A bill to repeal the requirement for threaders to obtain a cosmetology license passed unanimously in the Senate this week. Sen. Adam Pugh, R-Edmond, said Senate Bill 1540 will correct an oversight that is hurting small business owners while providing no training for the popular hair removal practice.
“Obtaining a cosmetology license can cost anywhere from $9,000 to $22,000 and yet it includes no training or education on threading. Therefore, it makes no sense to require threaders to go through the expense and hundreds of hours of training when it does nothing to improve their services or business,” Pugh said.
Threading is a technique that uses thread to remove hair from the eyebrows, upper lip and other areas rather than with wax, sugar or chemicals.
Threaders are currently required to obtain 600 hours of training to get their cosmetology license. Those who violate the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act can face fines up to $500 as well as incarceration. SB 1540 will exempt threaders from the Act.
SB 1540 now goes to the House for consideration.
For more information, contact: Sen. Pugh: (405) 521-5622 or Adam.Pugh@oksenate.gov
MAKE IT COUNT OKLAHOMA! Census Day is April 1 and Oklahoma needs a full count. An undercount in the census of just 2 percent can cost the state $1.8 billion in lost federal money over the next 10 years. Fill out your census form, Oklahoma. Learn more at: www.2020census.gov.