) modifies the 

name of the section of law as the Bernardo-

Mills Law, provides that a person is to be 

guilty of the offense of endangerment of an 

emergency worker for violations, creates a 

penalty for endangerment of an emergency 

worker punishable by a fine of $1,000.00 for 

a first offense and $2,500.00 for a second 

offense, and creates a penalty for aggravated 

endangerment of an emergency worker 

when the offense results in the injury or 

death of an emergency worker. The penalty 

is a fine of $5,000.00 if the offense resulted 

in injury and $10,000.00 if the offense 

resulted in the death of an emergency 

worker. 

 

HB 2041 (Nichols/Treat) allows a law 

enforcement officer who comes into contact 

with a person who has a misdemeanor 

warrant to issue a verbal warning about the 

existence of the warrant and advise the 

person to contact the clerk of the court to 

resolve the outstanding warrant. All verbal 

warnings must be documented by law 
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enforcement on a department-issued 

warning ticket. 

 

HB 2054 (Roberts/Weaver) modifies the 

crime of prostitution to include knowingly 

offering to pay a fee to another person for 

the purpose of engaging in sexual conduct. 

The measure makes it unlawful for any 

person who pays a fee for a sexual encounter 

to publish a review of that sexual encounter 

or to publish a review of the pubic area, 

buttocks, or breasts experienced in the 

sexual encounter on a website that 

facilitates, encourages, offers, solicits, or 

promotes sexual conduct with another for a 

fee. The crime is a felony punishable by not 

more than 3 years to life imprisonment 

and/or a fine of up to $1,000.00 for the first 

offense, $2,500.00 for the second offense, 

and $5,000.00 for third and subsequent 

violations. The penalty increases to not more 

than 10 years and/or $5,000.00 for the first 

offense, $10,000.00 for the second offense, 

and $15,000.00 for third and subsequent 

violations if the person is under 18 years of 

age. Upon a third conviction, the person 

shall be required to register as a sex offender 

under the Sex Offenders Registration Act 

and shall be assigned a risk level of 1. Upon 

a sixth conviction, the person shall be 

assigned a risk level of 2. 

 

HB 2236 (Boatman/Floyd) raises the 

amount that the Crime Victims 

Compensation Board may disburse for a 

sexual assault examination from $450.00 to 

$800.00. 

 

HB 2461 (Hill/Paxton) expands the 

definition of critical infrastructure facility to 

include property within the State Capitol 

Park owned, leased, or occupied by the State 

of Oklahoma or any state governmental 

entity. 

 

HB 2561 (McBride/Montgomery) expands 

the Emergency Price Stabilization Act to 

include natural gas.  

 

HB 2649 (Steagall/Gollihare) allows 

misdemeanor offenders to participate in the 

Oklahoma Community Sentencing Act. 

 

HB 2790 (Stinson/Howard) establishes the 

Oklahoma Hospital Cybersecurity 

Protection Act of 2023. The measure is 

voluntary, and allows for covered entities to 

seek an affirmative defense under the 

measure should an allegation arise that the 

failure to implement reasonable information 

security controls resulted in a data breach 

concerning personal information or 

restricted information. The measure also 

outlines the mandatory conditions which 

allow a covered entity to seek an affirmative 

defense under the measure. The measure 

adds a protection that if any provision of the 

measure or its application to a covered entity 

is for any reason held invalid, the remainder 

of the provisions under those sections and 

the application of such provisions to other 

covered entities will not be affected. 

 

HB 2851 (Wallace/Green) creates the 

Alaunna Raffield Revolving Fund under the 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. 

Monies from the fund may be used to assist 

law enforcement partners with the cost of 

attending trainings facilitated by the Bureau. 

Scholarship opportunities shall be afforded 

each year to county and municipal law 

enforcement agencies to attend accredited 

trainings conducted by the Bureau.   

 

HB 2869 (Wallace/Weaver) authorizes the 

Council on Law Enforcement Education and 

Training (CLEET) to purchase a passenger 

automobile or bus with public funds. 

Additionally, the Director of CLEET is 

authorized to hire an Assistant Director to 
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perform such duties as directed by the 

Executive Director.   

Public Employees-

Retirement/Insurance/Pay/Benefits 

 
SB 447 (Montgomery/Lepak) specifies that 

payment to correct an error in calculation or 

participation coverage shall not reinstate 

membership to the Oklahoma Public 

Employees Retirement System for a former 

member of the system who withdrew his or 

her employee contributions. 

