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Overview

The Oklahoma State Senate convened the
2" Session of the 57 Legislature on
February 3, 2020, to tackle a host of issues
ranging from continuing statutory
refinement of SQ 788, providing a cost-of-
living-adjustment (COLA\) to retirees,
adjusting the state budget to match the
February State Board of Equalization
Revenue Certification, examining teacher

salaries, and addressing unresolved
measures from the 1% Session. As severe
acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2
virus, better known as COVID-19, began to
alarmingly spread in Oklahoma and the
United States, legislative work came to a
standstill as the Governor and Legislature
grappled with how to slow its spread and
minimize economic damage.

The first case of COVID-19 in the state was
reported on March 6. Within 11 days, the
Legislature adjourned to the call of the chair
as the virus continued to spread. For the first
time in living memory, legislative work
ground to a complete halt as leaders met to
consider a response to the virus. On April 6,
the Legislature convened to either approve
or disapprove the Governor’s state of
emergency declaration. HCR 1001x
approved the Governor’s declaration and,
considering the continuing spread of the
virus, the Legislature adjourned to the call of
the chair to consider methods to conduct
legislative business without endangering its
members and staff or spreading the virus.

Following the April session, the Legislature
and Governor understood that the February
State Board of Equalization Estimate would
not reflect the changing reality on the
ground. The economic condition of the state
along with state revenues dramatically
declined as the virus spread. As a result, the
State Board of Equalization held an
extraordinary meeting to declare a revenue
failure.

The Legislature reconvened on May 4™ after
legislative leaders determined a reliable and
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safe method for members to vote remotely
for the first time in the Legislature’s history.
The dearth of time available to the Senate,
however, required the Legislature to
prioritize the budget, issues directly relating
to the virus, and pressing policy issues that
could not wait until next year.

Additionally, the Senate and House moved
to pass legislation relating to elections in
response to the pandemic. The Legislature
also moved to provide liability protection to
hospitals and manufacturers of personal
protection equipment. Finally, the Senate
and House provided retirees with a COLA
increase, modified various provisions
relating to charter school transparency, and
required insurers to broaden coverage to

include mental and substance abuse services.

Appropriations Overview

SB 1922 (Thompson/Wallace), otherwise
known as the General Appropriations Bill,
became law, the Governor’s objections
notwithstanding. The measure mitigated
potential cuts to state agencies despite the
worsening fiscal environment. By utilizing
various one-time cash infusions from
various funds, including the State
Transportation Fund and Education Reform
Revolving Fund, the Legislature managed to
avoid potential cuts. The GA Bill reduced
total appropriations from $7,916,114,934 to
$7,703,568,396, or a 2.68% cut.

The debate surrounding the General
Appropriations Bill gained greater urgency
with the onset of the virus. Revenue
collections continued to decline as oil prices
fell, businesses shuttered, and consumer
spending contracted. Complicating matters
further, the Governor refused to convene the
State Board of Equalization to certify the
impending revenue failure due to a dispute
between him and the Legislature regarding

his State Digital Transformation Fund.
Ultimately, the Governor convened the State
Board after the Legislature filed a lawsuit
against the Board to force a meeting.

With revenue certified to fail in FY2020 as
well as a potential decline in FY2021, the
Legislature debated the merits of utilizing
various one-time funds to bolster the budget.
The Senate ultimately voted in favor of the
measure on May 07.

Appropriations Measures

SB 1262 (Thompson/Wallace) directs the
Oklahoma Capitol Improvement Authority
to fund an escrow account with unspent
bond proceeds and investment earnings in
order to defease a bond that was issued to
provide office space for the Oklahoma
Tourism and Recreation Department. With
the Department indicating that it no longer
intended to utilize the original bond
proceeds as authorized in 2007 for
additional office space, the Department and
Legislature sought to defease the bonds to
avoid future rental payments. The measure
also creates the Obligation Defeasance
Revolving Fund to be funded by
appropriations required to fully defease said
bond.

SB 1933 (Thompson/Wallace) authorizes
the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement
Authority to acquire real property and invest
capital into improvements to construct,
repair, and rehabilitate the Greer Center
Facility located on the grounds of the
Northern Oklahoma Resource Center of
Enid. The Authority may issue negotiable
obligations in the amount sufficient to
generate net proceeds of $16 million.