 

SB 630 (Montgomery/Lepak) updates 

retirement age references as they relate to 

the Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and 

Retirement System, Oklahoma Law 

Enforcement Retirement System, and 

Oklahoma Police Pension and Retirement 

System in order to comply with federal 

regulations. The measure updates statutory 

language.   

 

HB 2131 (George/Jett) requires employer 

and employee contributions to the 

Oklahoma Police Pension and Retirement 

System (OPPRS) to be remitted online. The 

measure also allows benefit payments from 

OPPRS to be garnished for child support 

payments.   

Taxation and Tax Exemptions 

 
SB 463 (R. Thompson/Hilbert) extends the 

sales tax exemption granted to sales or 

leases of rolling stock to July 1, 2029, and 

removes the requirement for such stock to 

be sold by the manufacturer.  

 

SB 602 (Rader/Fetgatter) provides that when 

a taxpayer elects to immediately and fully 

expense a qualified business expense, any 

depreciation or bonus claimed cannot be a 

duplication of the same allowed or permitted 

on a federal income tax return for the 

taxpayer. The federal taxable income listed 

on a state return must be increased by the 

amount of depreciation claimed on a federal 

return for the year in which the property was 

placed in service beginning tax year 2023. A 

taxpayer that fails to do so must file an 

amended return for tax year 2023 by June 

30, 2024. The Oklahoma Tax Commission is 

prohibited from assessing penalties or 

interest for amended returns that correct this 

issue.     

 

SB 605 (Rader/Pfeiffer) increases the 

percent calculation used to determine the 

amount of credit awarded for the purchase 

of qualified clean-burning motor vehicles 

from 5% to 12% of the credit for qualified 

clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property 

for fiscal year 2024 and all subsequent tax 

years.    

 

SB 34x (R. Thompson/Wallace) extends the 

sales tax exemption for the sale, lease, 

rental, storage, use, or other consumption of 

qualifying broadband equipment by Internet 

providers. The measure strikes language 

requiring the establishment of a formula to 

award the exemption. 

 

SB 747 (Stephens/May) increases the tax 

credit for certified volunteer firefighters by 

50%, beginning in tax year 2024.  The credit 

will be $300.00 for those receiving 12 

credited hours towards certain certifications 

and $600.00 for those who complete at least 

6 credited hours of continuing education for 

certain advanced certifications. 

 

SB 984 (Jech/Newton) provides that the 

gross receipt calculation used to determine 

the sales tax levied on the sale of a motor 

vehicle involving a trade-in shall be 

calculated only on the difference between 

the value of the trade-in vehicle and the 

actual sales price of the vehicle being 

purchased.    
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HB 1759 (Manger/Stanley) establishes a 

procedure to allow the owner of a vehicle to 

submit a written notice to Service Oklahoma 

to transfer ownership of the vehicle to a 

designated person upon death.   The measure 

also defines inheritance, as it relates to the 

issuance of a certificate of title by 

inheritance, to mean any transfer from a 

deceased individual to the direct successor 

in interest of the decedent without 

consideration, whether through probate, 

administration, inter-vivos trust, transfer-on-

death designation, or joint ownership. 

 

HB 2062 (Kendrix/Dugger) extends the 

motor fuel tax remittance discount for 

eligible purchasers until July 1, 2029.  

 

HB 1008x (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

increases the income limit to qualify for an 

additional homestead exemption from 

property tax to $30,000.00 from the current 

$25,000.00. 

 

HB 1029x (Wallace/R. Thompson) creates 

the Caring for Caregivers Act which 

provides a tax credit for individuals who 

make eligible expenditures to care for 

certain senior family members. The credit is 

for 50% of certain expenditures with an 

annual limit of $2,000.00 or $3,000.00 if the 

senior family member is a veteran with a 

diagnosis of dementia. 

 

HB 1039x (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

eliminates the franchise tax on capital 

owned by companies. The tax rate is $1.25 

for each $1,000.00 of capital owned, with a 

maximum levy of $20,000.00. 

 

HB 2289 (Pfeiffer/Rader) updates numerous 

provisions in the tax code.  

 

HB 2315 (Hilbert/Gollihare) provides that 

the Corporation Commission shall determine 

the rates for the electric vehicle charging 

tax. Additionally, for the period beginning 

January 1, 2024, and ending December 31, 

2028, the tax shall be remitted annually. 

After January 1, 2029, the tax shall be 

remitted quarterly.   

 

HB 2335 (Archer/K. Thompson) modifies 

the definition of “product” to exclude any 

hotel or motel that has more than twelve 

rooms for occupancy as it relates to the sales 

tax collected by a marketplace facilitator 

required to collect sales tax.   

 

HB 2339 (Archer/Hall) expands a property 

tax exemption for any single-family 

residential property used exclusively for 

religious or fraternal purposes. Current law 

exempts such property up to a fair cash 

value of $250,000.00. The measure doubles 

the fair cash value cap to $500,000.00.  

 

HB 2459 (Hill/Hall) modifies personnel 

definitions relating to the Filmed in 

Oklahoma Act of 2021 and authorizes the 

Oklahoma Department of Commerce to 

approve a 5% incentive of the qualified 

production expenditure amount for projects 

that filmed on location at least 25% of the 

time, a 2% incentive of the qualified 

production expenditure amount for the 

postproduction costs of music production, 

recording, composition, or licensing of 

Oklahoma music, a maximum incentive 

increase, a 20% incentive for nonresident 

crew, and a 2% incentive of the qualified 

production expenditure amount for projects 

that film at least 25% of principal 

photography days in a municipality with a 

population of 25,000 or less.  

 

HB 2542 (O’Donnell/Woods) expands a tax 

credit for investments in clean-burning 

motor vehicles to include hydrogen-powered 

vehicles and hydrogen car conversion 

equipment.    
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Transportation, Vehicle, and License 

Measures 

 
SB 96 (Haste/Johns) is a consolidated 

memorial highway and bridge bill. The 

measure designates the bridge on U.S. 

Highway 70 over the Kiamichi River 

adjacent to Hugo Dam as the Cecil O. Peters 

Memorial Bridge, the bridge over Salt Creek 

on State Highway 18 as the Senator J. Berry 

Harrison Memorial Bridge, U.S. Highway 

62 crossing over Sheridan Road in 

Comanche County as the Steven J. Ronio 

Memorial Bridge, and the bridge crossing 

over State Highway 102 North on Interstate 

40 in Pottawatomie County as The 

Honorable Leonard Earl Sullivan Memorial 

Bridge. The measure moves the William 

Mark Miller Memorial Highway to the half 

mile south of the State Highway 36 

interchange extending north to the U.S. 

Highway 70 interchange in Cotton County. 

 

SB 300 (Haste/Johns) is a consolidated 

memorial highway and bridge measure. The 

measure designates the section of State 

Highway 66 beginning at the intersection of 

Country Club Road as the Army SPC Ryan 

J. Grady Memorial Highway, the section of 

I-35 beginning on the south side of the State 

Highway 32 interchange as the First 

MCPON Delbert D. Black, U.S. Navy, 

Memorial Highway, the intersection of U.S. 

Highway 60 and State Highway 18 north of 

Fairfax as the Captain William “Willy” 

Hargraves Memorial Intersection, the bridge 

crossing over Polecat Creek on U.S. 

Highway 75A south of Sapulpa as the 

Trooper Larry L. Hillyard Memorial Bridge, 

a section of State Highway 66 in Creek 

County as the LCpl Nelson Matlock 

Memorial Highway, and the section of State 

Highway 48A beginning at the intersection 

of Hollow Springs Road as the C.D. 

Scribner WWII Veteran Memorial Highway. 

The measure also moves the William Mark 

Miller Memorial Highway. 

 

SB 510 (Haste/Miller) is the consolidated 

license plate measure. The measure renames 

the Shriner’s Hospitals for Burned and 

Crippled Children plate to the Shriners 

Hospitals for Children License Plate. The 

measure also creates the Meritorious Service 

Medal License Plate, the ROAD License 

Plate, the Tulsa Icon License Plate, and 

ORA License Plate.    

 

SB 682 (Pederson/Dobrinski) removes the 

requirement for a person issued a non-

domiciled commercial learner permit or a 

non-domiciled commercial driver license to 

have an H2A-Temporary Agricultural 

worker permit or be a participant in the J-1 

Exchange Visitor Program.   