SB 1938 (Thompson/Wallace) authorizes
the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement
Authority to acquire real property and invest
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capital into improvements to construct,
repair, and rehabilitate high-hazard dam
structures. The Authority may issue
negotiable obligations in the amount
sufficient to generate net proceeds of $17.5
million. Interest shall not exceed 1 year from
the date of issuance. By addressing these
needs now, Oklahoma will be protecting
approximately $2 billion worth of
infrastructure that prevents approximately
$90 million of damage every year or $280
million of damage during flood years.
Additionally, 90% of Oklahomans live
within 20 miles of a flood control dam. 61
counties have flood control dams.
Additionally, if the Legislature failed to
authorize such obligations, the federal match
in state funds for such projects would have
expired.

SB 1941 (Thompson/Wallace) authorizes
the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement
Authority to acquire real property and invest
capital into improvements to construct,
repair, and rehabilitate state parks. The
Authority may issue negotiable obligations
in the amount sufficient to generate net
proceeds of $48.6 million.

SJR 27 (David/Wallace) refers to the people
a constitutional amendment to modify the
amount of payments made to the Tobacco
Settlement Endowment Trust Fund. For the
fiscal year ending June 30, 2021 and each
year thereafter, the minimum percentage of
payments made to the Fund is decreased
from 75% of received tobacco settlement
funds to 25%. Additionally, the proposal
directs the Legislature to appropriate and
expend monies from the special fund to
draw down federal matching funds for the
Medicaid program. House amendments to
the SJR restores stricken language allowing
the Legislature to direct funding to the
Attorney General’s Office. In conjunction
with SB 1529, the two measures modify the

apportionment of funds received from
tobacco settlement lawsuits by reducing the
percentage of funds apportioned to the
Attorney General’s Evidence Fund from
25% of the funds to 8.33% of the funds.
Remaining funds (91.67%) shall be
apportioned to the Tobacco Settlement
Fund.

HB 2744 (Thompson/Wallace) authorizes
the Department of Transportation to issue
obligations through the Oklahoma Capitol
Improvement Authority in an amount
necessary to generate net proceeds of
$200,000,000. Proceeds will be used to
address projects included in the 8-year
construction plan.

HB 2749 (Wallace/Thompson) became law,
the Governor’s objections notwithstanding.
The measure caps the state matching funds
for endowment accounts within the
endowment chairs program at $671,200,000.

HB 2750 (Thompson/Wallace) became law,
the Governor’s objections notwithstanding.
The measure authorizes the issuance of
bonds in the amount of $314,400,000 for the
purpose of funding the state match portion
of the endowed chair program.

HB 2753 (Thompson/Echols) transfers the
properties tied to Quartz Mountain to the
Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation
Department from the board of trustees for
the Quartz Mountain Arts and Conference
Center and Nature Park.

HB 4025 (Treat/McCall) requires every
state agency to regularly transmit to the
Legislative Office of Fiscal Transparency
raw datasets as requested by the Office. Data
shall be submitted in a manner determined
by the Office.
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COVID-19 Response Measures

SB 187 (Montgomery/Taylor) creates the
Municipal Government COVID-19
Emergency Budget Act. The measure
authorizes municipal governments to adopt a
temporary budget for the 2021 fiscal year if
the municipal governing body determines
adopting a yearly budget is not in the best
interest of the municipal government due to
the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on
revenue projections. Temporary budgets
must not exceed 6 months in duration as
well as comply with the provisions of the
Oklahoma Open Meeting Act and deadlines
within the Municipal Budget Act. Adoption
of the temporary budget under the
provisions of the Municipal Government
COVID-19 Emergency Budget Act shall be
deemed sufficient for all requirements and
obligations of municipal governments
concerning the adoption of a municipal
budget.

SB 210 (Treat/McCall) modifies
certification procedures as it relates to
absentee ballot certification and requests.
The Legislature, understanding that voters
may turn to absentee ballots to exercise their
right to vote even during a pandemic, sought
to clarify and ease the application and
certification process. The measure clarifies
that any notarial act, oath, or affidavit as it
relates to voting requirements are not
permitted to be satisfied by the requirement
to provide a written statement under penalty
of perjury. The measure provides alternative
voting procedures for an election conducted
during the COVID-19 pandemic as it relates
to absentee ballots. The measure authorizes
voters to request an absentee ballot and
attach a photocopy of a form of
identification to the affidavit, in lieu of
having the affidavit notarized and his or her
signature witnessed by 2 people. The
measure also authorizes the delivery of

absentee ballots to designated officials of
care homes in the event an absentee voting
board is prohibited from entering a nursing
facility or veterans center due to restrictions
related to the COVID-19 pandemic or
another localized outbreak of a
communicable disease. The measure also
defines the criteria to qualify as “physically
incapacitated” for purposes of requesting an
absentee ballot to include COVID-19-related
health issues.