 

SB 724 (Stewart/Cantrell) clarifies that the 

rights-of-way acquired by the county, in 

addition to the Department of Transportation 

as provided in current law, shall also be held 

inviolate for county purposes. The measure 

provides that it shall be unlawful for any 

person to construct, maintain, or operate any 

gasoline pump, driveway canopy, building, 

sign, fence, post, or any thing or structure on 

or overhanging any right-of-way, or upon or 

overhanging any street occupied by a 

designated county road. This shall not apply 

to companies engaged in certain activities 

outlined in the measure.   

 

SB 753 (Montgomery/Pae) authorizes the 

electronic transfer of documents showing 

the transfer of vehicle ownership to insurers.   

 

SB 762 (Haste/Johns) designates the 

interchange of Interstate 35 and State 

Highway 51 in Payne County as The 

Honorable Secretary Gary M. Ridley 

Memorial Interchange. 
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SB 773 (Rosino/Miller) transfers registration 

authority for aircraft from the Oklahoma 

Tax Commission to Service Oklahoma. The 

measure also provides that the Oklahoma 

Advanced Mobility Pilot Program shall 

focus on developing and improving on 

transportation technologies as well as 

enhancing the interaction between modes of 

transportation to ensure the state is best 

prepared for the interconnected 

transportation technologies of the future. 

The Department of Transportation shall 

identify and select government entities 

eligible to serve as pilot programs for the 

adoption of advanced mobility technologies. 

The measure also creates the Oklahoma 

Advanced Air Mobility Revolving Fund to 

be managed by the Oklahoma Aeronautics 

Commission. Monies from the Fund shall be 

used to invest in advanced air mobility and 

unmanned aircraft systems and associated 

infrastructure. 

 

SB 782 (Rosino/Hilbert) changes the name 

of the Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission 

to the Oklahoma Department of Aerospace 

and Aeronautics. The measure also 

eliminates duplicate paragraphs in statute 

relating to the Downed Bikers Association 

License Plate and Stillwater Public Schools 

License Plate.   

 

SB 836 (Hall/Osburn) provides that Service 

Oklahoma may act as the service provider 

relating to the issuance of licenses and 

authorize proprietary provider systems by 

Oklahoma financial institutions. The 

measure provides that delivery of a 

certificate of title may be made 

electronically. Such documents shall not 

require notarization. Paper documents shall 

be accepted and maintained through June 

30, 2025. 

 

SB 930 (Rosino/Baker) authorizes the 

Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission to 

create an aerospace and aviation education 

program designated as the AeroSPACE 

Program. The program shall be a partnership 

with primary, secondary, and higher 

education providers as well as relevant 

industries to respond to the workforce needs 

of the aviation and aerospace industry by 

promoting and organizing quality 

curriculum, enhanced classroom instruction, 

and research-based educational programs. 

The Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission 

may employ established program processes 

or contract with other qualified entities to 

operate the AeroSPACE Program.   

 

HB 1390 (Bashore/Hall) extends from 30 

days to 2 months from the date of purchase 

the time at which a purchaser of a new or 

used motor vehicle, travel trailer, or 

commercial trailer must obtain registration 

and title for the vehicle or trailer. The 

measure allows a temporary license plate to 

be valid for 2 months.    

 

HB 1393 (Bashore/Rosino) changes the 

entity that is to be paid a fee for providing a 

law enforcement escort for the transport of 

an oversized load or hazardous shipment 

from the Department of Transportation to 

the Department of Public Safety. 

 

HB 1962 (Newton/Jech) provides that any 

person 14 to 16 years of age employed on a 

farm may apply for a farm permit 

authorizing the person to operate any Class 

D motor vehicle. The measure provides 

restrictions on operation of a motor vehicle 

while in possession of a farm permit. 

 

HB 2010 (Davis/Hall) creates Andy's Law 

and requires any motorized vessel to have a 

carbon monoxide warning sticker in plain 

view to the interior of the vessel.  The 

Department of Public Safety is to develop a 

carbon monoxide warning sticker and 

literature on the dangers of carbon monoxide 
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and boating. Service Oklahoma is to provide 

the stickers and literature to vessel owners in 

annual registration materials at no cost. 

 

HB 2011 (Davis/Hall) directs Service 

Oklahoma to promulgate rules and 

procedures to establish an option for a 

biennial registration for all vehicles other 

than manufactured homes, vehicles with a 

permanent non-expiring license plate, and 

commercial vehicles registered pursuant to 

an installment plan. 

 

HB 2057 (Hardin/Bergstrom) authorizes the 

Grand River Dam Authority to promulgate 

rules for the issuance, renewal, revocation, 

denial, and suspension of licenses for 

commercial floatation devices on the Illinois 

River. 