SB 300 (Daniels/O’Donnell) creates the
COVID-19 Public Health Emergency
Limited Liability Act. As providers continue
to respond to the pandemic, the Legislature
sought to shield providers from unnecessary
lawsuits that could potentially derail the
response. The measure provides health care
providers with immunity from civil liability
for any loss or harm to a person with a
suspected or confirmed diagnosis of
COVID-19 caused by an act or omission by
the facility or provider that occurs during the
COVID-19 public health emergency,
provided the act or omission was not the
result of gross negligence or willful or
wanton misconduct. The provisions of the
measure shall remain in effect until October
31, 2020, or until such time as the Governor
affirmatively concludes the emergency
declarations.

SB 661 (Howard/McCall) sought to provide
governing bodies with an alternative method
to meet during the pandemic. The measure
authorizes public bodies to hold meetings by
teleconference or videoconference if each
member of the public body is audible or
visible to each other and the public. The
measure requires virtual charter school
boards to maintain a quorum for the duration
of the meeting. The meeting notice and
agenda must indicate whether or not the
public body will include teleconference or
videoconference. Any material shared
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electronically must be provided to the public
immediately. The provisions of the measure
shall remain in effect until November 15,
2020, or until the Governor declares the
state of emergency to be terminated.

SB 1928 (Thompson/Wallace) authorizes
retail spirit licensees, restaurants, wineries,
and grocery stores to sell curbside and
deliver alcoholic beverages in sealed
original containers to lawful consumers
according to their license authority. Products
sold in such a manner must be delivered by
employees of the licensee. Licensee’s
authorized to sell alcoholic beverages in this
manner are held responsible for the conduct
of their employees. Small brewers and small
farm wineries licensed by the Oklahoma
ABLE Commission may only sell curbside
alcoholic beverages produced by such
licensee in sealed original containers. After
ABLE authorized licensees to provide
curbside and delivery services, the
Commission determined that the practice
was feasible in the long term as well. The
Legislature ultimately agreed with the
Commission and passed this measure into
law in order to extend the practice
indefinitely.

SB 1944 (Thompson/Wallace) requires the
Director of OMES to publish daily reports
of expenditures of funds from the
Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic
Security (CARES) Act on the “Oklahoma
Checkbook” website.

SB 1946 (Treat/McCall) establishes
immunity from civil liability for persons or
entities conducting business in the state from
actions related to an injury from exposure or
potential exposure to COVID-19 if the act or
omission alleged to violate a duty of care of
the person or agent was in compliance or
consistent with federal or state regulations.

SB 1947 (Treat/McCall) creates the
COVID-19 Product Protection Act.
Production of PPE (personal protection
equipment) and medical devices remains
critical to Oklahoma’s pandemic response.
Unfortunately, production of such
equipment was limited prior to the onset of
the virus. SB 1947 provides space for
companies seeking to fulfill the demand for
such equipment to begin the sale and
manufacture of PPE’s and medical
equipment in a relatively libel free
environment. The measure defines a
qualified product to include personal
protection equipment, medical devices, or
supplies used to treat COVID-19 including
products that are used or modified for an
unapproved use to treat COVID-19 or
prevent the spread of COVID-19. Entities
that utilize qualified products are exempted
from any civil liability that may emerge out
of an injury or death related to the use of
such products. The provisions of the
measure also apply to persons or entities that
do not manufacture or design such products
in the normal course of business. This
immunity does not apply under certain
circumstances. The provisions of the
measure apply to any claim arising on or
after the emergency declared by the
Governor of Oklahoma related to COVID-
19 by Executive Order 2020-07 on March
15, 2020.

HB 2740 (Pederson/Wallace) directs boards
of county commissioners to postpone
delinquent tax sales and related notices and
publications for a period not to exceed 1
year upon the request of the county
treasurer. The provisions of the measure
only apply when the Governor declares a
Catastrophic Health Emergency pursuant to
the Catastrophic Health Emergency Powers
Act.


http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/cf_pdf/2019-20%20ENR/SB/SB1928%20ENR.PDF
http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/cf_pdf/2019-20%20ENR/SB/SB1944%20ENR.PDF
http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/cf_pdf/2019-20%20ENR/SB/SB1946%20ENR.PDF
http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/cf_pdf/2019-20%20ENR/SB/SB1947%20ENR.PDF
http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/cf_pdf/2019-20%20ENR/hB/HB2740%20ENR.PDF

HB 3756 (Brooks/Miller) authorizes district
courts to utilize videoconference technology
in all stages of civil or criminal proceedings
except in jury trials or trials before judges.

Agriculture

HB 3963 (Murdock/Burns) defines
“Oklahoma certified beef” as any bovine
product bred, born, raised and slaughtered
within the State of Oklahoma.

Business, Commerce, & Tourism

HB 4018 (Leewright/McCall) became law,
the Governor’s objections notwithstanding.
The measure creates the Rural Broadband
Expansion Council. The Council is directed
to conduct a study of rural broadband access
in Oklahoma. The parameters of the study
are outlined in the measure. The council is
further directed to use the geographic areas
it establishes to develop policy
recommendations to establish or improve
rural broadband access. Council meetings
are subject to the Open Meeting and Open
Records Acts. SB 1002 (Leewright/McCall)
increases the number of members on the
Rural Broadband Expansion Council from
12 to 14. Rural broadband access took on
increased importance considering the recent
pandemic. Access to telework and
telecommunication remains integral to the
economy of the state as businesses, schools,
and government seek to carry on while
maintaining the safety of workers and
students. The Legislature thought it
necessary to establish such a Council to
maintain transparency, provide policy goals,
and increase Legislative oversight of such an
entity.

Education

SB 1125 (Pugh/McCall) modifies the
qualifications for a teacher to receive an out-

of-state certificate. The measure directs the
State Board of Education to issue a teaching
certificate to a person who holds a valid out-
of-state teaching certificate, with no other
requirements except a criminal history
record check. Previous law required such
out-of-state teachers seeking to obtain the
certificate to meet any requirements
established by the Board. Removing this
language could possibly result in a more
streamlined recruitment process for out-of-
state teachers to mitigate the state’s teacher
shortage.

HB 2905 (Pemberton/Dills) creates the
“Virtual Charter School Reform and
Transparency Act of 2020”. The measure
requires public school students desiring to
enroll in a virtual charter school to be
considered a transfer student from their
resident district. The measure outlines the
transfer process and directs the resident
school district to transfer a student’s records
to the virtual school within 3 days of the
transfer. Students may only transfer to one
statewide virtual charter school per school
year. A second transfer requires the consent
of both the resident school district and the
receiving virtual charter school. A statewide
virtual charter school student who has
utilized his or her allowable transfer is not
permitted to transfer to another district or
statewide virtual charter school without
notifying his or her resident district and
initiating a new transfer. A student may
withdraw from a virtual charter school
within 15 days of enrollment and avoid
academic penalty. The virtual school must
transmit the student’s records to the new
school district within 3 days if a student
withdraws or cancels his or her transfer to
the virtual school. HB 2905 also modifies
virtual school attendance requirements. The
first day a student completes an instructional
activity shall be considered the student’s
first date of attendance and membership.
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The measure also increases the amount of
instructional activities a student must
complete per quarter in order to be
considered in attendance for the quarter. A
student who does not complete an
instructional activity for 15 days shall be
withdrawn for truancy. Any student who is
reported for truancy twice in the same
school year shall be withdrawn and
prohibited from enrolling in the same virtual
school for the remainder of the school year.
If a virtual school withdraws a student who
is reported for truancy twice, the virtual
charter school shall immediately notify the
student’s resident district in writing. Any
virtual charter school student that has failed
to complete an instructional activity within
15 days without excuse shall be taken off the
attendance roll on the 16th day and shall not
be considered in the virtual charter school’s
average daily membership calculation until
the pupil is placed on the roll. HB 2905 also
directs each statewide virtual charter school
to provide student orientation, and requires
all students enrolled in the school to
complete the student orientation prior to
completing other instructional activities.

HB 3400 (Stanislawski/Baker) requires
public high schools to offer at least 4
advanced placement courses available to
students beginning with the 2024- 2025
school year. Local boards of education in
each district are responsible for ensuring that
all high school students have access to
advanced placement courses. The Statewide
Virtual Charter School Board must maintain
an online learning platform to provide online
learning opportunities for Oklahoma
students that are aligned with subject matter
standards. The State Department of
Education is directed to provide information
to all local boards of education, to be
distributed to students and parents, on
available opportunities and the advanced
placement enrollment process.