 

HB 2133 (George/Weaver) modifies the 

definitions of autocycles, mopeds, 

motorcycles, and motor-driven cycles by 

including electric motors for each type of 

conveyance. The measure also allows a 

person 14 years of age or older to operate an 

electric powered motor-driven cycle with a 

16.8-kilowatt electric power source. The 

measure clarifies that if the power source is 

an electric motor, the motor cannot exceed 

750 watts. 

 

HB 2166 (D. Lowe/Weaver) creates the 7-

member State Task Force on Motor Carrier 

Regulation and Enforcement. The task force 

shall evaluate and make recommendations 

regarding the adequacy, scope, and 

effectiveness of regulatory, licensing, and 

permitting programs applicable to the motor 

carrier industry. The task force shall issue a 

report to the Legislature no later than 

December 1, 2023. 

 

HB 2241 (Dobrinski/Murdock) exempts all 

municipally owned utilities serving a 

population of 10,000 people or less from 

paying for costs related to the removal of 

municipally owned utilities located in public 

right-of-way due to state highway or 

turnpike construction projects.    

 

HB 2243 (Dobrinski/Hall) modifies the 

vehicles exempted from the requirement to 

have an odometer disclosure statement upon 

transfer of ownership.  The measure 

exempts vehicles that were manufactured in 

or before the 2010 model year.  Vehicles 

manufactured in 2011 or later that are 

transferred at least 20 years after January 1 

of the calendar year corresponding to their 

designated model year are also exempted 

from the odometer disclosure statement. 

 

HB 2464 (Hill/Paxton) creates the 

Independent Driver Classification Act.  The 

measure provides that all Transportation 

Network Company (TNC) drivers are to be 

considered independent contractors and not 

employees of the TNC if the TNC does not 

prescribe specific hours during which the 

driver is to be logged into the TNC's digital 

network, the TNC imposes no restrictions on 

the driver's ability to use digital networks 

from other TNC's, the TNC does not restrict 

the driver from engaging in any other 

occupation, and the TNC and driver agree in 

writing that the driver is an independent 

contractor. 

 

HB 2750 (Miller/Haste) allows Service 

Oklahoma to enter into agreements with 

third parties to provide the written portion of 

the driver license test. The measure allows 

Service Oklahoma to give the examination 

at any public or private site. The measure 

clarifies that local school districts, the 

Oklahoma Department of Career and 

Technology Education, institutions of higher 

education, or a private entity may hire or 

employ designated examiners for the Class 

A, B, or C driving skills portion and written 
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portion of the test required for a driver 

license.   

Veteran Measures 

 

SB 234 (Bergstrom/Steagall) designates 

September 22 of each year as Veteran 

Suicide Awareness Day.   

 

SB 446 (Montgomery/Lepak) provides that 

the combined amount of service credit 

granted to any active member of the 

Uniform Retirement System for Justices and 

Judges and the Oklahoma Public Employees 

Retirement System who served in the armed 

forces shall not exceed 5 years. The measure 

also amends participating service as it 

relates to the Oklahoma Public Employees 

Retirement System to specify that military 

service shall only be considered 

“participating service” if such service is 

immediately preceded by a period of 

employment with a participating employer 

and followed by a return to service as an 

employee with the same or another 

participating employer within 90 days 

immediately following discharge from such 

military service.   

 

SB 1190 (R. Thompson/Wallace) 

appropriates $2,215,000.00 from the 

Statewide Recovery Fund to the Military 

Department of the State of Oklahoma for the 

construction of a holistic health and fitness 

center for service members and first 

responders, $1,190,000.00 to address 

educational disparities through various 

services, and $800,000.00 to provide 

effective service delivery in coordination of 

response assets to emergencies. The measure 

creates the Statewide Recovery Special 

Account for each appropriation made in the 

measure. The Department is authorized to 

retain no more than 2% of the funds 

appropriated to reimburse costs incurred by 

the Department or on behalf of the 

Department. The Department is required to 

submit a quarterly report to the respective 

chairs of the Appropriation committees in 

the Senate and House and to appear before 

such committees no later than 6 months after 

the effective date upon request.    