Elections

SB 1779 (Treat/McCall) prohibits absentee
ballot harvesting during any election
conducted by a county election board, the
State Election Board, or any political
subdivision of the state and creates a felony
for any person convicted of absentee ballot
harvesting. Absentee ballot harvesting is
allowed under certain circumstances as
outlined in the measure. Such instances
include assistants or agents acting on behalf
of a physically incapacitated or emergency
incapacitated voter, absentee voting board
members assisting a voter confined to a
nursing home or veterans center, employees
of the Federal VVoting Assistance Program,
the United States Department of Defense or
the Oklahoma National Guard who assists a
uniformed-services voter, spouses or
relatives forwarding an absentee ballot to an
absent voter, voters’ spouses returning a
ballot with the voters’ consent, or official
actions of election officials as provided for
by law. The measure authorizes the
Secretary of the State Election Board to use
state and federal funds to reimburse county
election boards for election-related expenses
during calendar year 2020, as well as for
items related to the COVID-19 pandemic
that are deemed necessary. The measure
provides that state and political subdivision
employees may be granted up to 3 days of
paid administrative leave in 2020 if they
serve as a precinct official or other election
worker authorized by law. The measure
states that any state agency, board or
commission that owns or leases a facility
located in or near a precinct without a
suitable polling place available, shall make
space within the facility available for use as
a polling place upon the written request of
the secretary of the county election board. In
the event of a shortage of suitable polling
places or a shortage of available precinct
officials, a secretary of the county election
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board is authorized to combine multiple
precincts into a single polling place after
providing notice to the Secretary. Affected
voters shall be mailed written notice by the
secretary of the county election board. The
date to request an absentee ballot is shifted
from the preceding Wednesday of an
election to the preceding Tuesday. The
measure also requires the Secretary to
develop protocols related to the COVID-19
public health emergency.

HB 2871 (Dossett/Perryman) authorizes
registered voters signing an initiative or
referendum petition who are certified by the
Office of the Attorney General as
participants in the Address Confidentiality
Program to use the address given to the them
by the Office of the Attorney General to sign
an initiative or referendum petition.

HB 3826 (Treat/McCall) requires the
Secretary of State to verify three or more
data points prior to approving an individual
signature on a petition. The data points may
include the voter’s first name, last name, zip
code, house number, and numerical month
and day of birth.

HB 3827 (Treat/McCall) modifies the term
“state question” as it is used in the Ethics
Commission Rules to mean an initiative or
referendum petition that has been assigned a
state question number by the Secretary of
State.

Energy

SB 1269 (Rader/Sims) directs the Oklahoma
Water Resources Board to create a state
flood plan to serve as a guide for state and
local flood control policy. The Board must
evaluate the condition of flood-control
infrastructure, inventory ongoing and
proposed flood control and mitigation
projects, and analyze development in special

flood hazard areas. The measure also creates
the State Flood Resiliency Revolving Fund.
Crucially, this measure specifies what
should be in the Oklahoma Floodplain
Management Act and creates a fund for
federal money coming in for flood
management.

SB 1875 (Rader/O’Donnell) creates the Oil
and Gas Water and Waste Recycling and
Reuse Act. With this measure, oil and gas
producers are provided with the necessary
regulatory structure to recycle and reuse
recycled water, rather than merely pump the
underground. The measure declares that the
operator and nonoperators of the well are the
sole owners of the produced water and waste
as it relates to oil and gas production. Prior
to its extraction, subterranean water is the
property of the surface owner subject to the
right of the mineral owner or the oil and gas
lessee of the mineral owner to extract the
water as it relates to oil and gas exploration.
Nothing the in the measure shall be
construed to prevent the owner of the
surface estate from being considered the
brine owner or limit the ability of the owner
or owners of the surface estate to enter into
any legally binding contract with persons for
the payment of money or other valuable
consideration for the extraction of
subterranean water. Any water processed by
mechanical or chemical processes for the
extraction of constituent elements for
commercial purposes shall be considered
brine. Owners of the produced water shall be
entitled to proceeds for any of the uses of
the produced water and waste. Owners are
also responsible for storing, transporting,
and handling produced water. If the owners
transfer the water to a person or entity to
process the water, such water will be the
property of the transferee until such time as
the water is disposed of or transferred to
another person. Current owners of the water
are not liable in tort for consequences of
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subsequent use of recycled water or treated
constituents if they follow procedures
outlined in the measure.

General Government

SB 1403 (Hall/Boles) directs the State
Auditor to perform an operational audit of
each circuit engineering district upon
completion of each fiscal year.

HB 3819 (McCall/Treat) became law, the
Governor’s objections notwithstanding. The
measure authorizes members of the
Legislature to review contracts and any
other form of agreement made by a state
agency. No state agency may prohibit any
person or entity from communicating with
the Legislature.

Health & Human Services

SB 801 (Rosino/McEntire) modifies the
authority of “Certified Registered Nurse
Anesthetists” to administer anesthesia. The
measure specifies that the nurse will
administer the drug in collaboration with,
instead of under the supervision of a
physician. Additionally, the measure
removes the requirement for a nurse to
administer the drug under conditions in
which timely, onsite consultation with a
physician is possible. SB 801 defines
“collaboration” as it pertains to a Certified
Registered Nurse Anesthetist administering
anesthesia to a patient. Collaboration
involves two or more health care providers
working together, each contributing the
provider's respective area of expertise to
provide much more comprehensive care
than one alone can offer. Additionally, SB
1915 (David/Pfeiffer) amends various terms
in the Physician Assistant Act. Practice of
medicine is amended to provide for
physician delegation instead of supervision
and authorizes physician assistants to

provide health care services, provided a
practice agreement with delegating
physician or physicians is in place; the
measure allows a physician assistant to
practice agreements with multiple
physicians. The agreement shall involve the
joint formulation, discussion and agreement
on the methods of supervision and
collaboration for diagnosis, consultation and
treatment of medical conditions. All practice
agreements and any amendments shall be
filed with the State Board of Medical
Licensure and Supervision within 10
business days of being executed. The
measure also requires the State Board of
Medical Licensure and Supervision to
collect and publish information outlined in
the measure. The measure specifies that
such a delegation shall include an agreement
between a medical doctor or osteopathic
physician performing the procedure or
directly involved with the treatment of a
patient and the physician assistant working
jointly toward a common goal of providing
services for the same patient. Patient care
settings may also include hospice care. The
measure directs a physician assistant to
collaborate with an appropriate member of
the healthcare team based on certain
conditions. The measure removes the current
joint temporary licensure for a physician
assistant and allows the physician assistant
to apply without a physician, and the
measure eliminates the application fee. The
measure designates physician assistants as
primary care providers. Payment for such
services by a health insurance plan shall be
made when ordered or performed by the
physician assistant if the same service would
have been provided by a physician. The
measure requires payments to be made
based on service, not the qualifications of
the health professional. Licensed physician
assistants are also authorized to render care
when responding to a need for medical care
created by an emergency or a state or local
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disaster, and are provided with immunity to
civil liability when responding to such
emergencies under certain conditions.
These measures were the product of several
years of discussion between related
stakeholders as it pertains to expanding the
scope of practice for affected professions.
By broadening the scope of practice for
these professions, it is hoped that reducing
these requirements will increase access to
health care, particularly in rural areas.

SB 1423 (McCortney/Wallace) raises the
minimum age for using tobacco products
from 18 to 21 years old. This legislation
ensures Oklahoma’s statutes now align with
the federal Tobacco-Free Youth Act, which
was signed into law last December. That law
prohibited the sale of cigarettes, e-cigarettes,
cigars and other tobacco products to anyone
under the age of 21.

SB 1718 (Montgomery/Echols) replaces
language regarding “severe mental illness”
coverage with coverage for “mental health
and substance abuse disorder” and modifies
the definition of health plan providing such
coverage. Broadly speaking, the measure
aims to tie Oklahoma law related to
coverage of mental illness and substance
abuse disorders to the federal Paul
Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health
Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008.
Benefits provided in connection to a mental
illness and substance use disorder must be
provided in connection to a condition as
defined of that condition included in
generally recognized independent standards
of current medical practice. The measure
prohibits health benefit plans from imposing
a nonguantitative treatment limitation with
respect to mental health conditions and
substance use disorders in any classification
of benefits unless such a limitation is
comparable to medical and surgical benefits
in the same classification. The measure also

requires health benefit plans to meet the
standards set in the Paul Wellstone and Pete
Domenici Mental Health Parity and
Addiction Equity Act of 2008. Each insurer
offering health benefit plans providing
mental health or substance use disorder
benefits must submit an annual report to the
Insurance Commissioner containing certain
information, specified in the measure, on
their coverage of such benefits no later than
April 1 of each year and the Commissioner
shall make these reports public. The
Commissioner is directed to implement and
enforce any applicable provisions of the
Paul Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental
Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of
2008 and to make reasonable efforts to
obtain any information missing from the
reports from insurers.

SB 1739 (Leewright/Lawson) modifies the
term “representative of a resident” to mean
any court-appointed guardian, the parent of
a minor, a relative, or other person
designated in writing by the resident. A
representative cannot be the owner of a
facility subject to the provisions of the
Nursing Home Care Act, the Continuum of
Care and Assisted Living Act, the
Residential Care Act, or the Group Homes
for the Developmentally Disabled or
Physically Handicapped Persons Act. The
measure also requires assisted living centers
and continuum of care facilities to provide
the same notifications as nursing facilities as
it relates to electronic monitoring.