 

HB 1036 (Rosecrants/Kidd) creates the 

Veteran Suicide Prevention Task Force, a 9-

person task force that will study and make 

recommendations regarding causes and 

prevention of suicide among Oklahoma 

veterans. The measure provides that 

appointments shall be made 60 days after 

the effective date of the measure and the 

appointing authorities must coordinate 

appointments to reflect the best interests of 

veterans. The task force shall sunset 

November 30, 2024. 

 

HB 2312 (Hilbert/Gollihare) allows a 

surviving spouse of a disabled veteran to 

receive the veteran’s surviving spouse 

exemption from sales tax in cases where the 

veteran dies while waiting for the disability 

designation. 

 

HB 2416 (Johns/Haste) is the consolidated 

highway and bridge memorial measure.  

 

HB 2418 (Johns/Jech) modifies the 

requirements for the issuance of a Class D 

license by requiring the completion of a free 

course approved by the Department of 

Transportation on teen driver work zone and 

first responder safety. 

 

HB 2887 (Wallace/R. Thompson) 

appropriates $10,863,470.00 to the 

Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs 

for facilities construction costs.    

Veto Overrides  

 
SB 249 (McCortney/C. Caldwell) defines 

palliative care as it pertains to the Uniform 

Controlled Dangerous Substances Act. The 

measure provides that a practitioner who 
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orders a controlled dangerous substance to 

be administered through a hospice program 

that provides hospice services in the private 

residence of a patient or in a long-term care 

facility where the patient resides shall be 

exempt from electronic prescription 

requirements. 

 

SB 291 (Murdock/Newton) provides that a 

petition for an emergency temporary order 

or emergency ex parte order may be filed on 

behalf of a minor. The measure also 

provides that a victim of child abuse shall be 

eligible to file for such orders. 

 

SB 299 (R. Thompson/Vancuren) recreates 

the Oklahoma Advisory Council on Indian 

Education until July 1, 2026. The measure 

modifies appointment authority of some of 

the members, directing 5 members be 

appointed by the Speaker of the House of 

Representatives and 4 members be 

appointed by the President Pro Tempore of 

the Senate, rather than the Governor, from a 

list of nominations submitted by the elected 

executive leaders of different Indian tribes in 

the state. 

 

SB 429 (Montgomery/T. Caldwell) allows a 

student enrolled in a public school district, 

charter school, or technology center school 

to wear tribal regalia on school property or 

at any school function. The measure also 

allows a student enrolled in a public 

institution of higher education to wear tribal 

regalia on the institution’s campus or at any 

institution function and allows a school 

district board of education, the governing 

board of a charter school, the governing 

board of a technology center school, and the 

board of regents of an institution of higher 

education to adopt a policy to specify the 

characteristics of any garment, jewelry, or 

other adornment or object the school or 

institution finds will endanger the safety of a 

student or others.  

 

SB 563 (Haste/McEntire) requires the state 

Medicaid program to reimburse anesthesia 

at a rate equal to or greater than the 

anesthesia fee schedule established by the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority as of 

January 1, 2021. The measure also 

authorizes anesthesia providers to enter into 

value-based payment arrangements or 

alternative payment arrangements for 

services furnished to Medicaid members.   

 

SB 617 (Paxton/Moore) clarifies the proper 

court venue for limited liability companies 

shall be brought in the county in which the 

companay is situated. 

 

SB 623 (Hall/Kerbs) creates the Petty Cash 

Fund for Service Oklahoma in order to 

operate cash drawers as needed. The amount 

of the Petty Cash Fund shall be determined 

by the Director of Service Oklahoma and the 

Director of the Office of Management and 

Enterprise Services. Purchases using the 

fund shall be prohibited. The measure 

provides that commercial and driver learner 

permits shall be issued for a period of 1 year 

instead of 180 days as provided in current 

law. The measure specifies that Service 

Oklahoma shall process applications for 

REAL ID-compliant licenses beginning 

January 1, 2023. Additionally, the measure 

compensates motor agents accepting 

applications for driver licenses for 

individuals over the age of 65 as well as 

veterans honorably discharged from the 

armed forces at a rate of $6.00 per 4-year 

license and $12.00 per 8-year license 

beginning July 1, 2022, and ending May 31, 

2023. The measure directs Service 

Oklahoma to require each driver education 

instructor applicant to submit to an 

electronic national criminal history record 

check. The measure requires applicants for a 

restricted commercial license to have held a 

driver license for at least 1 year and have a 
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good driving record for the most recent 2-