SB 1823 (Stanley/Roe) directs the State
Commissioner of Health to promulgate rules
providing for the licensure of midwives and
authorizes the Commissioner to impose
disciplinary action. The measure creates an
Advisory Committee on Midwifery, which
shall consist of 7 members appointed by the
Commissioner. Members shall serve 6-year
staggered terms and shall meet at least
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semiannually. The Committee is directed to
advise the Commissioner on matters
pertaining to the midwife profession and
assist the Commissioner on developing
professional standards. The provisions of the
measure shall not apply to student midwives
and Certified Nurse-Midwives. The measure
establishes a $1,000.00 fee to apply for a
license and requires applicants to submit
certain documents. The measure caps fines
and fees at $5,000.00. Midwives are
prohibited from utilizing certain medical
equipment or administering certain
medications. Licenses created in the
measure shall be valid for 3 years. Midwives
must disclose information outlined in the
measure to prospective clients and prohibits
certain advertising practices. Persons
holding themselves out to be midwives must
obtain a license no later than July 1, 2021.
The measure provides immunity from civil
liability to physicians, Certified Nurse-
Midwives, and Registered Nurses as it
relates to providing advice to a midwife who
refuses to follow certain procedures. The
measure directs the State Department of
Health to maintain a roster of licensed
midwives. The measure may be cited as
Shepherd’s Law.

Judiciary

SB 1081 (Dahm/Steagall) creates the Anti-
Red Flag Act. The measure preempts any
legislation propagated by any municipality
or other political subdivision of this state
related to extreme risk protection orders
issued against or upon a citizen of
Oklahoma. As defined by the measure, an
extreme risk protection order is an executive
order, written order or warrant issued by a
federal court or signed by a magistrate or
comparable officer of the court, for which
the primary purpose is to reduce the risk of
firearm-related death or injury. At the time
this measure was crafted, federal legislation

was considered to implement such orders
across the United States. The measure
prohibits entities from issuing a protection
order that infringes upon the Constitutional
right of any Oklahoma citizen to keep and
bear arms or the right to free speech. The
measure also prohibits state agencies from
accepting federal grants to implement any
federal statute, rule or executive order,
federal or state judicial order or judicial
findings that would have the effect of
forcing an extreme risk protection order
against or upon a citizen of Oklahoma. Any
officer found to have enforced an extreme
protection order against a citizen of
Oklahoma shall be, upon conviction, guilty
of a felony.

SB 1728 (Bullard/Gann) creates the Unborn
Person Wrongful Death Act. The measure
modifies certain provisions relating to
awarding damages resulting from wrongful
deaths. The measure authorizes next of kin,
which includes parents and grandparents, of
an unborn child that was aborted to recover
damages relating to mental pain and anguish
and pecuniary loss. Liability for the death of
an unborn child shall apply solely to the
physician that performed the abortion. The
measure outlines under which circumstances
the provisions of the measure apply. The
measure also states that if some or all of the
provisions of the measure are permanently
or temporarily restrained by a court order,
the remaining provisions shall be enforced.

Public Safety

SB 1290 (Weaver/Roe) creates the Medical
Care Provider Protection Act. The measure
modifies the term “emergency medical care
provider” by eliminating the descriptor of
emergency and expands the term to include
laboratory technicians, radiologic
technologists, physical therapists, physician
assistants, chaplains, volunteers,
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pharmacists, nursing students and medical
students. SB 1290 also increases the
punishments associated with assaulting a
medical care provider by creating a
mandatory minimum term of imprisonment
of 2 years and increasing the maximum
sentence to 5 years of imprisonment.
Hospitals, health clinics and ambulatory
services are required to display a sign stating
that assaulting a provider is a serious crime
as well as report every assault to the State
Department of Health. Expanding the
definition of care providers allows newly
included professional staff to, among other
things, press charges against belligerent
patients that disrupt the orderly conduct of
hospital and medical settings, frighten other
patients, and mobilize law enforcement
resources against those who threaten such
personnel. Previous law only allowed ED
workers and EMS personnel to utilize such
resources.