year period. Such applicants are exempted 

from the knowledge and skills test. The 

measure authorizes Designated Examiner 

Auditors, Designated Examiner Supervisors, 

Commercial Driver License Examiners, 

Commercial Driver License Auditors, 

Commercial Driver License Supervisors, 

and Driver License Supervisors to use a 

state-owned or state-leased vehicle as 

determined by the Director of Service 

Oklahoma. The measure also requires a 

person to be a resident of the state for 6 

months prior to submitting an application for 

a license to operate a designated Service 

Oklahoma location. Operators that move 

their primary residency outside of the state 

shall notify Service Oklahoma and sell their 

license within 90 days. Any operator may 

sell his or her license within a 5-year period 

beginning on January 1, 2023. Such persons 

must meet certain qualifications outlined in 

the measure, including remaining in good 

standing with Service Oklahoma. The 

measure repeals statutes made obsolete 

following the changes.   

 

SB 711 (Rosino/Boatman) directs the 

Department of Mental Health and Substance 

Abuse Services to provide emergency opioid 

antagonists to the Department of Corrections 

as well as county jails, subject to federal 

funding. An emergency opiate antagonist is 

defined as a drug including but not limited 

to naloxone that blocks the effects of opioids 

and that is approved by the United States 

Food and Drug Administration for the 

treatment of an opioid overdose. The 

Department of Mental Health and Substance 

Abuse Services shall develop an opioid 

overdose education program to be used by 

the Department of Corrections and county 

jails. The measure directs the Department of 

Corrections or a county jail to provide a 

discharged inmate with 2 doses of an opioid 

antagonist if the inmate is diagnosed with an 

opioid use disorder and, additionally in the 

case of a county jail, if the person was 

confined in the jail for an offense related to 

possession of an opioid drug. Before the 

Department of Corrections or a county jail 

provides an opioid antagonist to an inmate, 

the Department of Corrections or the jail 

shall ensure that the inmate or person is 

provided with the opioid overdose education 

program provided by the Department of 

Mental Health and Substance Abuse 

Services. 

 

SB 712 (Rosino/McEntire) directs the 

Department of Mental Health and Substance 

Abuse Services to provide emergency opioid 

antagonists to hospitals, subject to federal 

funding. Hospitals shall provide the 

antagonists to patients not covered by the 

state Medicaid program or by a health 

benefit plan. An emergency opioid 

antagonist is defined as a drug including but 

not limited to naloxone that blocks the 

effects of opioids and that is approved by the 

United States Food and Drug Administration 

for the treatment of an opioid overdose. 

Hospitals shall provide a person who 

presents to an emergency department with 

symptoms of an opioid overdose or other 

adverse opioid event with 2 doses of an 

opioid antagonist upon discharge unless the 

treating practitioner determines in his or her 

clinical and professional judgment that 

dispensing or distributing the opioid 

antagonist is not appropriate or, in the case 

of a person who is not covered by Medicaid 

or private insurance, if the hospital did not 

receive a supply of emergency opioid 

antagonists from the Department of Mental 

Health and Substance Abuse Services. Such 

persons shall also receive information 

relating to the use of an opioid antagonist.  

 

SB 772 (Daniels/Boatman) requires every 

charitable organization that is incorporated 

and conducts its business in the state or has 
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a fair market value of $500,000.00 or more 

as well as any charitable organization that 

engaged in solicitation of contributions in 

this state for a period of 1 year to provide 

written notice to the Attorney General no 

later than 45 days prior to the dissolution or 

termination of the organization, disposition 

of the charitable assets of the charitable 

organization, removal of the organization 

from the jurisdiction of the state, removal of 

substantially all assets from the state, or 

amendment of the organization’s governing 

document that describes the charitable 

purposes of the charitable organization and 

the use and administration of charitable 

assets held by the charitable organization. 

Notice must also be provided to the 

Attorney General prior to the organization 

merging, consolidating, or converting. An 

organization may only transfer assets as 

described in the measure with the approval 

of the Attorney General. If the Attorney 

General objects to any event for which 

notice is required, the Attorney General 

shall give written notice to the charitable 

organization of the objection.  

 

SB 775 (Stewart/Cantrell) authorizes county 

commissioners to determine the years of 

service required for full-time county 

employees to qualify for a continuing 

education program as well as any other in-

state or out-of-state programs or courses 

which are relevant to the employees’ 

responsibilities as approved by the county 

commissioners. 