SB 1462 (David/Echols) makes it a felony
for individuals attempting to gain financial
advantage or gain anything of value as a
result of the nonconsensual dissemination of
private sexual images. The newly created
felony shall be punishable by up to 4 years
imprisonment and up to 10 years
imprisonment for second and subsequent
convictions. A second conviction will
require the offender to register as a sex
offender. The state shall not have the
discretion to file a misdemeanor charge on
any individual who commits the newly
created felony. The provisions of the Sex
Offenders Registration Act do not apply to
any individual who receives a second or
subsequent conviction, but shall not apply to
the individual while incarcerated in a
medium or maximum security prison. Prior
to the passage of this measure, the state
possessed no mechanism to file charges on
these offenders.

HB 2777 (Ford/Paxton) creates the Porch
Piracy Act of 2020. The measure establishes
a misdemeanor for a first and second offense
and a felony for three or more within a 60-
day period for any person that holds,
conceals, destroys-or takes mail from the
mailbox or premises of another person or
from a delivery vehicle at any point
throughout the delivery route without the
effective consent of the addressee and with
the intent to deprive the addressee of the
mail. For the first offense, a person may be
subject to a term of imprisonment not
exceeding 1 year and/or a maximum fine of
$500.00. A person convicted of a third or
subsequent offense within a sixty-day period
may be subject to a term of imprisonment
not exceeding 2 years and/or a maximum
fine of $5,000.00.

HB 3251 (Echols/David) adds domestic
abuse by strangulation, domestic assault
with a dangerous weapon, domestic assault
and battery with a dangerous weapon, and
domestic assault and battery with a deadly
weapon to the violent crimes list. The
Legislature had considered similar measures
in the past for some time prior to the passage
of this measure. The possible passage of
SQ805, which caps enhanced penalties for
nonviolent offenders, clarified the need to
classify domestic violence as a violent
crime, as defined in Oklahoma’s Criminal
Code.

Retirement & Insurance

HB 2272 (J.West/Rosino) designates any
person who contributes to the Oklahoma
Public Employees Retirement System as a
deputy sheriff or county jailer who was
hired after November 1, 2020, as hazardous
duty members. Hazardous duty members
receive increased retirement and pension
benefits. Benefits are calculated using a 2.5
percent per year multiplier for the first 20
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years of service and 2 percent per year
multiplier for service in excess of 20 years.
The measure also provides full retirement
benefits to the surviving spouse or children
or any deputy sheriff or jailer, employed on
or after November 1, 2020, who is killed or
mortally wounded during the performance
of their job duties.

HB 2741 (Wallace/Thompson) became law,
the Governor’s objections notwithstanding.
The measure increases the percentage of
sales, individual income and corporate
income tax revenue apportioned to
Education Reform Revolving Fund
beginning September 1, 2020 through the
end of fiscal year 2022. The increases are
offset by equivalent percentage reductions
of revenue dedicated to the Teachers’
Retirement System of Oklahoma (OTRS).

HB 2742 (Wallace/Thompson) modifies the
apportionment formula for insurance
premium tax revenue to provide funding to
the Education Reform Revolving Fund from
September 1, 2020 through the end of fiscal
year 2022. The increases are offset by
equivalent percentage reductions of revenue
dedicated to the Oklahoma Law
Enforcement Retirement System, Oklahoma
Police Pension Retirement System and
Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and
Retirement System.

HB 3350 (Thompson/Frix) provides a Cost
of Living Adjustment to members of the
Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and
Retirement System, Oklahoma Police
Pension and Retirement System, Uniform
Retirement System for Justices and Judges,
Teachers' Retirement System of Oklahoma;
and the Oklahoma Public Employees

Retirement System as of June 30, 2019, who

continues to receive benefits on or after July
1, 2020. The increases are as follows:

1) 0% if the person has been retired for less
than 2 years as of July 1, 2020.

2) 2% if the person has been retired for less
than 5 years as of July 1, 2020.

3) 4% if the person has been retired for 5 or
more years as of July 1, 2020.

The measure also provides that if the
emergency clause is not approved, the effect
of the COLA shall come into effect on
November 1, 2020, provided; however, that
the benefit increases shall be paid for the
months of July, August, September and
October by each applicable retirement
system. The last raise occurred in 2008.

Transportation

SB 1888 (Allen/Frix) directs the Oklahoma
Tax Commission to apportion 35% of the
monthly allocation otherwise apportioned to
the County Improvements for Roads and
Bridges Fund in a manner prescribed by the
measure to the 77 counties of this state. In
no event shall the total amount of monies
credited and remitted to the County
Improvements for Roads and Bridges Fund
and county highway funds during the fiscal
year ending June 30, 2021, exceed $120
million.

Veterans

SB 1361 (Bice/Burns) authorizes the
Adjutant General to expend appropriated
and nonappropriated funds to enhance
recruiting and retention efforts for the
Oklahoma National Guard.
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