 

SB 840 (McCortney/Echols) modifies 

provisions of the Student Athlete Name, 

Image and Likeness Rights Act. The 

measure amends “professional 

representation” to mean any individual or 

entity engaged by a student athlete for the 

purpose of securing compensation or 

benefits for a student athlete’s name, image, 

or likeness activities. Any individual or 

entity representing such individuals shall be 

a fiduciary for the athlete. The measure also 

strikes the terms “sponsor” and “team 

contract” from the act. “Team activities” is 

defined as student participation in countable 

athletically related activities and required 

athletic activities as defined by the collegiate 

athletic association. The measure strikes the 

requirement for student athlete 

compensation to be commensurate with 

market value for the use of his or her name, 

image, or likeness. Collegiate athletic 

associations may not prohibit a 

postsecondary institution from identifying or 

supporting opportunities for a student athlete 

to earn compensation. Professional 

representation agreements must be in 

writing and clearly outline fees for the 

professional representation. The measure 

strikes the requirement for professional 

representation to be provided by a person 

licensed pursuant to the Revised Uniform 

Athlete Agents Act. Postsecondary 

institutions are authorized to adopt 

reasonable time, place, and manner 

restrictions to prevent a student athlete’s 

name, image, or likeness activities from 

interfering with team activities or the 

institution’s operations. 

 

SB 841 (Paxton/Sims) provides that rates 

established by the Corporation Commission 

as they apply to wreckers shall also apply to 

repair facilities. The measure adds language 

specifying acceptable forms of payment and 

requires the operator or repair facility to 

allow the owner, lien holder, agent of the 

towed vehicle, or insurer accepting liability 

for paying the claim for a vehicle to inspect 

the towed vehicle. 

 

SB 951 (Kidd/Humphrey) increases the 

monthly travel allowance allotted to county 

sheriffs, county assessors, and county clerks 

from $700.00 to $1,000.00, $600.00 to 

$900.00, and $500.00 to $800.00 
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respectively. The measure also provides that 

the monthly allowance shall increase by 2% 

annually beginning FY’28.  

 

HB 1328 (Schreiber/Rader) provides that 

any equipment used or intended to be used 

to commit any act of catalytic converter 

theft, copper theft, or any violation of the 

Oklahoma Scrap Metal Dealers Act, 

including any monies derived from proceeds 

due to catalytic converter theft, copper theft, 

or violations of the Oklahoma Scrap Metal 

Dealers Act, are subject to forfeiture.  

 

HB 1843 (Kerbs/McCortney) transfers all 

power to regulate, investigate, and enforce 

the provisions of the Patient’s Right to 

Pharmacy Choice Act from the Insurance 

Commissioner to the Attorney General. The 

measure also authorizes the Attorney 

General to recommend that a pharmacy 

benefits manager (PBM) be censured by the 

Insurance Commissioner if the PBM is 

found to have violated a provision of the act. 

The Insurance Commissioner shall continue 

to censure, suspend, revoke, or refuse to 

issue or renew a license of or levy a civil 

penalty to licensees.  

 

HB 2255 (Burns/Haste) creates the Hallett 

Motor Racing Circuit License Plate, Ally's 

House License Plate, U.S. Army Ranger 

License Plate, 45th Infantry Brigade Combat 

Team License Plate, University of Kansas 

License Plate, and Clinton Red Tornadoes 

License Plate.  

 

HB 2263 (Sterling/Rogers) modifies the 

appointing authorities of the Oklahoma 

Turnpike Authority. The measure provides 

that the President Pro Tempore of the 

Senate, Speaker of the House of 

Representatives, and Governor shall each 

appoint 2 members to the Authority. Current 

law provides that the Governor shall appoint 

all 6 members. Term limits for members are 

reduced from 8 years to 6 years. Members 

may be removed for cause by the appointing 

authority. 

 

HB 2820 (Kendrix/Bergstrom) extends the 

Oklahoma Educational Television Authority 

to 2026.  

 

HB 2863 (Wallace/Kidd) creates a new state 

agency called the Oklahoma State 

University Veterinary Medicine Authority 

(OSUVMA), governed by a board of 8 

members. The authority will oversee and 

support the Veterinary Medicine Education 

programs of the OSU College of Veterinary 

Medicine as well as submit an annual report 

to the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, 

Speaker of the House of Representatives, 

and Governor. The report shall include an 

account of all revenue received and 

disbursed by the Authority for the previous 

fiscal year.    

 

 


